Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 24th August 2017, 07:35 AM
ramzes777 Offline

windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Cloning existing VM to other PCs

Hi comrades,

I am new to Linux, I have configured Fedora 25 under Oracle Virtual Box to the way I like it, it took my considerable time to install apps and tweak the desktop.

In fact I like it so much that I would like to clone this machine on two other laptops. One of them is Asus and another is Apple Mac Book Air. I do not want to go through same process of configuring base image. Also I want these to be local installations, not VMs. On Asus this will be an only OS available and on Mac Book Air I would like to have an option to boot into MAC OS or Linux.

Please advise the best way to port this VM to two other laptops as local installs.

Any help will be appreciated.
Cheers.
Old 24th August 2017, 09:15 AM
antikythera Offline
Administrator

linuxchrome
Re: Cloning existing VM to other PCs

I'm not sure you can because of hardware differences involved. An Oracle VM install works like a bare metal install in that it will detect available hardware (using virtual acceleration or faked by the VM software) during installation phase and setup the kernel modules accordingly.

Maybe someone else knows how it could be made to work but as far as I'm aware it would be unstable at best if it ran at all.
Old 25th August 2017, 08:41 AM
ramzes777 Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by antikythera View Post
I'm not sure you can because of hardware differences involved. An Oracle VM install works like a bare metal install in that it will detect available hardware (using virtual acceleration or faked by the VM software) during installation phase and setup the kernel modules accordingly.

Maybe someone else knows how it could be made to work but as far as I'm aware it would be unstable at best if it ran at all.