Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th October 2017, 06:17 PM
lpoulsen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA (USA)
Posts: 2
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Sonos fails to mount Samba share /music

I have a largish Sonos system at my house. For the last 1-2 months Sonos won't mount my music library, which lives on my Fedora server. After much searching I think this must be an incompatibility of SMB protocol versions.

I have learned (just yesterday) that Sonos ONLY implements SMB1 (a.k.a. LANMAN1) version of SMB. Following the WannaCry attack, the Linux community appears to have moved aggressively to curtail the use of SMB1.

I am running F26 with samba-4.6.8-0-fc26. I suspect that a recent system upgrade has turned SMB1 off by default (essentially compiling in "server min protocol = SMB2").

Is this correct?

If so, how can I turn SMB1 back on? I have tried without success to put an explicit "server min protocol = SMB1" or "server min protocol = LANMAN1" in /etc/samba/smb.conf, but nothing changes.

I hate to have to buy a separate NAS to host this one share; especially because I live behind a NAT firewall with port 445 forwarded to the Fedora system; this would leave me unable to connect to the music library when I am off-site..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th October 2017, 06:35 PM
kldixon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 687
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Sonos fails to mount Samba share /music

https://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=315709
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/0...4_13_released/
http://lkml.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/k...9.0/01021.html
Code:
$ man mount.cifs
$ man fstab

Last edited by kldixon; 10th October 2017 at 06:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th October 2017, 12:36 AM
lpoulsen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA (USA)
Posts: 2
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: Sonos fails to mount Samba share /music

1) The share is hosted on my Linux server.
2) It can be mounted by every other system I have, using the same credentials
3) The system that fails to mount it is my house's sound system, built by SONOS
(see http://www.sonos.com/). This is an embedded system; it may run Linux
under the hood, but if so, no Linux user interface is exposed.

So the Linux commands suggested by kldixon do not help me.

However, I found out that the fix consists of adding the following line to /etc/samba/smb.conf
(in the [global] section):
ntlm auth = yes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fails , mount , or music , samba , share , smb1 , sonos

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Can't mount Samba share onto M$ MrVideo Using Fedora 4 12th June 2017 07:56 AM
autofs on foreign host fails to mount F16 NFS share KevinDrums Servers & Networking 3 14th April 2012 09:52 AM
can't mount my samba share grocanar Using Fedora 15 1st July 2008 03:28 PM
Need to mount samba share eXDee Servers & Networking 7 16th October 2006 05:22 AM
Mount Mac OSX Samba share pulse00 Servers & Networking 0 15th October 2006 10:45 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:13 (Wednesday, 18-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat