Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th July 2017, 01:16 AM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 636
linuxfirefox
how do I change my host name for good?

Hi All,

How do I change my host and domain name for good and have it stick through a reboot?

$hostname
"Microknoppix.netgear.com" is annoying.

Many thanks,
-T
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th July 2017, 01:31 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,118
linuxchrome
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

hostnamectl set hostname smr54isawesome.toddandmargo.com --static
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th July 2017, 01:39 AM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 636
linuxfirefox
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smr54 View Post
hostnamectl set hostname smr54isawesome.toddandmargo.com --static
$ hostnamectl set hostname smr54isawesome.toddandmargo.com --static
Unknown operation set

:'(


Edit: figured it out. There is a dash between set and hostname

# hostnamectl set-hostname smr54isawesome.toddandmargo.com --static


Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th July 2017, 12:24 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,118
linuxchrome
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

Sorry, missed my own typo. Glad you figured it out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th August 2017, 03:16 AM
carroll090 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: America
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

It's easy. Just click the Gear icon (located at upper right corner of the screen), open "About this computer" screen (located at Gear icon ) and edit "Device name".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th August 2017, 05:20 AM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 636
linuxfirefox
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carroll090 View Post
It's easy. Just click the Gear icon (located at upper right corner of the screen), open "About this computer" screen (located at Gear icon ) and edit "Device name".
What is he name of the program so I can try it in Xfce?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th August 2017, 02:21 AM
lsatenstein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, Que, Canada
Posts: 4,279
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

Command line use

man hostname Learn about it

to set a new hostname

sudo nostname newhostname

to see the existing hostname

just enter
hostname
__________________
Leslie in Montreal

Interesting web sites list
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th August 2017, 04:35 AM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 636
linuxfirefox
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsatenstein View Post
Command line use

man hostname Learn about it

to set a new hostname

sudo nostname newhostname

to see the existing hostname

just enter
hostname
Hi lsatenstein,

Actually, that will only work until your next boot. Then you are back to the old one. That was the reason for my post. If you look backwards in the thread, SMR54 did answer the question and it works perfectly through a reboot.

# hostnamectl set hostname smr54isawesome.toddandmargo.com --static

Thank you anyway.

-T
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th August 2017, 06:32 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8,463
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: how do I change my host name for good?

Yep.. hostname used to be the way to set it, but that got thrown out the window when Lennart got a bug up his arse and decided that didn't work to suit him, and changed things.

It was quite a few versions back that hostnamectl replaced hostname and you got a few more options like pretty name, static name, etc...
__________________
Why is it that all of the instruments seeking intelligent life in the universe are pointed away from Earth?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, good, host

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good SATA host controller manojg Hardware & Laptops 0 2nd July 2010 03:45 PM
Does anybody know of a good web host? glenngds2006 Wibble 8 8th May 2008 02:43 AM
prolinkhosting.com is it a good web host? ttttedttt Using Fedora 0 11th May 2006 12:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:19 (Saturday, 23-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat