Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th September 2017, 04:19 PM
ov10fac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 192
linuxfedorafirefox
vnc server black screen

Has anyone solved, I mean really solved, the VNC serer (TigerVNC Server) black screen issue? It seems to have been a problem since F25 and after an hour of research I can't seem to find a solution that works. I have changed the xstartup file as recommended by adding startx &. I have tried commenting out the xinit line and adding a new line with gnome-session, and a few other "fixes" and I still get a black screen on the client.

Very frustrating, so if anyone has an answer, I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks.

I am running F26 on the client system also.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th September 2017, 04:24 PM
flyingdutchman Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 694
macosfirefox
Re: vnc server black screen

Well, VNC is mostly a Windows thing. You can do everything VNC does, and more, with SSH, securely.

Your local machine already has a desktop, so there is not much point in forwarding the whole kaboodle from the other machine over the wire and overwrite your local desktop.

With SSH, you can run any remote application transparently on the local desktop:
$ ssh user@server remoteprogram
__________________
--
Have fun!
http://www.aeronetworks.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th September 2017, 05:10 PM
ov10fac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 192
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: vnc server black screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingdutchman View Post
Well, VNC is mostly a Windows thing. You can do everything VNC does, and more, with SSH, securely.

Your local machine already has a desktop, so there is not much point in forwarding the whole kaboodle from the other machine over the wire and overwrite your local desktop.

With SSH, you can run any remote application transparently on the local desktop:
$ ssh user@server remoteprogram
Ok, many thanks for the suggestion. I tried as you had it written and got the folowing:
"Nothing to Do".
So I tried it like ssh -X user@server inkscape (inkscape is loaded on the server and an app I want to run) And I got a .XAuthority does not exist. So I logged on to the server and tried again. .Xauthority message is gone now, but all I get is a blinking cursor, but it did start inkscape on the server???

So my guess is something up with X and the new F26? I am quickly getting out of my comfort zone when it comes to this kind of thing.

UPDATE

Ok, it seems that Inkscape is the only program that doesn't seem to want to run. All the other programs seem to execute just fine. So on to solve that problem.

Last edited by ov10fac; 10th September 2017 at 06:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th September 2017, 08:52 PM
ov10fac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 192
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: vnc server black screen

So, I solved this problem by going another way and using ssh. But that raised other issues that I will address in a new thread.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th September 2017, 10:04 PM
flyingdutchman Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 694
macosfirefox
Re: vnc server black screen

You may need to enable some compression, and a simpler encryption algorithm, to save bandwidth and processor overhead:

ssh -C -c blowfish -X user@server "leafpad filename"
__________________
--
Have fun!
http://www.aeronetworks.ca
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th September 2017, 10:11 PM
ov10fac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 192
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: vnc server black screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingdutchman View Post
You may need to enable some compression, and a simpler encryption algorithm, to save bandwidth and processor overhead:

ssh -C -c blowfish -X user@server "leafpad filename"
Thanks, appreciate the information and help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
black, screen, server, vnc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing server using NX results in black screen with mouse pointer pocmatos Servers & Networking 0 27th April 2015 11:10 AM
VNC viewer showing black screen. unable to connect VNC server remotely on the server? cyberdome Using Fedora 2 22nd July 2014 04:28 PM
Fedora11 - Black/blank screen when starting X server dude0 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 15th October 2009 06:27 PM
Nvidia GEForce FX 5200 Black screen with X or Blue Screen and nothin frusconi Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 15 17th January 2007 02:05 AM
Black screen when screen locked - server still operational JMitchell Using Fedora 7 21st September 2006 11:09 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:46 (Sunday, 24-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat