Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th March 2007, 09:27 AM
n0-0ne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
fc6 moving the root filesystem to anew partition

I've installed FC6 on my computer a few months ago, but didn't allocated enugth space for the root flesystem.
now I can't get any updates or install new software cose my partition is full.
I've desided to remove windows move my root filesystem to the windows partition.
so I booted from a live cd and cp -ax my root to the other partition, changed the fstab on the new patition
and the grub.conf ,
when I run the system from the new partition it seems to be working fine.
I get only one warnning from the httpd about not being able to find the www folder under my user home folder.
but I can't login to the system , trying to login from one of the terminals just jumps back to the login screen withouth showing any error or msg.
I don't know if it has any thing to do with this but my /home folder is on another partition but every thing is defined in the fstab
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th March 2007, 10:30 AM
stevea
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I suspect you dont have /home mounted for some reason. This
would explain both problems.

Go to a vga console (type ctrl+alt+f1) and login as root.
Then type "mount" and see if everything is mounted correctly. Something may be
wrong in /etc/fstab for the /home fs. Not obvious why. Try mounting it again
"mount -a" and see what messages you get. Maybe the mountpoint "/home"
is misssing or something.

I assume you already solved this, but by default FCn mounts the root fs by partition
label. In /boot/grub/grub.conf you have lines like
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.19-1.2911.fc6 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
which must be changed to
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.19-1.2911.fc6 ro root=/dev/sda1 rhgb quiet
or else you'll have to relabel the partitions with e2label

The same label issue appears in /etc/fstab as
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
which should be changed too.



Note that you'll eventually have to do a grub-install if you have /boot included
under "/" on the new "/" partition.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th March 2007, 10:31 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,799
I don't believe the cp command copies the security contexts if you are running Selinux. You can boot by appending selinux=0 to the grub kernel command line. Or you can boot from the linux cd in rescue mode and cd /mnt/sysimage
touch .autorelabel

Then boot the from system and it will recreate the file security contexts for selinux.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th March 2007, 11:31 AM
n0-0ne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
@stevea
of course I changed all the fstab and grub.conf to point t the righr partition ,an also let grub to take its conf from the new partition.
any way I couldn't even login as root to see which paartitions were mounted.

@ JEO
added selinux=0 to the kernel command , and now the X login worked .
all the partitions are mounted correctly , but I still get the httpd , error at startup.
also I couldn't connect to the internet.
my wirless setting are originally dodgy but worked.
but running wpa_supplicant at the new filesystem seems to be working ok, but the connection doesn't work.
also just affter running it wpa_cli can connect to wpa_supplicant with no problem , but if I access it about 30 sec later wpa_cli can't connect to wpa_supplicant even tho running "ps" shows its still running.
ican also run another wpa_supplicant when the other is running , which is something I can't do when everything working fine
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th March 2007, 09:02 PM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,799
For the httpd error, it sounds like a permissions problem with some www folder in your home directory. Search the forum I have seen this error before and there is a solution.

As far as your wireless you might do a complete reinstall of your wireless driver and if that doesn't fix it start a new thread on that topic.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anew , fc6 , filesystem , moving , partition , root

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving OS to another partition razvan_vlad Servers & Networking 1 8th February 2007 06:54 PM
help moving LVM partition to end of harddrive cfjgrind Using Fedora 0 5th October 2006 06:15 AM
xfs filesystem on root partition: except to have kernel crash angusmojo Fedora Core 5 - Dev 1 25th January 2006 06:15 PM
Moving Root and bootloader CTR_Mint Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 5th October 2005 01:54 PM
Problems moving root partition (FC4) gryphon Using Fedora 0 30th June 2005 09:13 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:56 (Monday, 23-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat