Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st May 2004, 08:44 PM
semhoun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 1
Unhappy KMenuEdit & ShortKey

I have two problem with KDE and Fedora Core 2:
1) With KMenuEdit i can remove icon in interface, but they are not really remove (same after save and close). When I watch in kde-menu they are always here, also when I restart KMenuEdit
2) I can't use '"windows" key for shortcuts. When I press windows key "Window +" appair but when I press "e" key (with windows always pressed) only "E" appair.

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd May 2004, 02:41 AM
ogetbilo Offline
RPMFusion Dev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: PA
Age: 38
Posts: 466
Did you do an upgrade or did you do a fresh install? I had similar problems after I upgraded from FC1. I simply deleted my .kde folder (which is in the home folder) and everything worked out
__________________
oget, the "Pulse against"

Thnigs that rule: Angelina, TKT, Linux, Supergravity, Alcohol...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd May 2004, 04:35 AM
yusufma Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Same thing here and I did a fresh install.
Maybe I should also try to remove .kde?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd May 2004, 04:14 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 60
Posts: 3,423
It may not need to be that drastic. Removing the .kde directory wipes out ALL of your KDE settings. Here's what I'd suggest first...

In .kde/share there's probably a directory called applnk and/or applnk-redhat. This is where KDE used to store it's menu information. Move anything in those directoriies to a safe location (for later reference), logout and log back in. Then try your menu editing.

Here's what's happening: KDE has switched to using a new menu repository (it's part of the freedesktop interop). Menus are now in ./config/menus, the .desktop files are in .local, etc. Obviously, the KDE folks wanted to keep backwards compatibility, but the menu editor will apparently not actually delete/edit stuff in the applnk directories, as it apparently only works with the freedesktop files.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd May 2004, 06:24 PM
jonoson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Taipei
Age: 35
Posts: 11
How to set the Win key plus sth. up anyway?

I got the same problem...
How to set the shortcuts as [WIN+sth.] anyway?

thx a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd May 2004, 06:51 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 60
Posts: 3,423
In the menu editor, when you select a menu entry, there's a button-like box at the bottom that you click on. This pops up a dialog where you just enter the keypress you want to associate with that menu entry.

If you want to do some other interesting stuff with keys (like control XMMS without it even being visible), use the Control Center: locate "Regional & Accessories/KHotKeys" - that can be quite fun.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd May 2004, 09:12 AM
jonoson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Taipei
Age: 35
Posts: 11
same problem...

Thanks for your replying, crackers.

But the problem like the semhoun told still exists. The chortcut key will become a single "E" when I pressed [WIN+E] instead of the expected result as that in FC2 test 1.

What's going on with my FC2?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd May 2004, 12:59 PM
the-linux-guy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 37
Win + ... keys do not work anymore indeed !

Yup, I have the same problem here, even though I did a complete fresh install of FC2...

A lot of other stuff does not seem to work eighter, like auto-login into KDE or the "password-less" login into KDE... Also KHTML does a very terible job on the website http://www.bartendavid.be/ (lot's of text is misplaced and / or garbled) in Konqueror...

Also the new 2.6 kernel is giving me some headaches, messing around with partition tables during install, not supporting IEEE busses, giving flush errors to my harddisk during reboots, not supporting 3D for nvidia based cards, etc....

I was expecting a lot better from this release, but maybe the Fedora people released this version a little bit to soon ???

With kind regards,

Eddy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th January 2005, 06:05 AM
carpie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Lightbulb FC2 and kmenuedit

I don't know if anyone is still stuck on the issue of kmenuedit not updating the menus in KDE 3.2 and FC2, but here's what I did to fix the problem:

First I noticed that in my home directory under .config/menus, there was a file named applications.menu and one named applications-kmenuedit.menu. It seemed that all the changes I'd been trying to do with kmenuedit were saved in applications-kmenuedit.menu. A quick look at applications.menu showed that it was merging applications from /etc/xdg/... So, I added:
<MergeFile>applications-kmenuedit.menu</MergeFile>
to applications.menu and all my changes showed up in my menu!

Hope this isn't too late to help someone...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kmenuedit, shortkey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KMenuEdit Complitric Using Fedora 4 23rd August 2005 03:07 AM
KDE and Kmenuedit Furry_Fighter Using Fedora 6 10th October 2004 12:55 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:06 (Wednesday, 23-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat