Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th August 2017, 01:09 AM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 605
linuxfirefox
what is wrong with my xfsdump run string?

Hi All,

Fedora 26 x64 xfsdump-3.1.6-4.fc26.x86_64

If you would allow me to mooch a free question off of you,

Code:
# df | grep "/dev/"
tmpfs            16417652       0   16417652   0% /dev/shm
/dev/md126p2    872803956 5891900  866912056   1% /
/dev/md126p1      1038336  226012     812324  22% /boot
/dev/sdd1      1952559608 2190200 1950369408   1% /lin-bak

# mount | grep "/dev/" | grep "on / "
/dev/md126p2 on / type xfs (rw,relatime,seclabel,attr2,inode64,noquota)
I am trying to back up "/" (/dev/md126p2).

This is my run string:

Code:
# /usr/sbin/xfsdump -v verbose -M 1 -L 1 -l 0 -f /lin-bak/2017-08-1121-39-07md126p2.XfsDump /dev/md126p2
Problem: I get millions of /usr/sbin/xfsdump: WARNING: could not open regular file ino 1613157757 mode 0x000081a4: Not a directory: not dumped

What am I doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th August 2017, 01:47 AM
amiga Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 101
linuxfirefox
Re: what is wrong with my xfsdump run string?

If you are trying to backup your root / file system which is mounted at / you should use / instead of the partition device.

Code:
/usr/sbin/xfsdump -v verbose -M 1 -L 1 -l 0 -f /lin-bak/2017-08-1121-39-07md126p2.XfsDump /
The XFS file system you are trying to back up is mounted at / so just use //

NAME
xfsdump - XFS filesystem incremental dump utility

SYNOPSIS
xfsdump -h
xfsdump [ options ] -f dest [ -f dest ... ] filesystem

here filesystem is the top level directory in this case /.

xfsdump works on XFS file system contents not on the partitions that contain them.

You don't need to know the partition on which a file system is mounted. All of your commands with df and grep were totally unnecessary.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th August 2017, 06:53 AM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 605
linuxfirefox
Re: what is wrong with my xfsdump run string?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
If you are trying to backup your root / file system which is mounted at / you should use / instead of the partition device.

Code:
/usr/sbin/xfsdump -v verbose -M 1 -L 1 -l 0 -f /lin-bak/2017-08-1121-39-07md126p2.XfsDump /
The XFS file system you are trying to back up is mounted at / so just use //

NAME
xfsdump - XFS filesystem incremental dump utility

SYNOPSIS
xfsdump -h
xfsdump [ options ] -f dest [ -f dest ... ] filesystem

here filesystem is the top level directory in this case /.

xfsdump works on XFS file system contents not on the partitions that contain them.

You don't need to know the partition on which a file system is mounted. All of your commands with df and grep were totally unnecessary.
I had previously tried "/" and it crashed: "Dump ERROR (operator error or resource exhaustion)"

When I went to double check "/" today, it worked. mumble, mumble

Maybe it has something to do with this being a RAID 1 pair
And yesterday "/dev/md126p1" (/boot) worked. More mumbling.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th August 2017, 10:46 PM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 605
linuxfirefox
Re: what is wrong with my xfsdump run string?

Follow up:

This is a copy of my RFE request to the developers at linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org:

Quote:
Hi All,

When running this command twice in a row

# /usr/sbin/xfsdump -v verbose -M 1 -L 1 -l 0 -f /lin-bak/2017-08-1121-39-07md126p2.XfsDump /

It throws the following error message the second time the command is thrown.

/usr/sbin/xfsdump: stream 0 /lin-bak/2017-08-1121-39-07md126p2.XfsDump ERROR (operator error or resource exhaustion)


This error is caused by the second instance finding the backup file already existing. (I presume "resource exhaustion" comes from the old tape back up days when you ran out of tapes.)

And it takes a ton of time to figure out when it happens.
Tears.


Request for Enhancement (RFE): Would you guys please consider a better error message that reflects what is actually happening.

Perhaps:
"Destination file exists. Overwrite (y/n)", or
"Destination file exists. Overwriting", or
"Destination file exists. Cowardly exiting. Bummer dude!"

Many thanks,
-T
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th August 2017, 06:21 PM
amiga Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 101
linuxfirefox
Re: what is wrong with my xfsdump run string?

Where did you get the idea that you use disk partitions with xfsdump ?

In the examples in the xfs manpage and in all xfs examples online on forums or blogs filesystem refers to the mountpoint of a mounted xfs file system.
Code:
xfsdump(8)                                                             System Manager's Manual                                                             xfsdump(8)

NAME
       xfsdump - XFS filesystem incremental dump utility

SYNOPSIS
       xfsdump -h
       xfsdump [ options ] -f dest [ -f dest ... ] filesystem
       xfsdump [ options ] - filesystem
.....
EXAMPLES
       To perform a level 0, single stream dump of the root filesystem to a locally mounted tape drive, prompting for session and media labels when required:

            # xfsdump -f /dev/tape /

       To specify session and media labels explicitly:

            # xfsdump -L session_1 -M tape_0 -f /dev/tape /
A blog example using xfs dump and xfsrestore:

http://blog.endpoint.com/2015/01/shr...-possible.html

Quote:
Maybe it has something to do with this being a RAID 1 pair
And yesterday "/dev/md126p1" (/boot) worked. More mumbling.
I am surprised at how using "/dev/md126p1" could have worked.

It has nothing to do with this being a RAID1 pair as xfsdump works on the contents of a mounted xfs filesystem. It doesn't matter if the partitions are raid, lvm, or lvm on top of raid.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Yesterday, 05:08 AM
ToddAndMargo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 605
linuxfirefox
Re: what is wrong with my xfsdump run string?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
Where did you get the idea that you use disk partitions with xfsdump ?
I use it all the time with ext3/4's dump:

Quote:
man dump:
files-to-dump is either a mountpoint of a filesystem or a list of files...
and xfsdump follows suite. Well somewhat.

Quote:
man xfsdump:
The filesystem, filesystem, can be specified either as a mount point or as a special device file (for example, /dev/dsk/dks0d1s0). The filesystem must be mounted to be dumped.
So habit I guess. And the buzzard did work on "/dev/md126p1" (/boot)

And it is a bug. I told them about it.

Thank you for the help!

Last edited by ToddAndMargo; Yesterday at 05:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
run, string, wrong, xfsdump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grub2 is inserting the "Loading Fedora" string wrong marko Using Fedora 2 27th February 2012 02:55 AM
How to replace a string by a string in text file bghayad Using Fedora 3 26th April 2011 12:20 PM
sed regex string replacement after match string issue adosch Using Fedora 10 29th June 2007 04:07 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:04 (Thursday, 17-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat