Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th August 2017, 07:35 AM
ramzes777 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 23
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Cloning existing VM to other PCs

Hi comrades,

I am new to Linux, I have configured Fedora 25 under Oracle Virtual Box to the way I like it, it took my considerable time to install apps and tweak the desktop.

In fact I like it so much that I would like to clone this machine on two other laptops. One of them is Asus and another is Apple Mac Book Air. I do not want to go through same process of configuring base image. Also I want these to be local installations, not VMs. On Asus this will be an only OS available and on Mac Book Air I would like to have an option to boot into MAC OS or Linux.

Please advise the best way to port this VM to two other laptops as local installs.


Any help will be appreciated.
Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th August 2017, 09:15 AM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,073
linuxchrome
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

I'm not sure you can because of hardware differences involved. An Oracle VM install works like a bare metal install in that it will detect available hardware (using virtual acceleration or faked by the VM software) during installation phase and setup the kernel modules accordingly.

Maybe someone else knows how it could be made to work but as far as I'm aware it would be unstable at best if it ran at all.
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th August 2017, 08:41 AM
ramzes777 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 23
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

Quote:
Originally Posted by antikythera View Post
I'm not sure you can because of hardware differences involved. An Oracle VM install works like a bare metal install in that it will detect available hardware (using virtual acceleration or faked by the VM software) during installation phase and setup the kernel modules accordingly.

Maybe someone else knows how it could be made to work but as far as I'm aware it would be unstable at best if it ran at all.

I see, what you've said makes total sense to me. During installation it is indeed should detect hardware and install modules accordingly.

Thank you for your reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th August 2017, 09:06 AM
flyingfsck Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 2,006
macosfirefox
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

Well, reinstalling only takes about 30 minutes, vs hours and hours learning how to do it any other way...

The proper way to do what you want is to make a kickstart file listing the packages on your master machine and then replicate it onto any new machine. Kickstart will then install the required drivers and the same packages:
http://www.aeronetworks.ca/2014/06/r...nes-using.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th August 2017, 09:12 AM
ramzes777 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 23
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramzes777 View Post
I see, what you've said makes total sense to me. During installation it is indeed should detect hardware and install modules accordingly.

Thank you for your reply.

You are correct re-installation does not take long, its the packages that you've installed and desktop configuration, that takes long, besides hard to remember all of the settings and tweaks you've made that seem to work so nicely

Kickstart, sounds just what I need. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th August 2017, 10:03 AM
AlexTheoto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Greece
Posts: 50
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

You can copy user's configs by copying home's .* [dot] files and directories into external memory
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd September 2017, 10:33 AM
ramzes777 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 23
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

Thank you everyone for suggestions, I've found my answer.
Do I need to mark this thread as resolved? If so, how ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd September 2017, 11:07 AM
AlexTheoto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Greece
Posts: 50
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

Use the 'thread tools' at the top of the thread.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd September 2017, 12:30 PM
srakitnican Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,540
linuxchrome
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

If VirtualBox installation uses the same kernel, just making the partitions and then cloning the files with rsync for example on the disk should do it. All there is left to do then is to install and configure grub so that it can boot the kernel.

If you decide to that be aware to use appropriate flags for rsync, so that it copies all metadata as well. From my notes "rsync -avAX -H --numeric-ids".

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/GRUB_2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cloning, existing, pcs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cloning partition billcu Using Fedora 5 6th July 2015 11:58 PM
cloning F15 to a larger HDD d3m3tr1x Using Fedora 2 15th September 2011 08:13 AM
Cloning for a newbi TheFox Using Fedora 3 31st May 2010 12:02 PM
System Cloning griffinmt Using Fedora 4 21st January 2009 07:39 PM
Cloning a 20G to 40G HD with LVM Partitions seby Using Fedora 1 19th February 2008 10:49 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:12 (Sunday, 24-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat