Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 23rd August 2015, 06:27 PM
homelybore Offline

windows_98_nt_2000chrome
(Solved)Legacy BIOS - Not able to dual boot

Hello all experts,

I am a noob to linux, and wanted to learn more about it, and so I am trying to dual boot my laptop with Windows 10, and Fedora 22.

I have an old BIOS which doesn't support UEFI. Laptop has 500Gb HDD, and 150 Gb is un-allocated for Fedora 22 installation.

I have the latest Fedora 22 64 bit image, and I have made a bootable USB using Fedora live usb creator. But, during installation of Fedora 22, even I am creating /boot - 500 Mb, swap - 4096Mb, and remaining all to / , I am getting the below error -

"You have not defined a root partition(/), which is required for installation of Fedora to continue.

No valid boot loaded target device found. See below for details.

For a UEFI installation, you must include a EFI System Partition on a GPT-formatted disk, mounted at /boot/efi"

It's already been one week since I am trying to dual boot Fedora 22, but no luck. Any help will be appreciated.

Cheers!

Last edited by homelybore; 24th August 2015 at 06:41 AM. Reason: Issue is resolved.
Old 23rd August 2015, 06:58 PM
upnort Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Legacy BIOS - Not able to dual boot

Quote:
"You have not defined a root partition(/), which is required for installation of Fedora to continue.
Select the check box to format the designated root partition.
Old 24th August 2015, 06:40 AM
homelybore Offline

windows_7chrome

Hello upnort,

thanks for your quick response. The issue got resolved. If anyone else having this issue (who use legacy BIOS, but Fedora 22 installation forcing them to use UEFI), it's with the ISO to USB creator application that I was using. I used Fedora Live USB creator, Unetbootin, Rufus but no joy. Used SUSEImage Writer (a bit tricky to find point to *.iso file), but the problem got resolved.
Old 24th August 2015, 03:04 PM
upnort Offline

linuxfirefox