Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 31st August 2017, 01:52 AM
ramzes777 Offline

windows_7chrome
New distros release and support for old ones question

Hi guys,

I am new to Fedora and I am making an effort to shift from Windows 10. I feel extremely bored of MS Windows, I am in IT and have to deal with it every day at work. One thing that mostly annoying about MS is that it constantly re-brands functions and changes names of things we are used to. Sometimes it seams that they do it just because they can!

One thing I've noticed about updates that Fedora Project and Microsoft approach things differently.

Why does Fedora move to a brand new distro altogether instead of following rolling updates strategy (the one that Windows users used to) and stopping support for old ones?

I would be interested to know if you move to new distros when they come out or keep using the one you are used to.

What would be a reason for you to move to a new distro? If for instance the one you are using suits you and no apparent bugs that annoy you?

Does RHEL follow same update process too?

Cheers.
Old 31st August 2017, 03:51 AM
ocratato Online

linuxfirefox
Re: New distros release and support for old ones question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramzes777 View Post
Hi guys,

I am new to Fedora and I am making an effort to shift from Windows 10. I feel extremely bored of MS Windows, I am in IT and have to deal with it every day at work. One thing that mostly annoying about MS is that it constantly re-brands functions and changes names of things we are used to. Sometimes it seams that they do it just because they can!

One thing I've noticed about updates that Fedora Project and Microsoft approach things differently.

Why does Fedora move to a brand new distro altogether instead of following rolling updates strategy (the one that Windows users used to) and stopping support for old ones?