Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th May 2017, 03:10 PM
hvniekerk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 252
linuxfedorafirefox
OpenGL & BumbleBee

Hi,

HW; $ lspci |grep -E "VGA|3D"
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 530 (rev 06)
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM107GLM [Quadro M2000M] (rev a2)

The 3D is an Optimus card.

SW: Fedora25

From some time, reason as yet unknown, OpenGL doesn't work anymore. I"ve installed the 375.66 nvidia driver which loads fine. However, I want to use the Optimus and reading serveral sources I'm confused. So my questions are:
- does the 375.66 driver enable the Optimus or do I have to install Bumblebee?
- if the OpenGL doesn't work, does it make sense to install and use Bumblebee or not?
I've asked questions in other appropriate forums, but as yet got no real answers.

Thanks for hints, clues, directions.

hvn
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th May 2017, 05:18 PM
TruboXL Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Kota Tinggi, Johor, Malaysia
Age: 20
Posts: 125
unknownfirefox
Re: OpenGL & BumbleBee

Are you on Wayland?
Nvidia driver just won't do OpenGL on Wayland yet, only Intel does this
Nvidia driver merely allow GNOME to boot into Wayland through EGLStream
You have to switch to X11 session to do OpenGL
But then again you will be running full time GPU(s) on, high power consumption, may idle but no turning off
__________________
Laptop: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=1760122&postcount=528
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th May 2017, 05:29 PM
hvniekerk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 252
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: OpenGL & BumbleBee

Quote:
Originally Posted by TruboXL View Post
Are you on Wayland?
I don't think I'm using wayland, since I use LXDE.
Quote:
You have to switch to X11 session to do OpenGL
But then again you will be running full time GPU(s) on, high power consumption, may idle but no turning off
In my current configuration, OpenGL did work until some software update. I am suspecting kernel 4.10 somehow, but can't prove it....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th May 2017, 02:09 PM
TruboXL Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Kota Tinggi, Johor, Malaysia
Age: 20
Posts: 125
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: OpenGL & BumbleBee

/.\

can't help you, you can try bumblebee

bumblebee is just a solution trying to work like Optimus on Windows
it shouldn't cause much performance loss
__________________
Laptop: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpost.php?p=1760122&postcount=528
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bumblebee, nvida, opengl, optimus

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bumblebee christaylor Hardware & Laptops 10 13th May 2013 04:55 PM
Bumblebee rpm esbennn Hardware & Laptops 11 13th February 2013 01:19 PM
Why should I use bumblebee? hadrons123 Hardware & Laptops 9 5th February 2013 10:11 AM
F16 - Bumblebee thibdb Hardware & Laptops 37 7th March 2012 12:46 PM
opengl window not having title bar-using freeglut for opengl programming in c++ ashjas Programming & Packaging 7 22nd January 2008 01:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:16 (Wednesday, 23-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat