Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 31st August 2017, 02:33 AM
jeb3121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
linuxfedorafirefox
Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

I'm upgrading from Fed 24 64bit to 26 same. Home apparently encompasses the whole configuration setup, but I haven't figured out how to copy it to a usb stick in one go. It is 8070 items and only 6G.

My reason for this is mozilla doesn't list TB for Fedora any more.

Any help gratefully accepted.

jeb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st August 2017, 03:51 AM
lsatenstein Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, Que, Canada
Posts: 4,281
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

For something that is 6 gigs, you may want to consider using a tar file.
It saves each file's stats, i.e, permissions, time stamps, ownership...
To create the tar file you would sudo tar -cjvf transfer.tar /home
Then to recreate (with all the permissions and time stamps etc)
sudo tar -xvf transfer.tar /home

It is easy to test using tar. Its only 6 gigs.
The other way, is with rsync
__________________
Leslie in Montreal

Interesting web sites list
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st August 2017, 07:07 AM
srakitnican Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,540
linuxchrome
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

It is worth noting that if you are just upgrading, it should use the same /home directory, so nothing would change for you. If you are re-installing from scratch, if /home is a separate partition, you can keep it as is, and format only / partition. In any case taking a backup of it is a good idea.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st August 2017, 07:23 AM
jeb3121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsatenstein View Post
For something that is 6 gigs, you may want to consider using a tar file.
It saves each file's stats, i.e, permissions, time stamps, ownership...
To create the tar file you would sudo tar -cjvf transfer.tar /home
Then to recreate (with all the permissions and time stamps etc)
sudo tar -xvf transfer.tar /home

It is easy to test using tar. Its only 6 gigs.
The other way, is with rsync
******

Hi, thanks for your response; I'll give it a try.

My approach(based on a comment on another thread) was to copy all docs and folders titles of which started with a dot "." and trfr to the Home directory on the 2nd box. There are 6 docs and 7 folders with the dot.

I copied all individually to "Home" on the USB stick; that showed 6490 items and 2.8G. Then trying to copy to the Home drive on the 2nd box I found at the end of the "Copy to" directions for each doc/dir, not only were there no entries in Home of the base drive for Fed Linux, looking at the USB stick from there nothing showed in that folder on the stick. Hmm: confused:

There are a # of possibilities(I'm sure more than I know):
1. I read that Mozilla states TB no longer available for Linux
2. Conflicts w/same name folders
3. I don't remember where I read of hardware limitations to Intel(paranoia or ?}

Thanks again for your help

jeb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st August 2017, 07:48 AM
jeb3121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by srakitnican View Post
It is worth noting that if you are just upgrading, it should use the same /home directory, so nothing would change for you. If you are re-installing from scratch, if /home is a separate partition, you can keep it as is, and format only / partition. In any case taking a backup of it is a good idea.
Hi, another possibility to consider.

My concern is that mozilla TB is apparently no longer available for linux. My primary concern is my accumulated contacts/posts, etc. I certainly don't want to lose those. After those are secure I'll look into another email provider.

Offline for now, back later today.

jeb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st August 2017, 07:59 AM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,415
linuxchrome
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

Not sure where the idea that Thunderbird is not available for Linux any more comes from.

The source of choice for Thunderbird would be the Fedora repos:

Code:
dnf install thunderbird
being the way I install it.

If you need to get it from the Mozilla site though, "systems and languages" below the green "Free Downlaod" button will take you here:

Code:
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/all/
where you will find versions for Windows, Mac and Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st August 2017, 08:02 AM
flyingdutchman Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 694
macosfirefox
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

Backup tools such as tar or rsync will ensure that the ownerships and time stamps are preserved and that the data is copied correctly.
__________________
--
Have fun!
http://www.aeronetworks.ca
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st August 2017, 03:25 PM
lsatenstein Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, Que, Canada
Posts: 4,281
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by srakitnican View Post
It is worth noting that if you are just upgrading, it should use the same /home directory, so nothing would change for you. If you are re-installing from scratch, if /home is a separate partition, you can keep it as is, and format only / partition. In any case taking a backup of it is a good idea.
Hi srakit nican
Some Fedora users allow anaconda to choose lvm or lvm thin provisioning. In that case, /home is part of the large mass, and reformatting / is to lose /home.

You probably use the anaconda "Standard option" with separate partitions for /, /home, /boot, etc. If that is what was done, then the obligation is to insure that /home is not overwritten if reinstalling Fedora or upgrading by doing a re-installation.
__________________
Leslie in Montreal

Interesting web sites list
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th September 2017, 02:34 AM
jeb3121 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

Hi all,

I took bbfuller's advice and installed TB via Fedora then copied the default folder and the profiles.ini from the other box.

Now all I need is where to find the "solved" insert.

Thanks to all for the info new to me.

jeb
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th September 2017, 07:51 AM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,415
linuxchrome
Re: Transferring "Home" directory from one desktop to another

Hello jeb,

Glad that worked for you.

You probably don't need to know, but that Thunderbird folder is portable enough that with the preceding dot removed it'll work if put in the correct location in Windows as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, directory, home, transferring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"cd" command broken in "home" directory EruOnLinux Using Fedora 1 15th August 2014 01:20 AM
Can't access "lost+found" or "root" in "Computer" directory jeb3121 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 27th November 2013 04:36 PM
Nautilus 3: Put the "open parent" and "home" button on the main toolbar alfatal Using Fedora 2 25th July 2011 03:20 PM
Transferring files between "Virtual" Fedora & XP Castle_Romeo Using Fedora 4 30th October 2008 01:48 PM
F9 & F8 freeze on "transferring install image..." AND F9 "insufficient disk space" fashionhat Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 1st July 2008 02:04 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:06 (Sunday, 24-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat