Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st June 2011, 07:32 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
linuxfirefox
Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Version: 0.7

Table of Content
  1. Welcome
  2. Prepare WoW
  3. Grafic
  4. WINE, WineTricks, Gecko
  5. Installation of WoW
  6. Teamspeak
  7. First run of WoW

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1) Welcome
Hello
Welcome to this guide on how to install World of Warcraft (retail) to a fresh installation on Fedora 15 (works with both, 32 and 64 bit kernel).

I'm playing WoW since open beta back in 2004-2005, so i'm pretty addicted to it, one could say.
Anyways, as i like playing WoW as well as Fedora 15, i dont want missing any of these.
We'll be installing all (as far i know = afaik) required pieces to get World of Warcraft running on our beloved Fedora

Speaking for myself, dualboot is no real alternative. I wanted to get away from Windows and its lagy behaviour.
So, this is the reason why i wrote this guide.
I do hope you'll find what you need to get WoW running with your Fedora 15.

As i recently walked by some nice sh scripts, i used them as template to write my own script to do this guide's work. You'll find it attached at the end of 2nd post.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

2) Prepare WoW Installation:
If you have an installed WoW folder with a complete installation, you surly can go to the next step.

As you'll need to download over 9gigs of data anyway, there is no need to bother with the DVD.

If you prefer installing it from DvD, you might need this
Quote:
PHP Code:
su
    
(password)
 
mount -o remount,unhide /dev/cdrom 
Refresh the Filebrowsers view, you should see now some more files, copy all of them into a local folder.
Download the Internet-Installer for World of Warcraft from your Account Management page.
Europe: https://eu.battle.net/account/management/download/
USA: https://us.battle.net/account/management/download/
As i'm swiss, i'll be refering to "euDE", for USA players it'll be "usEN"

Once copied or downloaded, wait until WINE is installed.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

3) Grafic
Your first step step should be to run this line:
PHP Code:
glxinfo grep rendering 
The answer you get should be:
Quote:
direct rendering: Yes
If so, great, if not you need to update your grafic drivers.

Leigh hast a great post about nVidia Drivers which may help.
Leigh has also a great post about ATI / Catalyst Drivers.
TODO: Laptop with Intel drivers? (mine's working though)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

4) WINE, Gecko and WineTricks:
We're need something to 'translate' the Windows install stuff into Linux stuff, so WoW can be run.
This something is named WINE (WINE Is Not an Emulator).

Before installing WINE, make sure your system is up-to-date:
PHP Code:
yum upgrade 
Installing WINE is quite easy doing, open your shell then run:
If you have nothing modified during Fedora 15 installtion, try this.
PHP Code:
 yum install wine    # This is for 32 bit systems
yum install wine.i686 # This is suggested for 64bit systems 
If you HAVE modified something during installation of Fedora 15, better try this instead:
PHP Code:
yum --enablerepo=updates-testing install wine 
In addition we'll be needing:
PHP Code:
yum install cabextract 
After Wine is installed, use the RegEdit, to be found in your apps, or by running:
Press Alt+F2 then type: regedit

Wine will tell you to install Gecko, deny it as we're installing it later the manual way.

Quote:
In RegEdit
1. goto: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\
2. Right-click on the wine folder and select [NEW][KEY]
3. Name it: OpenGL
4. Right-click the "OpenGL"key then choose [NEW] then [String Value]
5. Name it: DisabledExtensions
6. Change its Value by double clicking on that line.
7. In the value field type GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object
There is a WINE error, to remove it apply this workaround at your own risk.
Note: I deny any responsibility for malfunctions or security issues that may occour if you do apply this workaround.
PHP Code:
su
    
(password)
grep wine /var/log/audit/audit.log audit2allow -M mypol
semodule 
-i mypol.pp 
We're now installing Gecko the manual way.
PHP Code:
wget "http://downloads.sourceforge.net/wine/wine_gecko-1.2.0-x86.msi"
sudo mkdir -/usr/share/wine/gecko
sudo mv wine_gecko
-1.2.0-x86.msi /usr/share/wine/gecko
WineTricks brings some nice tweaks
PHP Code:
su
(password)
wget "http://winetricks.org/winetricks"
chmod +x winetricks
mv winetricks 
/usr/local/bin 
Now installing some other required tweaks with winetricks
PHP Code:
winetricks wininet winhttp ie7 pngfilt vcrun6sp6 vcrun2005 d3dx9_36 d3dx9_42 
Now in order to complete IE7 tweak, start it with wine:
PHP Code:
wine iexplore 
If you're having font issues, this line might help.
PHP Code:
winetricks liberation corefonts 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

5) Install World of Warcraft
By now all the files from the DvD should be copied to your harddisk or the internet installer should have finished.
Browse to the folder were the files are and either one of the lines:
PHP Code:
wine WoW-4.0.0-WOW-euDE-Installer.exe   // Where "eu" is your Country and "DE" your Language. 
or with the copied files
PHP Code:
wine installer.exe 
Follow the install procedure, i'd suggest you install to "c:\games\wow" for easiest access for a single installation.

Last edited by sea; 29th December 2011 at 09:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd June 2011, 02:12 AM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

6) Teamspeak 3:
If you're guild is using Ventrillo, you might prefer http://www.mangler.org/

Download the latest TS3 client directly from TeamSpeak.Com
Store the TeamSpeak3-Client-linux_x86-3.0.0-rc1.run file to your Download directory, when done, change the Properties of the file, to be execute as application: double click -> execute in terminal

When done, run this lines, to move it to your app folder and start the update.
PHP Code:
mv TeamSpeak3-Client-linux_x86 /usr/libexec 
Press Alt+F2 and enter
PHP Code:
/usr/libexec/TeamSpeak3-Client-linux_x86/update 
After the update has run, start TS3 and make it a Favorite by right-clicking on the left menu bar.
For some reason this doesnt work very well at my laptop, searching for better solution.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

7. First run of WoW:
Some years later, you'll be able to start WoW while the Launcher is still downloading files.

Quote:
Note: in case the launcher window disappears on pressing the play button, you might need to execute the wow.exe instead.
If you're going for OpenGL:
PHP Code:
winetricks ddr=opengl psm=disabled 
Be sure to start WoW like this:
PHP Code:
wine "c:\\games\\wow\\wow.exe" -opengl 
This line will automaticly add SET gxAPI "OpenGL" to your "c:\\games\\wow\\wtf\\Config.wtf"

If you're going for DirectX:

Installing DirectX and activate shaders to get rid of black fields around characters .
PHP Code:
winetricks ddr=gdi psm=enabled 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

8. Errors and Work-Arounds:
There are severall possible errors you'll walk by.

Jumping mouse: upgrade to WINE 1.3.21+
PHP Code:
yum --enablerepo=updates-testing upgrade wine 
OR
Run wow in "windowed full screen" this seems to be the fix the mouse issues.

If you still getting errors, you might want to try to set your video memory to the proper value...
PHP Code:
winetricks videomemorysize=1024     // either 512 or 1024 or default 
Add this line to the Config.WTF in the WTF folder, as a last resort....
PHP Code:
SET fixedfunction “1”         // mac 
This workaround works only if you're using WinEx:
PHP Code:
;; WoW
[AppDefaults\\wow.exe\\memory]
"MemoryLayoutOverride" "0x10000000" 
Maybe Wine users can add this too, i just dont know where..

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Resources / References:
http://winehq.org/
http://appdb.winehq.org/
http://wiki.winehq.org/Gecko
http://wiki.winehq.org/winetricks

http://www.wowwiki.com/World_of_Warc...nality_on_Wine

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=249883
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=252861

http://www.linuxforen.de/forums/showthread.php?t=190720
http://wow.4fansites.de/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3053
http://www.spinics.net/lists/wine/msg91750.html

German WoW Support: Linux user to be banned by Blizzard?
http://eu.battle.net/wow/de/forum/to...62622?page=1#0
http://www.ubuntu-forum.de/artikel/4...-via-wine.html
http://www.ubuntu-forum.de/post/2278...ml?#post227807

MacProblems
http://eu.battle.net/wow/de/forum/topic/927077795

Special Thanks goes to:
Quote:
spot221, MorphingDragon and of course the Wine- and WineTricks-Dev teams as well as Blizzard's Devs
Attached Files
File Type: sh install-menu-wine-etc32-64.sh (9.1 KB, 157 views)
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot

Last edited by sea; 24th December 2011 at 08:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd June 2011, 04:41 AM
MorphingDragon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 555
macoschrome
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

I would also like to note that Cedega is now free under Gametree Linux Developers if you don't want to mess around with Wine, plus it supports other games.

Not trying to steal your thunder

Last edited by MorphingDragon; 2nd June 2011 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd June 2011, 05:06 AM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Hr hr, great now that i'm almost there :P
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd June 2011, 02:09 AM
spot221 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ferndale, mi
Posts: 127
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

I got past this point by using winetricks to install ie7
On the CL:
$wget http://winetricks.org/winetricks
$sh winetricks ie7
Start WoW via the launcher
I found this post here:
http://forum.winehq.org/viewtopic.ph...14d58dcfcbbe5d
__________________
Between two evils I always pick one I never tried before - Mae West
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd June 2011, 04:47 AM
oliveryty Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Wine. Bad experience with it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd June 2011, 06:30 AM
supper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 37
linuxchrome
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Thank you eRats for taking the time to do all of this. Like you said it is a great way to learn while helping others in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th June 2011, 11:42 AM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliveryty View Post
Wine. Bad experience with it.
Would you give a bit of description of your "bad experience with it" please?
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th June 2011, 05:02 PM
spot221 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ferndale, mi
Posts: 127
linuxopera
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Hi,
I like your wow guide. I would like to add that if your raid/guild is using ventrillo you can use mangler for a linux client. I have used it and it seems to work very well.
You can check it out here:http://www.mangler.org
__________________
Between two evils I always pick one I never tried before - Mae West
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th June 2011, 11:22 AM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Thanks for the input spot221, the servers i play on, all guilds i've came along use TS3.
I mention it now at TS installation start
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot

Last edited by sea; 18th June 2011 at 03:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th June 2011, 06:30 PM
xChicox Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Please, could you help me?, I did all the steps, but ALWAYS when I launch the instaler.exe, and click on the "INSTALL" button, the installer show the "End User License Agrement", ok, but there's nothing inside it, i just cant see the letters, is all blank, so I cant read until the end and click "Accept", I got downloaded from the official site, do you know what's going on?

Fedora 15 all updated, like the post ok. Thanks


http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/986/imagem2gi.png

This is what's going on.

Last edited by xChicox; 30th June 2011 at 09:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th June 2011, 07:37 PM
Inferiority Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 37
Posts: 2
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Hopefully, during my upcoming holiday, I can try to see if some of the info helps me when installing Runes of Magic after I wipe my current Ubuntu & install Fedora
__________________
-------- Inferiority Complex --------------------------------
Everyone has a better name than me... :(
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th July 2011, 12:12 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

@ xChicox: Looks like a gecko issue.
If you're running on 64bit, try installing gecko 64 as well.
If that doesnt help, run "winetricks winhttp" (again).

Hope that helps.
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th July 2011, 02:35 PM
xChicox Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by eRats View Post
@ xChicox: Looks like a gecko issue.
If you're running on 64bit, try installing gecko 64 as well.
If that doesnt help, run "winetricks winhttp" (again).

Hope that helps.
@ eRats; Dude I already have the gecko 64 bits, (yeah my fedora is 64 bits), and I did all the steps about the wine again, just to check, and the error keeps, but look this:

[chico@cepcam2 Downloads]$ wine WoW-4.0.0-WOW-enUS-installer.exe

fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for bias 180, std (d/m/y): 20/02/2011, dlt (d/m/y): 16/10/2011

After I hit "wine WoW-4.0.0-WOW-enUS-installer.exe", the terminal shows this, and open the wow installer ok, but with the old error, I cant read the terms and click on aceppt.

Thanks for the help until now

//Sorry for my terrible english, I'm from Brazil, and we dont have english class on school around here.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4th July 2011, 04:28 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) @ Fedora 15

Your errormessage "fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for bias 180, std (d/m/y): 20/02/2011, dlt (d/m/y): 16/10/2011"
Tells something about an invalid (?) registry value.
I dont know wine-registry well enough, to give you any advice on this.

However, while writing the guide, i removed the hidden wine folder several times, and re-did all settings.
you may find its folder in ~/.wine if you browse with nautilus, press CTRL+H to see Hidden files.

Be sure to start iexplorer first before you're installing wow with wine iexplore if it shows either MSN or Wine homepage, then the installer should work.
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cataclysm, fedora, installing, warcraft, world

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
world of warcraft on fedora? crazyjedi Gamers' Lounge 7 2nd June 2011 04:53 AM
World of Warcraft / FC6 Moif Gamers' Lounge 13 10th February 2007 03:57 AM
Fedora Core 4, Cedega and World of Warcraft ozmodiar Using Fedora 1 17th June 2005 11:33 AM
Installing World Of Warcraft FC3 erni3ball22 Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 14th June 2005 11:57 PM
Fedora Core 3, wine and World of Warcraft thanquol Using Fedora 1 8th March 2005 08:42 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:28 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Molfetta - Marion Instagram Photos - Katwijk aan Zee Instagram Photos