<---- template headericclude ----->
fc6 install questions
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Smile fc6 install questions

Hi. I am a newbie to linux, so I apologize in advance for what probably seem like stupid questions.. I am hoping this OS will do everything we used to do with Windows XP, without all the run around MS puts a guy through.. I had to replace my motherboard on this emachine, and in doing so, the windows xp restore cd's wouldn't load. The computer shop offered to load windows for me for a small fortune.. Thats why I opted to try FC6.
    So far I am really excited about what I am seeing.
    I was trying to follow the install help guide for fc6, but I couldn't get the ethernet port to recognize, so it wouldn't let me change the package selections. I finally got it to boot by adding a "mode" line to the xorg.conf file.

1. How should I get the options I originally wanted during install, ie. desktop environment, graphical internet, sound and video, development, server tools, windows file server, legacy software support, etc. ?

2. t now comes up to black login screen during bootup. I have to alt-f7 or f8 to get to the fedora user login screen. Do I need to change the runlevel to get it to come up to the user screen automatically?

3. Will I be able to read data CD's created with windows XP into folders in FC6 that all users can access, like pictures, music, documents ?