Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th August 2017, 06:08 AM
ilikesci2 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Hood Texas
Posts: 33
unknownfirefox
No internet

Hello,
I am using Fedora 26 on a laptop. I log into a mate session. The wireless connection was working and I was able to connect to the internet. The wireless connection is lit like it is connected but when I now bring up any browser it says can not connect to server, say www.yahoo.com. I tried looking for help but all I could find was netstat which pretty much said I do not have a connection. I am not sure how to make a manual wireless connection or what to do next. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thank You,
Micah
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2017, 12:29 PM
buchalkalan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: HEL
Posts: 168
linuxchrome
Re: No internet

Open a terminal and type the following

Code:
$ ifconfig
Paste the output here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th August 2017, 03:39 AM
ilikesci2 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Hood Texas
Posts: 33
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: No internet

Entering ifconfig I get the following for wlp4s0:

flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.0.169 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255
inet6 2605:6000:5442:d100::2 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x0<global>
inet6 fe80::eede:a322:3104:78bc prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
inet6 2605:6000:5442:d100:c66e:91f8:9a3c:2c59 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x0<global>
ether 80:19:34:80:75:7d txqueulen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 273331 bytes 38499071 (36.7 MiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 18697 bytes 3573605 (3.4 MiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

That doesn't look like there are any problems. I still can't get through to any web pages though.
Micah
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th August 2017, 12:26 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,130
linuxchrome
Re: No internet

I have a page on troubleshooting wireless--less relevant as NetworkManager has gotten somewhat better.
Anyway, it's at http://srobb.net/wireless.html

Seems you have a 192.168.0.169 address.
Can you ping the router

ping -c 2 192.168.0.1

If you get a result.

ping -c 2 4.4.4.4
EDIT: This is in correct, it should be ping -c 2 4.2.2.2 (see posts below)

If you get a result

ping -c 2 www.google.com

I have a feeling it's something with DNS, and my guess is that the first two will work and the third will fail.

By the way, ifconfig is deprecated, in Linux, you should use ip add sh wlan0 (or whatever name it is)

So, if the pinging by IP works but name resolution doesn't, it's probably your /etc/resolv.conf. RedHat now makes that a symlink to something else (I've forgotten what), but it's one of the things I change on a new install, so I'm not sure how to fix it. At any rate, if it's pinging properly save for the google.com one, you can, as a temporary fix, put

nameserver 8.8.8.8 in your /etc/resolv.conf.

Sorry I can't be more help if that's the issue, as I said, it's one of the first things I change on a new install.

Last edited by smr54; 16th August 2017 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th August 2017, 05:40 AM
ilikesci2 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Hood Texas
Posts: 33
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: No internet

It is a symbolic link to /var/run/connman/resolv.conf and it does not exist. Could that be the problem?
Thanks,
Micah

PS the ping -c 2 4.4.4.4 and www.google.com both do not work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th August 2017, 12:45 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,130
linuxchrome
Re: No internet

Ok, I'm reluctant to give advice, because I don't use NetworkManager and what I do might break your system. You can try renaming resolv.conf and seeing if it gets recreated, or just rename it and fill it in as mentioned above, with the one line nameserver 8.8.8.8

I made a mistake with the command above, sorry, just noticed now.
Can you try

ping -c 2 4.2.2.2 (NOT 4.4.4.4).
If that works, then I would definitely try something like

mv resolv.conf resolv.con.bak

and create a new resolv.conf with the nameserver 8.8.8.8 line mentioned previously.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th August 2017, 07:22 PM
ilikesci2 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Hood Texas
Posts: 33
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No internet

I don't know what happened for the wireless to be screwed up. It would show I am connected but I could not get to the internet. Since my laptop with Fedora 26 is my main laptop I just reinstalled Fedora and the connection is working. Thank you for your help. I will keep this information in mind if it stops working again. I think it had to be a program I was installing because I was installing the new Fedora 26 on my system.
Thanks,
Micah
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th August 2017, 11:45 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,130
linuxchrome
Re: No internet

Glad it worked out for you. As the originator of the thread, you can click the Thread Tools link and mark it solved if you wish.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] No internet with cable internet on Firefox (but internet on Chrome works) simon24 Servers & Networking 3 24th July 2015 10:44 AM
connection, internet, netinstiso, pppoe How can i get pppoe internet connection wit cola Using Fedora 0 30th March 2012 12:12 PM
Internet over Wlan --> SERVER (Firewall and DHCP) -->LAN sahred internet peterko121 Servers & Networking 0 17th February 2012 03:58 PM
just put f11 on my s10 but no internet nobleman_james Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 5th October 2009 09:30 AM
How can I make linux box (with no internet) pretend to be Internet laeeq3i Servers & Networking 8 22nd July 2006 01:40 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:37 (Saturday, 21-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat