FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

FC5: Mouse detected but not visible after logon

Dear Fedora Community:

I have freshly installed FC5 this AM and everthing went well except for my mouse not being visible after logging on. The mouse cursor is visible during the initial boot phase. I managed to maneuvre around the screen ok, as the screen reacts to mouse-overs (thanks!), and even selecting a different mouse cursor doesn't help.

xorg.conf lists the mouse ok, and it obviously is working but is invisible!!

This is my first time using Fedora while I have some experience with Ubuntu (gnome 2.14) and SuSE (KDE 3.5.1) environments, and have never had a problem like this.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have a usb mouse or a ps/2 mouse? When you tried another mouse was it of a different kind?
    "Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's complicated

I have an MS USB optical mouse connected to a KVM switch via PS/2 port adapter.

My computers (windows and Linux) see the mouse as a PS/2, as does Fedora; see below.

Here is a section of xorg.conf:

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "ViewSonic A70"
    DisplaySize 320 240
    ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
    HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 180.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nv"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge"