Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th September 2017, 09:20 AM
pierods Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 7
linuxfedorafirefox
Having two desktops

I am trying to find a way to have two desktops on Fedora.

Reason being, I put all my stuff on the desktop (folders, files etc), so I use my desktop a little bit like a mind-map.

Right now I have two separate users, so I can have two separate desktops (personal/work).

I know that nautilus draws the desktop. Is there a way to keep two desktops? I can switch workspace, but that's for open programs - i want to be able to do something similar for icons.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th September 2017, 09:50 AM
AlexTheoto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Greece
Posts: 50
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Having two desktops

I don't understand what you want to achieve.
If you want to view the files from the other user, you can make some symbolic links.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th September 2017, 10:15 AM
ocratato Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,631
linuxfirefox
Re: Having two desktops

I think what you are asking is it possible for Nautilus to display a different set of icons depending on which workspace is displayed.
Given that the Gnomes seem to think that any icons on the desktop is a silly idea, I doubt that you will find an answer using Gnome and Nautilus.
Perhaps someone knows of an application that can do this ??
__________________
Has anyone seriously considered that it might be turtles all the way down?
That's very old fashioned thinking.
The current model is that it's holographic nested virtualities of turtles, all the way down.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th September 2017, 03:11 PM
pierods Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 7
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Having two desktops

The idea is to have tow separate desktops: one for work items, the other one for personal items, without having two accounts.

To give you an example, if you open an app, say firefox, then switch workspace (ctrtl-alt-arrow down) and open another application, every time you switch workspace, you only see the apps open in that workspace.

I need the same thing, but for icons, not open apps. Problem is, nautilus only draws one desktop.

Last edited by pierods; 12th September 2017 at 03:14 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th September 2017, 04:09 PM
dragonbite's Avatar
dragonbite Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,345
windows_7firefox
Re: Having two desktops

Google didn't pull up anything, though I only checked it quickly.

You may have to place folders on the desktop, and then open a different folder in each of the desktops?
__________________
Linux provides freedom, the problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it.
My Blog | Danbury Area Computer Society Board Member | Linux User# : 477531
p.s. Anybody who sees I am incorrect in technical procedures, etc., please feel free to correct me. I'm just figuring this out as I go along. :D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th September 2017, 04:58 PM
HaydnH's Avatar
HaydnH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 471
windows_7chrome
Re: Having two desktops

Couldn't you switch to a different console with ctrl+alt+F2, login as the work/home user and start a new X session there? Then you'd have 2 completely different sessions you can switch between with ctrl+alt+F1 or ctrl+alt+F2.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th September 2017, 06:19 PM
flyingdutchman Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 694
macosfirefox
Re: Having two desktops

Well, pretty much any other desktop can do that. For example, KDE, XFCE and LXDE all have ways to do that.
__________________
--
Have fun!
http://www.aeronetworks.ca
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th September 2017, 10:12 AM
HaydnH's Avatar
HaydnH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 471
windows_7chrome
Re: Having two desktops

Did you solve this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktops

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Desktops do you use? FedoraLinuxKid Using Fedora 71 29th January 2013 02:32 AM
desktops davewilliams Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 27th October 2005 03:11 PM
desktops help SaCeR Using Fedora 3 18th June 2005 04:17 PM
Very-Low-End desktops :-) asmodanus Linux Chat 7 19th January 2005 03:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:44 (Sunday, 24-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat