Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 22nd August 2017, 07:18 PM
tichun Offline

linuxchrome
First impressions with Fedora

Hi there, I just wanted to share some observations after using Fedora for the first time, yet I'm not a linux novice.

I'm using Raspberry Pi 3b and tried the glorious Fedora 26 ARM after using Raspbian previously but I surmise this relates to x86 too.

The thing is that Fedora booted into terminal after 2-3 minutes vs under 4 seconds in Debian.
It's unacceptable condition!!!
I masked most services but it reduced it by half a minute at maximum.

That's a shame, especially that Fedora has far better software on top of it. I mean there is mesa 17 and not 13, firefox 55 not 52, gcc 7 vs 6 etc. that are in debian 9 released just two months ago.

Another thing was that dnf performance is a tenth of apt's and I know what I'm talking about as Raspberry Pi is great for such comparisions as you don't have to benchmark but watch.
Also it has werid policy with dependencies, for I couldn't get rid of java without removing libreoffice too. This is not present in debian. And LO has quite similiar version in deb(5.2.7)

I cannot comprehend why updates in Fedora mimick Windows in terms of making user unable to use the computer during that time and in terms of being veery slow.(I tried to update in cli, too, but that was as bad as it crashed graphical session at some point)
Among these I was met by more annoyances - e.g. chromium was in gnome-software but install button did nothing and it wasn't found in cli with dnf, or that there was no sound through jack and no video hw accel. but the the last two result form using only upstream without pi mods and I would be ok without those.

I don't think I will install Fedora in the future but I wish you a good time there.
Cheers

Last edited by tichun; 22nd August 2017 at 07:31 PM.
Old 22nd August 2017, 08:01 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)