Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st July 2005, 05:21 PM
William F Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
FC-4: wtmp? utmp? "Can't start session due to some internal error"

I installed FC-4 on my Dell Dimension Dual boot computer. I got the "Congratulations" screen at the successful conclusion of Installation. I ReBooted and played with newly-installed FC-4 for an hour. All was well.

When I booted up the newly- FC-4-updated computer the next morning I immediately got a screen which said:
“Cannot start the session due to some internal error” I clicked “OK.”

The screen then says:
“Your session lasted less than 10 seconds. If you have not logged out yourself, this could mean that there is some installation problem or that you may be out of diskspace. Try logging in with one of the failsafe sessions to see if you can fix this problem”.
(I was nowhere near out of disk space)

A check box appears before: “View details (~/.xsession-errors file)” another check box: “ OK”

I clicked OK and got a screen saying:
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: Registering your session with wtmp and utmp
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: running: /usr/X11R6/bin/sessreg -a -w /var/log/wtmp -u /var/run/utmp -x “/var/gdm/:0.Xservers” -h “” -1 “:0” “william”
session_child_run: Could not exec /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession gnome-session

I filled in my user name and my password as one always does at Login time.

Then the same screen appeared: “Cannot start the session due to some internal error.”

A check box offered "OK." I clicked OK.

User Login Screen appears again. I filled out my user name and password and clicked OK and the same screen appeared again, viz. “Cannot start the session due to some internal error.”

You are offered the Session choice. If you click on Session down below and slightly left, you get a screen offering:
1.Last Session
2.Default System Session
3.Gnome
4. KDE
5.Failsafe Terminal
I tried 'em all. The only one which Does NOT produce the “Cannot start the session due to some internal error” screen is #4, Failsafe Terminal. Clicking on Failsafe Terminal produces a screen:

“This is the Failsafe xterm session. You will be logged into a terminal console so that you may fix your system if you cannot log in any other way. To exit the terminal emulator, type “exit” and an enter into the window. Checkbox offers OK
I clicked OK.
That produced a familiar screen: “Cannot start the session due to some internal error”
And then the cycle repeats itself if I keep on clicking the OK's, etc.

I was never never able to open the “Failsafe xterm session". I wouldn't have known what to do there even if the screen had opened.

I clicked on Reboot and as the screen scrolled by during shut down there was one RED font “Failed” which read, “Stopping NFS Locking.”

Any help or guidance will be much appreciated.
If this error has been discussed on the Forum previously please help me locate it herein.

Thank you,

William
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th August 2005, 05:28 PM
Cantrade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Central NM
Posts: 2
I just posted about the exact problem you are describing. Have you resolved it yet??

Cantrade
__________________
There are many complicated solutions to any problem but if one looks deeper and closer there will be a simple solution and that is the one to try.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st August 2005, 03:53 PM
William F Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
I had to break down and re-install FC-4 from scratch and the problem was cured.
Good Luck
William
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st August 2005, 11:07 PM
psychedelic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
I have this *exact* same problem also. But this is also my nth time installing.

Previous issues were xorg failing after install (I had gui fine during install however). So i switched from Nvidia to my onboard graphics card. Installed, and then got this error.

Any help?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st August 2005, 11:27 PM
fsck Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 704
Last time I saw this problem, turning SElinux off fixed it. As root: "setenforce 0"

(edit)turning selinux off is not a "fix", it's a hack, but I haven't properly got my head around selinux yet to tune the configuration properly. Just so you know.
__________________
Want to get better answers? Learn to ask better questions!
fukka.co.uk for spamassassin rules and random garbage.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd August 2005, 12:36 AM
dwflo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albuquerque
Age: 68
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsck
Last time I saw this problem, turning SElinux off fixed it. As root: "setenforce 0"

(edit)turning selinux off is not a "fix", it's a hack, but I haven't properly got my head around selinux yet to tune the configuration properly. Just so you know.
Can SELinux affect sound problems? I am curious as I have an issue I can't seem to resolve and I have this hunch it is SELinux.

Dave
__________________
Registered Linux #395226 running Fedora 7 x86_64
"Three men were walking on a wall, Feeling, Faith and Fact.
Feeling took an awful fall and Faith was taken back.
But Fact remained both strong and true and that brought back Faith and Feeling too!"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th September 2005, 12:26 PM
mesut322 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
When Linux first starts it's possible to choose the kernel to start into using Grub. At this screen choose a kernel, then hit enter. Press the "a" key and the following line appears...

grub append> ro root=/dev/volGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet

At the end of this line, leave a space then type in a 1,2,3 or 4. This will set the mode that the kernel boots into.

Once at the command prompt enter...

yum remove gdm

then

yum install gdm

Once the installation is complete reboot. The PC should now boot as normal.

Good luck

Mesut
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th October 2005, 11:53 PM
CJesson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Maybe this will help

Quote:
Originally Posted by William F
“Your session lasted less than 10 seconds. If you have not logged out yourself, this could mean that there is some installation problem or that you may be out of diskspace. Try logging in with one of the failsafe sessions to see if you can fix this problem”.
(I was nowhere near out of disk space)

A check box appears before: “View details (~/.xsession-errors file)” another check box: “ OK”

I clicked OK and got a screen saying:
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: Registering your session with wtmp and utmp
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: running: /usr/X11R6/bin/sessreg -a -w /var/log/wtmp -u /var/run/utmp -x “/var/gdm/:0.Xservers” -h “” -1 “:0” “william”

William
My system did the approximately the same thing. At the end of the above error message mine also said...

Failed to execute message bus daemon: No such file or directory EOF in dbus-launch reading address from bus daemon.

So I did some reading and came up with this solution that worked for me. Login as root in a terminal session or gnome session (I used a gnome session) change directory to

/home/user_name/.gconfd

Replace user_name with the name of the user you are trying to fix it appears to be william in the above example. In that folder you will find a file call

*saved_state
or
*saved_session

Delete this file then logout as root and login as yourself. Worked for me. I am responding to this post from the previously unusable session.

Good Luck! hope this helps

CJesson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th December 2005, 11:12 PM
craig.cochran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
At the GRUB:

Login as single user
(Press 'e'; Press '' Kernel; Press 'e')
Type: single and press enter

At the prompt:
Type:
"setenforce 0"
Once completed type:
"init 3"
(CLI)

You will be able to login as root once.

Once you login type:
"yum remove gdm"

After these steps you are free to reboot.

Once removed type:
"yum install gdm"

Good luck

Last edited by craig.cochran; 7th December 2005 at 11:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th January 2006, 03:24 PM
jhp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 7
hi. i'm having a similar problem, i can only login to gnome with ldap users if i login as runlevel 3 first and then startx manually, root works fine from runlevel 5.

the exact output of my error is this

Code:
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: Registering your session with wtmp and utmp
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: running: /usr/X11R6/bin/sessreg -a -w /var/log/wtmp -u /var/run/utmp -x "/var/gdm/:0.Xservers" -h "" -l ":0" "john"
/etc/X11/xdm/Xsession: line 76: /usr/bin/ssh-agent /usr/bin/dbus-launch --exit-with-session gnome-session: No such file or directory
/etc/X11/xdm/Xsession: line 76: exec: /usr/bin/ssh-agent /usr/bin/dbus-launch --exit-with-session gnome-session: No such file or directory
i've been through umpteen searches on google and am totally stumped as to why i'm receiving this error. it seems to do it on both FC3 and K12LTSP (FC4 based).

having been at it for the best part of two days i have tried all these things-
  • checked permissions on /tmp
  • checked permissions and availability on users home folder
  • checked disk space on both nfs and local server
  • uninstalled / reinstalled gnome-session
  • uninstalled / reinstalled gdm

i don't know which file it is referring to in the error, ssh-agent, dbus-launch and gnome-session are all in /usr/bin.

if anyone out there has any idea at all why this is happening i would be extremely grateful- it's one of those problems that just shouldn't really happen!

TIA

john
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th January 2006, 12:06 PM
jhp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 7
found the solution so i thought i'd post it up.

happens when a user doesn't have a default shell defined in their user details. in my case, the ldap acls didn't allow public reading of the loginshell attribute.

thought it seemed a bit odd.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd March 2006, 01:09 AM
cmuench Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 58
Thank you very much. You have saves me alot of hard ache.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc4, utmp, wtmp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
App crashing with "intel_region" / internal mesa error messages nancym_1002 Using Fedora 11 13th November 2008 06:56 PM
An Internal Error Occured during: "launching" tassadaque Programming & Packaging 1 13th June 2008 12:35 AM
Cannot start the session due to some internal error Wiles Using Fedora 0 6th December 2007 11:47 PM
rhythmbox plays certain mp3s, others get an "internal data flow error" tmgeorgo Using Fedora 6 19th April 2006 10:28 PM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 04:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 01:36 (Sunday, 24-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat