Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th July 2017, 05:32 PM
darkaeon54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
linuxfedorachrome
Unhappy Fedora not using full available RAM

I have a dual boot with Windows 7 and Fedora 26, both 64bit (I'm sure), and they're both using EFI.

When I boot into Windows 7 through Window's native bootloader windows detects all 55GB of RAM in my system, but when I boot into either Fedora or Windows using the Grub2 loader, neither system is able to utilize the full available amount of ram (they can only see about 3.4GiB).

I've already tried googling and trying various ways to set "mem=xxM" in grub and updating grub, and even tried setting it through grub itself on boot, but no matter what I try nothing seems to change the amount of RAM the OS's can use. Does anyone happen to know what I should be doing to fix this for both Fedora and Windows? Is there any automatic way for grub to detect the amount available and update the boot settings so that I don't have to type in a value by myself?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th July 2017, 07:58 PM
lsatenstein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, Que, Canada
Posts: 4,265
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora not using full available RAM

With Fedora26, the design is to reserve some ram as tmpdisk. The tmpdisk is used by Firefox and some Linux utilities.

On my computer, with 8gig ram I too lose about 1.5 gigs to tmpdisk. I am not sure where the setting is stored for establishing tempdisk.











Never respond to the forum with Android. The spellchecker changes words after the posting is sent
__________________
Leslie in Montreal

Interesting web sites list
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

Last edited by lsatenstein; 18th July 2017 at 07:50 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th July 2017, 09:15 AM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,070
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora not using full available RAM

I dual boot W7 SP1 and Fedora 64-bit, both see all the available RAM from the 16GB installed in my notebook. You are positive you are using the 64-bit build of Fedora? The only reason I could foresee an issue like this arising is if you choose the i686 ISO which would install 32-bit and not the x86_64 (64-bit) version.

if the terminal command as follows returns a string ending in x86_64 you have installed 64-bit Fedora. Otherwise it's 32-bit.

Code:
uname -r
Fedora isn't going to allocate that much RAM for tmpfs from 55GB that it leaves just over 3GB. The value indicates the upper limit for 32-bit environment access as described by the OP Leslie. Also, from the 1.5GiB RAM some will be shared by your system's GPU.
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th July 2017, 12:48 PM
darkaeon54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Fedora not using full available RAM

uname -r
--returns--
4.11.9-300.fc26.x86_64


I'm not worried about losing 3 or 4 GB to some OS feature, but right now I'm losing over 90%, so it's a much bigger deal. More recently I tried installing rEFInd bootloader and when I boot from that both my OSes see the full amount of RAM, but that bootloader causes me other issues that are unacceptable (on Windows my USB devices repeatedly unplug and plug in every half a second, and on Fedora my icons are glitched out, which makes me think it's unstable) so I don't want to go with that I'm thinking..

Here's some other specs about my hardware:
Motherboard: DX79SI
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 680
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th July 2017, 12:54 PM
ocratato Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,629
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora not using full available RAM

Considering that Windows finds all the memory unless its started through grub, and the size looks like the 32 bit limit, I would have a suspicion that somehow it is a 32 bit version of grub.
__________________
Has anyone seriously considered that it might be turtles all the way down?
That's very old fashioned thinking.
The current model is that it's holographic nested virtualities of turtles, all the way down.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th July 2017, 01:05 PM
darkaeon54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Fedora not using full available RAM

Hmm, I never thought about grub itself being 32/64. Is there a command that I can type into the terminal to check?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th July 2017, 04:07 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,070
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora not using full available RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkaeon54 View Post
Hmm, I never thought about grub itself being 32/64. Is there a command that I can type into the terminal to check?
Code:
dnf list | grep grub2*
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th July 2017, 02:26 AM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 68
Posts: 3,009
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora not using full available RAM

Or, you can do it the easy way:

Code:
dnf list installed grub*
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, ram

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 21 - where's the full install??? KirkD Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 15th December 2014 12:17 AM
Full RootFS / Full HD Partition Azureaus Using Fedora 5 7th October 2012 12:41 AM
Full JAVA on Fedora 9 64-bit. lewa nua Using Fedora 12 2nd June 2008 01:46 PM
when will Fedora 8 will come out full ? $Linux Fedora Focus 35 10th October 2007 03:22 AM
I Have The FULL Fedora Now! No Windows paid2shop Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 22nd December 2006 02:30 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:20 (Wednesday, 20-09-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat