Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 10th October 2017, 03:27 AM
underOATH777 Offline

windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Stuck at installing boot loader

Complete newb to Linux. Already have win 10, tried the instructions in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QzbX8o7pSY but it gets stuck and my caps button keeps blinking!

It's worthy of note that I had similar issues with previous Ubuntu installation, getting stuck at installing grub package!

I have this laptop here which comes with windows 10.

http://store.hp.com/CanadaStore/Merc...pt=ABL&sel=NTB
Old 10th October 2017, 04:57 AM
donatom Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Stuck at installing boot loader

Here is a good website for efi boot install:

https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/que...th-windows-10/

Do NOT create another efi boot partition. Fedora should install efi-boot to the same windows efi boot partition that is on your laptop.

Make sure you start up fedora live in eif-boot mode.
Old 10th October 2017, 05:04 AM
underOATH777 Offline

windows_98_nt_2000chrome

Thanks for the reply. For someone with my current Linux knowledge, the website you linked looks too scary. I think I have a lot to learn about Linux having been a long time windows user.

But for the time being, if you give me detailed instructions on how to do what you suggested, I assume you saw the video so you know what I did, just tell me at which step "in the video" should I do what differently, I would really appreciate that.

Thanks a ton.
Old 10th October 2017, 05:54 AM
donatom Offline

linuxfedorafirefox