Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th July 2017, 05:17 AM
stratacast1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 270
linuxfirefox
Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Is there a bug in how VirtualBox handles the extra cores Ryzen has to offer? I'm compiling code in my VM with 6 cores enabled on it and it seems to cap at 10% CPU usage. This makes me wonder if it's a VirtualBox thing, or if perhaps it's the fact that I'm running FreeBSD as my guest OS w/o guest additions? Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th July 2017, 08:55 AM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,070
linuxchrome
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratacast1 View Post
Is there a bug in how VirtualBox handles the extra cores Ryzen has to offer? I'm compiling code in my VM with 6 cores enabled on it and it seems to cap at 10% CPU usage. This makes me wonder if it's a VirtualBox thing, or if perhaps it's the fact that I'm running FreeBSD as my guest OS w/o guest additions? Any thoughts?
guest additions shouldn't make any difference to how many cores and the percentage available regardless of processor generation. what settings have you got in place? virtualisation type, cores shared and percentage?
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th July 2017, 05:42 AM
stratacast1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 270
linuxfirefox
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

I gave it 4GB of memory, I have AMD's virtualization software enabled in UEFI, I gave VBox 6 cores with an execution cap of 100%
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th July 2017, 09:03 AM
nobody Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: München, Deutschland
Posts: 863
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Question Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratacast1 View Post
I gave it 4GB of memory, I have AMD's virtualization software enabled in UEFI, I gave VBox 6 cores with an execution cap of 100%
I need program top output with <1> ON, please (FreeBSD VM one)?

_nobody_
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th July 2017, 09:08 AM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,070
linuxchrome
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Also, I meant what virtualisation method have you instructed VirtualBox to use?
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th July 2017, 04:12 PM
stratacast1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 270
linuxfirefox
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

nobody: I will give you top in a few days, I ended up going out of town and am still away :P
antikythera, I'm not sure what you mean...type 2? Whatever the AMD version of VT-x is? I'm not aware of VBox using any other way than what it does out of the box
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th July 2017, 04:44 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,070
linuxchrome
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

when you return home, take a look at this, in particular section 3.4.3

https://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch...ings-processor

there are several hardware virtualisation options to choose from. VirtualBox picks the one it thinks is best but that may not always be correct for the host hardware and operating system.
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th July 2017, 08:09 PM
lsatenstein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, Que, Canada
Posts: 4,265
linuxchrome
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Hi=stratacast1
I have a question not related to virtual box. You are an early user. What are your thoughts about your Ryzen system. Would you recommend Ryzen for Linux only user?

I've been waiting for the PC manufacturers or bigbox stores to announce Ryzen systems before I build my own.
It's my way of knowing that the early teething problems re bios settings have been resolved.

Thanks in advance.

Leslie
__________________
Leslie in Montreal

Interesting web sites list
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th July 2017, 07:30 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,070
linuxchrome
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Tell VirtualBox to use KVM because it seems to be the most responsive option with my own AMD hardware and will certainly make use of the hardware virtualisation your processor offers.

First, make sure the VM is shut down. In the Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager, click on the machine to select it and then click the settings button. Click on System, followed by Acceleration. Choose KVM and make sure Enable VT-x/AMD-V and Nested Paging are also ticked. Click on Okay and the changes will be committed to the VM profile. You may need to reinstall the guest operating system in the VM, I don't know if changing the acceleration method is okay after installing an OS in VM.
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st July 2017, 09:55 PM
stratacast1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 270
linuxfirefox
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Hi there Leslie, I would definitely recommend Ryzen to Linux user, but definitely keep an eye out on different manufacturers. You want to see if the motherboard manufacturer has updated their BIOS to AGESA 1.0.0.6 which has better memory, overclock, and IOMMU support (most boards have this now I see). Also some manufacturers use proprietary WiFi drivers so keep an eye out for that if you want integrated WiFi. I have the Ryzen 1600 and an MSI B350M Mortar Arctic and have had no problems. One thing that I would recommend though is perhaps wait a bit longer until there's lm_sensors code for detecting CPU temps, as I am in the dark with how warm my Ryzen is running right now

My favorite board that I saw was the ASRock X370 Killer with AC wifi. Intel ethernet, Intel wireless chip and some other goodies. There are also some other good sub-$100 motherboards, but wouldn't be good for strong overclocks. My 1600 is at 3.7GHz right now at a low voltage (forgot what it was)

antikythera I see exactly what you're talking about now. Switching it to KVM made all the difference running my 6-core slices at 100% like I want
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st July 2017, 11:55 PM
lsatenstein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, Que, Canada
Posts: 4,265
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Virtualbox + Ryzen CPU barely utilized?

Hi Stratacast1

I want to thank you for the recommendations. I am taking them to heart.
.
__________________
Leslie in Montreal

Interesting web sites list
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
barely, cpu, ryzen, utilized, virtualbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ryzen first experiences SUSE user has Ryzen lsatenstein Linux Chat 2 22nd April 2017 08:50 PM
Barely any sound? Zach808 Mac Chat 3 12th April 2010 03:07 AM
Fedora barely working when not connected to the internet TheJuice Using Fedora 7 27th February 2008 05:42 PM
Un-utilized memory jbkt23 Using Fedora 4 4th October 2006 01:22 AM
Not al memory utilized charnel_tower Hardware & Laptops 4 4th July 2005 08:25 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:20 (Wednesday, 20-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat