Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th May 2011, 08:10 PM
Nirjhor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bogra, Bangladesh
Age: 25
Posts: 30
windows_7ie
ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

Hello,

I previously used fedora 14 and followed this guide there to install ATI catalyst driver: HERE (upto step 13) and it worked like a charm.

Now today while binging I found this: http://fedora.missingbox.co.nz/ and here it says I need to do :
Code:
yum install akmod-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst-libs.i686
to install ATI driver.

Now questions are:

1. Will the old method work too?
2. Is the later method for both 32 and 64 bits?
3. Which one should I try?

Any suggestion would be of great help. And no, open source drivers don't work out well with my card. I'm currently downloading Fedora 15 GNOME.
__________________
Mess with the best...... Die like the rest.....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th May 2011, 08:18 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxredhatfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

There is a lot of screen corruption using this driver with Gnome 3.

Here's a current guide.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=155503
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th May 2011, 08:20 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,223
macossafari
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

If you have RPM Fusion installed, you can install the pre-packaged RPMs and you don't have to worry about building the drivers manually with each kernel release.

Code:
yum install akmod-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst
Use this if you want to install the akmod (your system will install many development tools so that it can build new kmods automatically when new kernels come out)

Code:
yum install kmod-catalyst xorg-x11-drv-catalyst
Use this to install the pre-built kmod. Quickest and easiest, and does not require development tools but you may have to wait a day or two when a new kernel comes out before updating so that RPM Fusion can publish the corresponding kmod for the new kernel.

Code:
yum install xorg-x11-drv-catalyst-libs.i686
In either case, use this to install the 32-bit libraries on a 64-bit system.

Edit: Ah, Leigh got to it first. His guide works well (it's essentially what I posted above plus a few extra fixes).
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th May 2011, 08:28 PM
xtachx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

Well, this doesnt work since the kernel versions dont match. The latest fedora kernel is a few revisions AHEAD of the rpmfusion kmod.

However, the akmod installs fine. IT doesn work though - xserver fails to start.


The present ATi Propretory divers do work - compiz works, but glxgears gives 60 FPS. (i am using RadeonHD 5700)


Edit: this is exactly what I see: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...d.php?t=263632

Last edited by xtachx; 27th May 2011 at 08:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st June 2011, 08:43 PM
esbennn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dk
Posts: 114
linuxopera
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

I am having the same problem. Both akmod and kmod install just fine, but provide major graphic glithces in gnome shell, and provide extremely poor performance when running any graphical application.

I also tried downloading the .run installer from ati's site, but that just prevented gnome shell from starting in anything but fallback mode, which sucks.

Hopefully there will soon be a fix to this
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd June 2011, 01:05 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,223
macossafari
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

There's a bug in the AMD driver that's causing that, so it doesn't matter if you use the .run or the RPM Fusion package... Unfortunately the only workaround at the moment (until AMD fixes their driver) is to force fallback mode or to use the open drivers.
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd June 2011, 08:02 AM
Frenzel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

In otherwords, we need to wait for a fix, right?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th June 2011, 12:21 PM
Evil-I Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 104
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

Shock horror, the catalyst drivers still don't work......

I wish AMD/ATI would pul thier finger out.

E-I
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th July 2011, 09:10 AM
xtachx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

Heres my thread: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=266144

It has a screenshot of my desktop. The driver seems to be OK - every other DE like KDE, enlightenment etc works fine. I d k who to blame, ATi or Gnome3?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th July 2011, 04:04 PM
elkoraco Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

So, what's the deal, nobody got stuff working with Gnome Shell plus Catalyst or the RMPFusion drivers? I tried to load the drivers in F15 and Ubuntu's version of Gnome 3 via ppa, and got the same results as people here.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23rd August 2011, 02:44 AM
Archytas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

I have the same results with the AMD Catalyst 11.8 driver from a few days ago. Still awaiting a solution.
Do we already know it is due to Gnome or due to the driver? It is a bit strange that it only applies to the Gnome3 top bar. Does it do anything special? Might there be a setting to make it more basic maybe to lose these stripes?
__________________
Archytas web development | Roderik
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23rd August 2011, 07:59 AM
janvlug Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 32
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

Apparently the fix is in hand: http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=99#c59
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th August 2011, 09:18 PM
Archytas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

That sounds good. Although it might take one or two months more before we can download it given their release cycle.
__________________
Archytas web development | Roderik
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st August 2011, 07:53 PM
ffmaniac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

hey all im not sure if this is another problem happening, but for me the UI in G3 runs quite choppy. either i didnt install the drivers properly (im a noob to anything linux) or the drivers just plain suck or maybe G3 needs improvement who knows. when i had the open drivers installed everything was silky smooth.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th September 2011, 08:46 PM
Bad2theBone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, Georgia
Posts: 363
linuxfirefox
Re: ATI catalyst and Fedora 15

Does anyone know if there is a problem with the 64 bit version of the lib files? I only see references to i686 in all guides and even mention that it'll work on x86_64 systems. I was not able to get it to load properly with the x86_64 lib file so I wound up removing it. I want to know if I should use the 32bit version or it doesn't matter?
__________________
Hey, I was born confused, what's your excuse?!?!?! :D
AMD Phenom II 965 64 X4, MSI 890FXA-GD70 16 GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3 RAM Corsair, Video = AMD HD5770 w/1GB VRAM, SATAIII HDD 1 = 640GB, SATAIII HDD 2 = 1.0TB, SATAII HDD 3 = 1.0TB, SATAIII HDD 4 = 1.0TB, SATA 7 = ASUS DVD/CD, SATA 8 = Panasonic BD/DVD/CD RAM, Corsair HX850W, CoolMaster ATCS840 OS = Fedora 20
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ati, catalyst, fedora

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
when catalyst will be available for fedora 14 geolab Hardware & Laptops 2 25th November 2010 04:08 AM
ATI Catalyst 10.6 and Fedora 13 scorpio2002 Hardware & Laptops 30 1st August 2010 02:33 PM
ATI Catalyst 10.7 and Fedora 13 lovenemesis Hardware & Laptops 5 30th July 2010 08:25 AM
Catalyst ATI 10.4 driver for Fedora 12 Memysabu Hardware & Laptops 44 27th May 2010 12:50 PM
does catalyst 8.6 work with fedora 9? unixguru88 Hardware & Laptops 2 27th June 2008 09:17 PM


Current GMT-time: 10:33 (Saturday, 24-06-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat