Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th March 2017, 01:39 AM
ov10fac Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 193
linuxfedorafirefox
VLC broken? (Solved)

I have read several threads about this problem. I can run vlc and get audio but no video. I get the following errors when I load a DVD into VLC:

[00007fb530003c38] core video output error: video output creation failed
[00007fb53c1be658] core decoder error: failed to create video output
Cannot find EGLConfig, returning null config
[00007fb53c1be658] avcodec decoder error: avcodec_send_packet critical error
[00007fb53c1be658] core decoder error: buffer deadlock prevented
[0000561a56fe8668] pulse audio output error: digital pass-through stream connection failure: Not supported
[0000561a56fe8668] core audio output error: module not functional
[00007fb53c1d1438] core decoder error: failed to create audio output
[00007fb51402caa8] equalizer audio filter error: No preset selected
[0000561a56fe8668] core audio output error: cannot add user audio filter "equalizer" (skipped)

So I have tried all the suggestions (roll back, install newer wayland and re-install vlc) and none of them work. So has anyone found a solution to this error.

Thanks.

Last edited by ov10fac; 18th March 2017 at 06:23 PM. Reason: Solved the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th March 2017, 06:22 PM
ov10fac Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 193
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: VLC broken?

Think I found the problem. I installed Handbrake to rip some DVDs and that broke VLC. I "downgraded" VLC and it now runs as before, but the downgrade removed handbrake. So, there must be some kind of relationship between HandBrake and VLC.

So I switched to DVD::RIP and that seems to be working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th March 2017, 09:20 PM
bobx001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: santa barbara, CA
Posts: 394
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: VLC broken?

Interesting. I always use mplayer, not VLC.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th March 2017, 08:23 AM
sopranos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: israel
Posts: 52
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: VLC broken?

Hello.

im using F25 x64 and having the same issue with VLC, plus i'm unable to start Teamviewer.
when i try to start Teamviewer, i keep getting red error mark on the app icon on the bottom left corner of the screen.

tried removing vlc & teamviewer and re-install.
tired updating the system.
none of that worked

besides these 2 apps, everything is smooth.

does anyone have a solution for this?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th March 2017, 02:34 PM
ov10fac Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 193
linuxchrome
Re: VLC broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobx001 View Post
Interesting. I always use mplayer, not VLC.
Many years ago I used xine. When I loaded dvd::rip it needed xine, so I installed it. No that's what I use until someone figures out that VLC needs to be fixed, or F25 needs fixing. I suspect wayland, but just a guess.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th March 2017, 07:58 AM
sopranos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: israel
Posts: 52
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: VLC broken?

What interesting about this issue is that im using F25 for a few months already and everything was smooth.
Until this issue, i havent updated the system for a month, so dont think it's Kernel related.
tried downgrading VLC - still no Good!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th March 2017, 09:48 AM
Maryyy's Avatar
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ex-EU
Posts: 1,051
linuxfirefox
Re: VLC broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ov10fac View Post
Many years ago I used xine. When I loaded dvd::rip it needed xine, so I installed it. No that's what I use until someone figures out that VLC needs to be fixed, or F25 needs fixing. I suspect wayland, but just a guess.
If it's HandBrake related, it's likely just a shared libs problem, where VLC needs different versions than HandBrake.

VLC doesn't need fixing itself in such a case, Linux does. Depending on your priority, you may keep HandBrake package and try VLC appimage e.g.
But it may as well be a packaging problem. If both are installed alongside and RPM doesn't complain, that's what may need fixing.

I'm on CentOS 7 and I have both of them working just fine (albeit older versions), so I can't say what the problem really is. Well, and I use mplayer most of the time anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th March 2017, 08:32 PM
ov10fac Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 193
linuxchrome
Re: VLC broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maryyy View Post
If it's HandBrake related, it's likely just a shared libs problem, where VLC needs different versions than HandBrake.

VLC doesn't need fixing itself in such a case, Linux does. Depending on your priority, you may keep HandBrake package and try VLC appimage e.g.
But it may as well be a packaging problem. If both are installed alongside and RPM doesn't complain, that's what may need fixing.

I'm on CentOS 7 and I have both of them working just fine (albeit older versions), so I can't say what the problem really is. Well, and I use mplayer most of the time anyway.
Whats really interesting is that when I remove VLC it also removes HandBrake. I can then re-install VLC and downgrade it and it works fine until I install Handbrake again. As Sgt Klink used to say "Verrrrry Interestering"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st March 2017, 05:31 AM
Maryyy's Avatar
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ex-EU
Posts: 1,051
linuxfirefox
Re: VLC broken?

HandBrake and VLC are not related. They are both end-of-branch stuff that should never interfere.
If you install VLC and it works and then you install HB and there is a problem with function of VLC, that itself is a problem that shouldn't happen. Theoretically.

But if you afterwards remove VLC and that also removes HB, than it deserves filing a bug report, as that is definitely packaging error, unless:

1) Fedora versions of those apps are built to depend on each other, but I seriously doubt that.
2) you're using two different and possibly conflicting repos for those two apps and/or their dependencies.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st March 2017, 06:33 AM
sopranos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: israel
Posts: 52
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: VLC broken?

thanks for your reply.

im not sure if HB is related or not
I've tried the following:

sudo dnf install qt5-qtwayland.x86_64
sudo dnf remove vlc
sudo dnf install vlc

that did Not work either!
I'm still having the same issue with Teamviewer.
And the WIFI keep disconnecting after a few mins.

something has really gone wrong on my OS
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st March 2017, 09:27 AM
bobx001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: santa barbara, CA
Posts: 394
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: VLC broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sopranos View Post
thanks for your reply.

im not sure if HB is related or not
I've tried the following:

sudo dnf install qt5-qtwayland.x86_64
sudo dnf remove vlc
sudo dnf install vlc

that did Not work either!
I'm still having the same issue with Teamviewer.
And the WIFI keep disconnecting after a few mins.

something has really gone wrong on my OS

I reckon to much testing going on with new environments, conflicting software, odd drivers, .....

If you want stability I recommend lxdm display manager and xfce as a Desktop.
I've been using the same combination on dozens upon dozens of PCs, laptops, gadgets, you name it, and it's super stable.
MHO.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st March 2017, 02:11 PM
SomeDamFool's Avatar
SomeDamFool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: On up the road a piece
Posts: 741
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: VLC broken?

I had the same problem about a year ago, Handbrake broke VLC. After some research I found that they both use some of the same dependencies, but different versions. Installing HB replaced an *.so file that wouldn't work with VLC because it was a different version. I removed HB because it was a trainwreck from the word go, then manually replaced that .so file with the original version (from my other computer) and VLC worked again.
__________________
I live in my own little world, but it's OK, they know me here.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st March 2017, 10:08 PM
ov10fac Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 193
linuxchrome
Re: VLC broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeDamFool View Post
I had the same problem about a year ago, Handbrake broke VLC. After some research I found that they both use some of the same dependencies, but different versions. Installing HB replaced an *.so file that wouldn't work with VLC because it was a different version. I removed HB because it was a trainwreck from the word go, then manually replaced that .so file with the original version (from my other computer) and VLC worked again.
Ok, that makes sense. I have used Handbrake because its the only ripper I have found that rips without putting subcaptions on the video. I have tried dvd::rip, and a few others and always get either french or spanish subcaptions, except where I need them like Dances with Wolves. Go figure.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd March 2017, 09:33 AM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 846
linuxfedorachrome
Re: VLC broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ov10fac View Post
Ok, that makes sense. I have used Handbrake because its the only ripper I have found that rips without putting subcaptions on the video. I have tried dvd::rip, and a few others and always get either french or spanish subcaptions, except where I need them like Dances with Wolves. Go figure.
I used the approach in the following URL by Sparky68 25 Feb 2017 12:04
https://forum.videolan.org/viewtopic...137734#p453883
It solved my problem with VLC on several machines. Hope it helps you.
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 4.11.12-100.fc24.x86_64 Gnome Software 3.20
CPU AMD FX-6300 Six Core AM3+
MoBo Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 AMD760G AM3+ MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs Gskill Ripjaw DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22nd March 2017, 09:46 AM
Maryyy's Avatar
Maryyy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ex-EU
Posts: 1,051
linuxfirefox
Re: VLC broken?

Hm, so what was your previous video output setting?
To me, by far the best results in VLC are Opengl (XCB) output with NO hardware acceleration in the input/codecs section, otherwise it may freak out.
XVideo is old and may also introduce tearing.

Nvidia blob has proper XVideo sync per-monitor, but other drivers don't. They usually require tinkering with xorg config, Intel e.g. Unless Intel's drivers defaults are now more friendly in this regard, I don't know. And I have zero clue for AMD.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broken, vlc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yum broken? katastrophal Using Fedora 2 11th November 2011 05:07 PM
F12 getting more broken by the day miles Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream 1 25th December 2009 07:35 PM
FC10 Grub Install Options Broken, chroot broken, dual boot troubles cuban_cigar Using Fedora 1 6th April 2009 10:35 AM
I´ve just broken FC3...............................HELP! veronica79 Using Fedora 7 30th January 2005 11:10 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:38 (Tuesday, 26-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat