Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd August 2005, 02:39 AM
Complitric Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
KMenuEdit

Is there anyway to add to the menu the launcing of a console that runs several commands?
So when you click on the menu option, it opens a console, then runs the given commands.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd August 2005, 02:46 AM
dwflo's Avatar
dwflo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albuquerque
Age: 68
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Complitric
Is there anyway to add to the menu the launcing of a console that runs several commands?
So when you click on the menu option, it opens a console, then runs the given commands.
Have you read the help that is avalable in KDE? Should give you some insights how to customise.

Dave
__________________
Registered Linux #395226 running Fedora 7 x86_64
"Three men were walking on a wall, Feeling, Faith and Fact.
Feeling took an awful fall and Faith was taken back.
But Fact remained both strong and true and that brought back Faith and Feeling too!"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd August 2005, 02:51 AM
RedFedora's Avatar
RedFedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 503
Well, you could write a script which performs the commands you want.
Then open the menu editor. Now, create a new item in the sub-folder you want.
Once the item has been created, high-light. In the options down the right
side, make sure the Run In Terminal box is checked.
__________________
Registered Linux User # 373325
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2005, 02:51 AM
fpoole's Avatar
fpoole Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: University of Kansas
Posts: 475
You could probably make it run a shell script.
__________________
Fedora 11 x64 | Tyan Thunder 3600B | 2x AMD Opteron 2376 "Shanghai" 2.3GHz Quad-Core CPUs | 16GB RAM Registered ECC DDR2 667 | Sapphire RadeonHD 4550 GPU | OCZ Apex 125GB SATA II SSD [ / ] | Seagate 1TB SATA HDD [ /home ]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd August 2005, 03:07 AM
OmniUni Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Age: 29
Posts: 36
to create a script, you should just have to enter the commands into a text file and add the .sh extention. assuming your file was called file.sh, you'd make your menu item "bash file.sh" which will run its contents. If I'm wrong, please let me know, I'm new to this as well, and this is something I may want to do in the future.

any good site to tell me how to make some actually GOOD shell scripts? I'll look myself, but if anyone has some suggestions...
__________________
.................................................. .......

Open Source is sometimes said to be simply a fad of today. It is not. It is a fad of tomorrow and it always will be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kmenuedit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KMenuEdit & ShortKey semhoun Using Fedora 8 29th January 2005 06:05 AM
KDE and Kmenuedit Furry_Fighter Using Fedora 6 10th October 2004 12:55 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:28 (Tuesday, 17-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat