Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 20th February 2010, 08:31 AM
Desh Banks Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Fedora 12 running hot/fans running all the time

I have been using fedora for a few months now, and am getting annoyed at the fan running all the time.

I ran 'sensors', and got the following:
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1: +83.0*C (crit = +100.0*C)
temp1: +69.0*C (crit = +100.0*C)

This is close to 130 ish degrees farenheight, far too hot for the tasks I am performing. I let it idle, and check the sensors report again, and the temperature is consistently slowly rising.

Clearly, the fans are on doing their job, preventing my laptop from dieing in a fire.

Why is it so hot? Something I can do to help this situation?

Laptop model: Dell Studio 15. I run a hot processor( 2.66 T9550 dual core), but windows is never this hot.

thanks to any replies. Booting to windows before my fingers melt.

Last edited by Desh Banks; 20th February 2010 at 08:38 AM.
Old 21st February 2010, 08:01 AM
screamin_jesus Offline

linuxsafari
Same here. I think its just the open source ati video drivers I am using for my mobility2600 though. I'm not sure they have any working power management, it runs full blast all the time, Windows gets as hot gaming as fedora does browsing the web...

Whats your vid card?
Old 27th February 2010, 09:53 PM
Desh Banks Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
My video card is a ATI Technologies Inc M92 [Mobility Radeon HD 4500 Series].

I found that I had a process running in the background eating one of my entire cores. That was cause for high temperature.

However, my fans still run constantly under linux, and I don't imagine this is good for the fan. Perhaps Linux has no way to turn them off/on? Would I search for drivers for this?

EDIT: (Sorry about the late reply, I have been very busy).
Old 27th February 2010, 10:17 PM
dd_wizard Offline

linuxfedorafirefox