Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th May 2017, 12:47 PM
nohup Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 68
linuxfedorafirefox
Is possible to work with 8Gb operative memory in F25 with 32 kernel?

I had changed one card OS from 4G to two card 4Gb+4Gb=8gb and saw strange message after start software top -

KiB Mem: 3271440 KB - may it is the problem that is based on using 32 bit kernel?
If 32 I change to 64 bit I will see all both 4Gb+4Gb=8Gb memory?

Regards,
Sergey.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th May 2017, 02:44 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 7,562
linuxchrome
Re: Is possible to work with 8Gb operative memory in F25 with 32 kernel?

You need to install the 32 bit kernel-PAE kernel packages in order to utilize more memory than the regular 32 bit kernel can handle. Currently, probably kernel-PAE-4.10.15-200.fc25.i686.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th May 2017, 05:02 PM
nohup Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 68
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Is possible to work with 8Gb operative memory in F25 with 32 kernel?

Thank you, you helped me!

I made what you proposed and it fully solved - where I am now :
uname -a
Linux seismo.ukr.net 4.10.14-200.fc25.i686+PAE #1 SMP Wed May 3 23:20:35 UTC 2017 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
It was solved in 4.10.14-200.fc25.i686+PAE too, not only it may be in 4.10.15-200.fc25.i686+PAE.

But default kernel is old - without PAE. Where to change the boot parameters for placing
4.10.14-200.fc25.i686+PAE to default position for boot regime?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th May 2017, 05:10 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 7,562
linuxchrome
Re: Is possible to work with 8Gb operative memory in F25 with 32 kernel?

While booted into the new PAE kernel, and confirming that it runs OK without issues, uninstall all the non-PAE kernels on your system. Then, all further kernel updates will only be the PAE kernels and, of course, then the lone PAE kernel will be number one in the grub2 menu list.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
8gb, f25, kernel, memory, operative, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2x8gb memory / 4x4gb slots / will it work? johnlvs2run Hardware & Laptops 1 24th October 2011 05:41 PM
Genesys Logic memory card reader don't work riekkujaja Hardware & Laptops 4 30th March 2011 12:12 PM
USB Flash Memory doesn't work and says Disabling IRQ # 10 rolandpish Using Fedora 3 14th December 2005 01:39 AM
Can't get write access to work on USB memory stick ltam Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 14 8th January 2005 07:09 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:03 (Wednesday, 20-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat