FC5, mount.cifs, Windows 2003 server
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    FC5, mount.cifs, Windows 2003 server

    Anybody else having problems with reading files from a Windows 2003 server share using FC5 and mount.cifs

    I mounted my share with the following syntax;
    mount.cifs //server/share /mntpoint -username=domain_admin_account

    Once I get mounted, I can verify the mount with mount,
    //server/share on /mountpoint type cifs (rw,mand)

    I can navigate through the share and I can create new files. However, if I try to cat an existing text file, I get;
    cat file2.txt
    cat: file2.txt: Permission denied

    It's as if being connected via root is somehow preventing me from reading files that were already there. I can open a new file in VI and save it, but I cannot cat out the contents from the FC5 box. (but I can from my FC4 box)

    I didn't have this problem with FC4.

    Can somebody explain to me what happened in FC5? Guess I will go man mount.cifs for the time being.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've also confirmed that this problem seems to only happen with a mount.cifs to a Windows 2003 Server. My 2003 server is running Service pack 1. My drives are also set as Dynamic and are formatted NTFS.

    I was able to mount.cifs to a Windows XP Pro box running Service Pack 2 and it's working just fine.

    Who can help me out on this?
    Last edited by pparks1; 21st March 2006 at 03:13 AM.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  3. #3
    jhetrick62 Guest
    I read man mount.cifs myself. I was only trying to mount my FC3 box, but no longer could use the old -t smbfs, so I had to read.

    My problem isn't the same as yours, but there was a blurb near the bottom of the man page about that you could only root could mount unless you had the option setuid in. I put it in my fstab, but still can only mount as root? Strange.

    I don't have a Win 2003 server, but I have a win2k workstation. I can look at it tomorrow to see if the same applies.

    Goodluck,
    Jeff

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I cannot seem to duplicate this problem at work, so it must be something wrong with my box itself.

    I'm going to just format and reinstall the FC5 box and try again. I don't suspect the problem is with the 2003 server since it works with every other machine on the network with the exception of this FC5 machine.

    If anybody knows if a BASIC versus a DYNAMIC disk (in Server 2003) could cause this, please let me know via this thread.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I formatted the FC5 box at home and tried again and same problem

    I'm seriously confused at this point on this. It's gotta be something simple, but it's got me currently at a loss.
    Last edited by pparks1; 24th March 2006 at 04:56 AM.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  6. #6
    jhetrick62 Guest
    pparks1, I did attempt this tonight when I saw your post again. Now I mounted a Win2K pro box as I don't have Win 2003 server here. I used this mount command: mount -t cifs -o rw,user=jhetrick //192.168.0.62/my_docs /mnt/evo

    It mounted just fine. I went into the mountpoint directory and dropped a file in made with gedit. I then attempted to cat the file and had no problem. Now this was a file that originated on my FC5 box, but I didn't have any straight text files on this mount so I had to add.

    I don't know if that helps you, but I guess it does sort of confirm that it may be a Windows 2003 bug?

    Goodluck,
    Jeff

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I can mount my windows XP Pro box just fine as well with the FC5 box. Also, put up a Windows 2003 server in VMWare as a quick test and could connect to that one just fine. It is something in particular with my 2003 server (running as an AD Domain controller) which is causing this problem.

    The obvious stuff has all checked out fine. I'm using a domain_admin account, I have permissions to the share, it works from the FC4 machine and from my WinXP Pro boxes on my home network too.

    I'm gonna put up FC5 under VMWare in a few moments and see if problem happens there too.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I set up FC5 in a vmware session and can duplicate the exact same problem. Darnnnnn.

    Well, gonna give up on this tonight, it's just frustrating cuz this server works fine for all other machines and all other linux machines too. Guess I can wait for update to samba package or kernel to help me out.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So, I went into XWindows and brought up Konquerer.

    I typed in smb://server/share, it prompted me for username and password.

    Through here, I can see everything, modify everything, etc.

    However, still cannot do it from command line with mount.cifs.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I figured out a major piece of the puzzle. I've been able to duplicate the problem at work now.

    The windows 2003 server is a domain controller for an AD domain. When the 2003 server is just a member server of the domain, I don't have this problem.

    I don't know the fix yet, but at least i know how to duplicate the problem and I know that it's nothing specifically wrong with 1 particular server.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is the output from /proc/fs/cifs/DebugData

    1) Name: 10.1.1.1 Domain: IAMREBOOT Mounts: 1 OS: Windows Server 2003 3790 Service Pack 1
    NOS: Windows Server 2003 5.2 Capability: 0x1f3fd
    SMB session status: 1 TCP status: 1
    Local Users To Server: 1 SecMode: 0xf Req On Wire: 0
    MIDs:

    Shares:
    1) \\test2003\c$ Uses: 1 Type: NTFS DevInfo: 0x20 Attributes: 0x700ff
    PathComponentMax: 255 Status: 1 type: DISK
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I reported a bugzilla entry for this.

    https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=186628
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have confirmed this to still be a problem with kernel 2.6.16-1.2080_FC5.

    I really wish somebody would post something based on my bugzilla report, but so far silence.
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Westland, Michigan
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It seems that others on this forum are starting to run into this same bug,

    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=101806
    RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
    Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

    My Linux box is:
    Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

  15. #15
    celston Guest
    I'm having issues slightly different but perhaps in the same vein. When I mount to our Windows 2k3, my bash ls colors are all screwed up. No biggie, but perhaps an indication of a problem. All files, regardless of type are black on orange and all directories are blue on green. The bigger issue is when I vim a file, when I go to save I always receive the error "WARNING: The file has been changed since reading it!!!". I'm assuming this is some how due to mis-matching modification dates or something similar. The problem seems to occur regardless of how I mount the share but one of instance has been:

    [root@chris-linux celston]# /sbin/mount.cifs //iis\\inetpub /smb/iis/ --verbose -o username=celston,password=xxxxxxxx,uid=celston,gid =celston
    parsing options: username=celston,password=chris53e,uid=celston,gid =celston

    mount.cifs kernel mount options unc=//iis\inetpub,ip=192.168.1.208,ver=1,username=celsto n,password=chris53e,uid=500,gid=500

    I saw someone posted their /proc/fs/cifs/DebugData. Here's what I've got:

    Display Internal CIFS Data Structures for Debugging
    ---------------------------------------------------
    CIFS Version 1.40
    Active VFS Requests: 0
    Servers:
    1) Name: 192.168.1.208 Domain: DSG Mounts: 1 OS: Windows Server 2003 3790 Service Pack 1
    NOS: Windows Server 2003 5.2 Capability: 0x1f3fd
    SMB session status: 1 TCP status: 1
    Local Users To Server: 1 SecMode: 0x3 Req On Wire: 0
    MIDs:

    2) Name: 192.168.1.202 Domain: DSG Mounts: 2 OS: Unix
    NOS: Samba 3.0.14a-2 Capability: 0x80e3fd
    SMB session status: 1 TCP status: 1
    Local Users To Server: 1 SecMode: 0x3 Req On Wire: 0
    MIDs:

    Shares:
    1) \\iis\inetpub Uses: 1 Type: NTFS DevInfo: 0x20 Attributes: 0x700ff
    PathComponentMax: 255 Status: 1 type: DISK
    2) \\apache.source9.com\default_www Uses: 1 Type: NTFS DevInfo: 0x0 Attributes: 0x2b
    PathComponentMax: 255 Status: 1 type: 0
    3) \\apache.source9.com\www Uses: 1 Type: NTFS DevInfo: 0x0 Attributes: 0x2b
    PathComponentMax: 255 Status: 1 type: 0

    You see that I have some Linux (Fedora 4) Samba shares that are working fine. Different, but fine. Is this related to the bugs everyone else is having? I was having no problems with Samba but Fedora 5 removed it out-right.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to view data from windows 2003 mount drive.
    By SuhasRM in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th July 2008, 02:54 PM
  2. trying to mount Windows share with mount -t cifs
    By worldttle in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th March 2007, 05:22 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th December 2006, 06:48 PM
  4. VM und Windows 2003 Server ???
    By deepc in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th June 2005, 11:20 AM
  5. Windows Server 2003
    By awakefie in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th May 2004, 11:19 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •