Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 27th November 2008, 05:35 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,129
Great work, thank you. (I'm not a developer but as someone who uses RH at work, will probably wind up with this problem eventually if it's not bugzilla'ed.)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th November 2008, 06:35 PM
tornado.tjtag Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Great news, that worked for me. Here is my info...

I installed FC10 X_86_X64 with the live DVD, same problems as everyone else with this hang. My paticular installation was done on /dev/sda8.

Reboot with the Live DVD X86_X64

unmount the partition via gui, since Fedora at this stage is mounting all the partitions it finds

open a terminal

su in that terminal
mkdir -p /mnt/sysroot

mount /dev/sda8 /mnt/sysroot
chroot /mnt/sysroot

now this is what I have to do, since my adaptec RAID 2810sa uses the aacraid module

/sbin/mkinitrd -f --with=scsi_wait_scan --with=aacraid /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64.img 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64

rebooted...saw that it was at the same place and thought $$%%$#^^%& but just a second later it continued and full booted.

hope that helps ... tornado@odessaua.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27th November 2008, 06:39 PM
Philio27 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
@Tornado - Is the raid module bit important? If so any idea how to find out which raid module to tell it to load?

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 27th November 2008, 06:46 PM
tornado.tjtag Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
I would probably run

dmesg | grep module

in a terminal to see what modules are being loaded by the Live DVD
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27th November 2008, 06:49 PM
Philio27 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks! Going to boot the dvd now and see if this works
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 27th November 2008, 07:13 PM
tornado.tjtag Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Let me know how it goes with you, if you have problems and it doesn't work, e-mail me and we will figure it out.

tornado@odessaua.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 27th November 2008, 07:41 PM
Philio27 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
It works!!!

Genious! Working thanks very much Tornado.

Here is how I did it:

/sbin/mkinitrd -f --with=scsi_wait_scan --with=3w-9xxx /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64.img 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64

Although the module name was in dmesg output, dmesg | grep module didn't find it.

I looked in /lib/modules/2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64/modules.block (list of block device modules in FC10) and noticed there are 2 modules for 3ware:

3w-9xxx.ko
3w-xxxx.ko

Then checked dmesg output again with:

dmesg | grep 3w-9xxx and get something like this:

3w-9xxx: scsi0: Found a 3ware 9000 Storage Controller at 0xcfeff000, IRQ: 16.
3w-9xxx: scsi0: Firmware FE9X 3.08.00.022, BIOS BE9X 3.08.00.004, Ports: 8.

(This is from a booted FC10 system, the FC DVD output is different but similar)

Using this determined that 3w-9xxx was the correct module to use with the above mkinitrd command.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th November 2008, 07:44 PM
tornado.tjtag Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Thats Great...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 27th November 2008, 09:23 PM
jzc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
tornado.tjtag,

MAN!!!! THANKS A LOT!!!!

I been trying to do the mkinitrd command all morning long. Took a bit of a nap and I came back to your reply. Did the mkinitrd command that you did and now all is happy with my 345 server!!!!

*sends a barrel of tornado.tjtag fav*

Again man... thanks a LOT!!!!

jzc
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28th November 2008, 03:26 PM
deepakmahajan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
I tried this but bad luck, boot halted and showing only

GRUB

any clue..
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 28th November 2008, 05:54 PM
tornado.tjtag Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
A little more information would be helpfull ? what command di you use exactly ? you know the whole bit, what drivers or modules did you include, etc...
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 28th November 2008, 08:51 PM
GCFreak Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 80
I have the same problem, except I'm not experienced at Linux, and the Live CD doesn't work for my computers, at all. It just doesn't want to work, it loads almost completely then it says:
Quote:
Bug in initram /fs detected. Dropping to a shell. Good Luck!
bash: no job control in this shell
bash-3.2#
And that's the point where it stops responding to anything I type in.

Anyways, I don't know how to fix this, I have a Dell PowerEdge 1600SC (specs in sig) with two PERC 3/SC RAID controllers, with a RAID 1 system (temporary, one of the drives packed up on it) on one and a RAID 5 system (where Fedora is installed) on the other. I'm trying to run Fedora 10 i686. Thanks.

EDIT: I tried the method above, but it didn't work unfortunately, maybe I made a mistake typing it up or something, but it didn't work. =/
__________________
Main
AMD Athlon X2 5200+ 2.7GHz | 2GB DDR2-800 | ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe | 2x Albatron GeForce 8500 GT 256MB | Creative SoundBlaster Live! 5.1 | Creative Inspire P5800 5.1 | 510W Power Supply | Fedora 11 and Windows XP SP3
Server
2x Intel Xeon Dual-Core 2.4GHz | 2GB DDR-266 ECC | Dell PowerEdge 1600SC | ATI Rage XL IGP 16MB | Dell PERC 3/SC SCSI RAID Controller | SATA RAID Controller | Redundant Power Supplies | CentOS 5.3

Last edited by GCFreak; 29th November 2008 at 12:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 29th November 2008, 07:17 AM
deepakmahajan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
I have HP Proliant ML150 with Xeon and SCSI Raid.

As Philio27 told, I looked in /lib/modules/2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64/modules.block and noticed there are first 2 modules for 3ware:

3w-9xxx.ko
3w-xxxx.ko

then passed
/sbin/mkinitrd -f --with=scsi_wait_scan --with=3w-9xxx /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64.img 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64

Then rebooted, but it stucks in display

GRUB_

nothing is happening again. I tried Super Grub, I could start my box with it. But it again can't log in with any priovious users in X with error "Authentication failed".

Also tell me how to restore Grub, If I install grub bootloader again, do my privious installation and configuration hamper?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 29th November 2008, 08:37 AM
deepakmahajan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Succeed after using Super Grub ISO burned on CD, used help from http://www.supergrubdisk.org/wiki/Howto_Fix_Grub.

But could not login to user error could not create .ICE directory. I could go to SSH through another computer and loged in.

How to fix login, is there issue with user ownership?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 30th November 2008, 09:12 AM
esilva Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
hats off to Tornado...I did the initrd rebuild for the LSI SATA RAID 150-4 card...and worked!!!

/sbin/mkinitrd -f --with=scsi_wait_scan --with=megaraid /boot/initrd-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686.img 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, fedora 10, hangs, scsi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aacraid trouble (SCSI hang up?) barakuda Servers & Networking 3 11th January 2010 04:02 PM
Hang: Installing F9 i386 on old AMD-K6 CPU laptop rweed Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 16 3rd September 2008 09:44 PM
Fedora 8 hang on boot Tintinosio Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 12th November 2007 10:31 PM
Hang at loading SCSI driver.... BlackBear Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 24th September 2005 07:57 AM
GRUB or LILO boot to SCSI drive in SCSI system w/ IDE card mkl838 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 6th March 2005 07:44 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:26 (Wednesday, 23-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat