Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 19th July 2006, 10:38 PM
wintermute000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 762
Mousewheel possible fix

JN4oldschool, try adding this to your kernel cmdline in grub or lilo

psmouse.proto=imps

I had identical issues w/ KVM switch and a corded mouse, fixed it no worries in FC4 and FC5. I presume coz ur runnning KVM its a PS2 mouse or at least converted to PS2 (I dunno any USB input KVM switches)
__________________
the phases of 'nix troubleshooting

For :eek:
:confused: | google > :D
Next
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 19th July 2006, 11:44 PM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
yeah, it's PS/2. Thanks for the tip, I'll give it a go!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 20th July 2006, 01:28 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by johannlo
JN4oldschool, try adding this to your kernel cmdline in grub or lilo

psmouse.proto=imps

I had identical issues w/ KVM switch and a corded mouse, fixed it no worries in FC4 and FC5. I presume coz ur runnning KVM its a PS2 mouse or at least converted to PS2 (I dunno any USB input KVM switches)
Actually, I got a USB one recently, Bureau En Gros. Speakers, mic, USB keybd, USB mouse, and Analog screen in one KVM.

As for the hotkeys, it's long and annoying, but I've gotten my keys to work using the 'setkeycodes' - If I remember correctly, just googleing 'setkeycodes howto' came up with some good howtos that helped my solve my problem.

Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

Last edited by Firewing1; 20th July 2006 at 01:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 20th July 2006, 04:40 AM
John_Z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Good news guys, everything is working. The ATi drivers are all set, installed, and working, Flash is working, the resolution stays...basically the opposite of what I experienced before.

Anyways, I'm trying to install gcc here, and I yum install it. However, I cannot turn it into an executable because it keeps saying: "No such file or directory," and "gcc: no input files."

Any suggestions? Thanks for all your help before guys, and I'll post back if I have any other problems. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 20th July 2006, 05:01 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,224
It's annoying, but you manually have to tell GCC input / output files:
Code:
[ make your .c file]
gcc your_C_file.c -o output_program
It will now turn your C code 'your_c_file.c' into the output binary 'output_program'. Of course, you can make those relevant, like if you're compiling 'program.c', just make it your command 'gcc program.c -o program' so that your binary matches the c filename...
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 21st July 2006, 05:12 AM
John_Z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Still not working, dude. I can't compile .cpp files (which are C++ files). An error message will display everytime I do (following the above format). For .c files, nothing displays on the screen. The terminal just moves to the next line and doesn't display anything at all. I used the simple text editor that comes with Fedora Core 5 to make some quick .cpp and .c files to test it out, but the above format does not seem to work. Am I missing something or is something else wrong? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 21st July 2006, 08:55 AM
kissme1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
i installed clamav successfully using

yum install clamav clamav-libs clamav-update clamav-data

the question is how do i use it now and how do i start it any guide or info on that???

another thing i tried to install wine using

yum install wine-arts wine-tools wine wine-cms

but it gives this error

Code:
[root@localhost ~]# yum install wine-arts wine-tools wine wine-cms
Repository freshrpms is listed more than once in the configuration
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
dries                                                                [1/7]
macromedia                                                           [2/7]
core                                                                 [3/7]
greysector-all                                                       [4/7]
freshrpms                                                            [5/7]
greysector                                                           [6/7]
greysector-all-noarch                                                [7/7]
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
No Match for argument: wine-arts
No Match for argument: wine-tools
No Match for argument: wine
No Match for argument: wine-cms
Nothing to do
any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 21st July 2006, 03:38 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Z
Still not working, dude. I can't compile .cpp files (which are C++ files). An error message will display everytime I do (following the above format). For .c files, nothing displays on the screen. The terminal just moves to the next line and doesn't display anything at all. I used the simple text editor that comes with Fedora Core 5 to make some quick .cpp and .c files to test it out, but the above format does not seem to work. Am I missing something or is something else wrong? Thanks.
That's normal - Simply running GCC makes the output file(s) and then gives you a new prompt. Try typing:
Code:
ls
and see if you see a file by the name you chose before in the -o output_file. To run it, type:
Code:
./output_file
(yes, that's a dot, a forward slash, then the filename all in one word...)
As for a GUI editor, then you'll have to open you C files in gedit first:
Code:
gedit filename
save your file as a .c file, then you can use GCC and the ./filename to make the binary and run it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kissme1
i installed clamav successfully using

yum install clamav clamav-libs clamav-update clamav-data

the question is how do i use it now and how do i start it any guide or info on that???

another thing i tried to install wine using

yum install wine-arts wine-tools wine wine-cms

but it gives this error

Code:
[root@localhost ~]# yum install wine-arts wine-tools wine wine-cms
Repository freshrpms is listed more than once in the configuration
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
dries                                                                [1/7]
macromedia                                                           [2/7]
core                                                                 [3/7]
greysector-all                                                       [4/7]
freshrpms                                                            [5/7]
greysector                                                           [6/7]
greysector-all-noarch                                                [7/7]
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
No Match for argument: wine-arts
No Match for argument: wine-tools
No Match for argument: wine
No Match for argument: wine-cms
Nothing to do
any suggestions?
By looking at your repos, it seems you're using a non-standard setup - Extras isn't enabled. You'll need to enable Fedora Extras (aliased 'extras' in yum) to get wine. As for clamAV, run:
Code:
clamscan files
to scan for files or folders, and
Code:
freshclam
to update your virus definitions database. You can type either with "--help" after it for more options.

Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

Last edited by Firewing1; 21st July 2006 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 21st July 2006, 04:45 PM
John_Z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Ok, .c files compile and display.

Except I can't compile my C++ programs (.cpp).

Does gcc follow a different file format (like .cc or .cxx)? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 21st July 2006, 07:51 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,224
You'll need to install gcc-c++:
Code:
yum install gcc-c++
Now try again using the same 'gcc file -o outputfile' process.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 22nd July 2006, 02:07 AM
John_Z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Nope, none of my C++ files are compiling. All of them work (I've even tried compiling them on Dev-C++ in Windows XP and they compile perfectly fine). I'm getting about 9 errors that don't make any sense and say there's things wrong with my code. I have the gcc-c++ installed too. The C files compile and display fine, but that's it. Any other avaliable suggestions? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 22nd July 2006, 04:34 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,224
What happens when you type:
Code:
rpm -q gcc-c++ -l | grep bin
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 22nd July 2006, 04:59 AM
John_Z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
This displays on the screen:

Quote:
/usr/bin/c++
/usr/bin/g++
/usr/bin/i386-redhat-linux-c++
/usr/bin/i386-redhat-linux-g++
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 23rd July 2006, 12:33 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 9,224
There we go - Try replacing gcc with g++:
Code:
g++ file -o out_file
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 23rd July 2006, 03:01 AM
John_Z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Ahhhh...it works now.

Thanks man, but I have one last question. It's a very small problem and not really a big deal, but is there anyway to include the setenforce 0 command during boottime? I keep having to do it manually everytime I go to http://pandora.com. Flash works and it's installed, it's just that setenforce 0 command. Thanks again man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
answered, guide, linux, questions, resource, ultimate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux+ Guide to Linux Certification Review Question Answers mpg187 Linux Chat 3 14th October 2009 10:45 PM
Ultimate Linux Remote Control (Wiimote on Fedora) Valent Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) 0 20th July 2009 09:26 AM
Is learning c++, the ultimate way to be a linux guru hdavy2005 Using Fedora 3 9th January 2008 03:20 AM
Another Linux resource Dubious Dave Links 0 22nd February 2007 10:44 PM
GP2X: ultimate linux retro-gaming wintermute000 Gamers' Lounge 14 7th August 2006 05:13 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:54 (Wednesday, 16-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat