<---- template headericclude ----->
Basic video?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Basic video?

After much heartache, I've finally found a version of Fedora that will boot to a live desktop on my hardware. To do so, I had to pick "basic video" (if I remember correctly) to get to the desktop. Just letting it default boot from the CD (KDE/64 bit) gives nada as it has since F12. When I let it boot automatically, it almost seems like it loses contact with the video hardware. (Sorry, I'm an ESL teacher, not a techy). The power light on my monitor turns red, which it does when a) the computer is off, or b)the computer turns off the monitor (via my preferences). I can hear the CD drive spinning, but eventually it stops.

I'm writing this from F15 now, so obvious something is working with that basic video boot option.

My question is this... what happens when I go to install t the hard drive (which I won't do until F15 is officially released)? Am I going to have video? I know I need to update desperately. I'm afraid to install this and then have nothing.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Basic video?

Don't know if this applies to your situation, but since fedora 9 I have faced a similar
    problem with Xorg and drivers - a black screen and "no signal" displayed on the
    monitor.

What I do is press ctrl+alt+numeric keypad + (that's the plus key, minus also works)
    to cycle through the Xorg server's list of possible resolutions and frequencies.
    Eventually, sometimes after 10 or more attempts, my monitor comes to life and
    I get a display. Often it is barely usable - 640X480 or so - but it allows access to
    grub.conf so I can set a reasonable display resolution on the kernel command line.

Different versions of fedora have required different techniques to get my matrox
    card and the mga driver working right.