Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th December 2008, 10:25 AM
robertrusso Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Robert Russo password don't work

My root password works fine.

My userid one, though, does not.

How can I fix this?

thanks robert russo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th December 2008, 10:33 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In your closet
Posts: 15,550
Log in as root and change the password for the regular user account.
Code:
passwd (username)
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator
© ®
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th December 2008, 10:35 AM
robertrusso Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks man!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th December 2008, 10:42 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In your closet
Posts: 15,550
Sure thing. You're welcome.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator
© ®
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th December 2008, 05:04 PM
JimmyG Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Unhappy along those same lines...

I just upgraded to F10 and seem to be unable to authenticate as root in the main login screen. However, When logged in as a regular user and am prompted to enter a root password to perform an administrative task, the system accepts my root password no problem...any ideas on the cause for this or how to fix??

thanks much!!

JimmyG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th December 2008, 05:17 PM
stefan1975 Offline
"Stefan the converted" -- forum Macintosh® Glee Club leader
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Age: 42
Posts: 1,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyG View Post
I just upgraded to F10 and seem to be unable to authenticate as root in the main login screen. However, When logged in as a regular user and am prompted to enter a root password to perform an administrative task, the system accepts my root password no problem...any ideas on the cause for this or how to fix??

thanks much!!

JimmyG
the wise men upstairs have decided for you that they do not want to allow you to log into fedora as 'root', you have to log in as your regular user and "su -" to root.

i think it is a *really* good idea NOT to log in as root, but to forcefully deny this to even the most security unaware users is something different alltogether.

stefan
__________________
"$ su - bofh"
OS: Mac OSX Snow Leopard (x64 by default), W7_Enterprise_X64, F12_x64_KDE
Hardware: late 2009 Macbook 13", MSI Wind 10"
Browser: Opera 10.10, Safari 4
Registered linux user #459910
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th December 2008, 05:32 PM
JimmyG Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Ah, Thank you very much the insight!

appreciate your help

JimmyG
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th December 2008, 12:09 AM
JimmyG Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Sooo, hopefully I am missing something obvious, but does this mean you cannot be in gnome as root??? only through a terminal?

hopefully i'm just being a super newbie..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th December 2008, 12:22 AM
stefan1975 Offline
"Stefan the converted" -- forum Macintosh® Glee Club leader
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Age: 42
Posts: 1,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyG View Post
Sooo, hopefully I am missing something obvious, but does this mean you cannot be in gnome as root??? only through a terminal?

hopefully i'm just being a super newbie..
you are correct that is the way the devs intended it (and with reason!!).
there is a way to disable this failsafe though:

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=205768

post #5

stefan
__________________
"$ su - bofh"
OS: Mac OSX Snow Leopard (x64 by default), W7_Enterprise_X64, F12_x64_KDE
Hardware: late 2009 Macbook 13", MSI Wind 10"
Browser: Opera 10.10, Safari 4
Registered linux user #459910
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th December 2008, 02:01 AM
JimmyG Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10th December 2008, 02:18 AM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
Robert Russo, you sure get around!




Last edited by JN4OldSchool; 10th December 2008 at 02:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th December 2008, 09:59 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In your closet
Posts: 15,550
You can boot to runlevel 3 and log in as root. Then startx. But don't.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator
© ®
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
robert russo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Root Password doesn't work mbrad Using Fedora 9 22nd September 2009 03:22 PM
Password Won't Work jazzer386 Using Fedora 9 3rd December 2008 08:58 PM
Robert Love Resigns from Novel Demz Wibble 11 9th May 2007 09:38 PM
CNET's Robert Vamosi reviews Windows Vista Plossl Wibble 116 22nd February 2007 02:17 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:09 (Thursday, 24-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat