Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd September 2017, 03:12 PM
jacka17 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
2nd display shows wrong resolution because it's "Unknown"

I'm using a dual monitor setup on Fedora 26 with one 24" monitor and a TV as my 2nd display. My monitor is connected with HDMI and works fine, the TV is connected with VGA and according to the settings it is unknown and I cannot change the resolution higher than 1024x768 when it is supposed to be 1920x1080 just like my monitor. On Windows 10 it worked on 1920x1080 perfectly. Upon installing Fedora I installed NVIDIA drivers.

The result of xrandr in the terminal is as follows:
Code:
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 2944 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 connected 1024x768+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00*+
   800x600       72.19    60.32    56.25  
   640x480       59.94  
   512x384       60.00  
   400x300       72.19  
   320x240       60.05  
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 527mm x 296mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    60.05    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1600x900      59.98  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00  
   800x600       75.00    72.19    60.32    56.25  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       75.00    72.81    59.94  
DP-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-5 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
  1920 (0x21e) 173.000MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  1920 start 2048 end 2248 total 2576 skew    0 clock  67.16KHz
        v: height 1080 start 1083 end 1088 total 1120           clock  59.96Hz
the 1920 at the bottom was me trying to use other online guides to fix it myself, which resulted in this error:

Code:
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  139 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
  Serial number of failed request:  47
  Current serial number in output stream:  48
This error appears whenever I try to add the mode via xrandr --addmode DVI-I-0 1920.

On the nvidia-settings application it at least let me move the TV to the right side so I don't have to go left to go right, but again it does not let me change the resolution to be any better. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd September 2017, 03:42 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,073
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: 2nd display shows wrong resolution because it's "Unknown"

check the TV manual to see what modes are supported over VGA cable, there should be a chart of compatible modes, most won't support 1920x1080. You'd need an HDMI or DVI signal for that, not VGA
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd September 2017, 04:01 PM
jacka17 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: 2nd display shows wrong resolution because it's "Unknown"

Quote:
Originally Posted by antikythera View Post
check the TV manual to see what modes are supported over VGA cable, there should be a chart of compatible modes, most won't support 1920x1080. You'd need an HDMI or DVI signal for that, not VGA
Yeah, but on Windows 7 and 10 with VGA the TV ran fine on 1920x1080. After doing some research I found this is quite a common problem honestly. And the fact that the default display settings says that it's an Unknown Display shows there is clearly a problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2nd, display, resolution, shows, unknown, wrong

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 23 resolution problem - "unknown monitor" for dual monitor setup gzxhk Hardware & Laptops 5 18th December 2015 09:50 AM
Terminal shows "Unknown colorls variable `ca'" ehsanulhaq Using Fedora 5 8th August 2008 07:23 PM
Wrong display for the "text console" (F7 as VPC guest) SaGS Using Fedora 3 27th April 2008 06:38 PM
During First Boot, PC monitor shows blank screen & ""CANNOT DISPLAY THIS VIDEO MODE" im2saxy Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 6th May 2007 09:17 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:27 (Friday, 22-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat