FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 49
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    45 57' 9.43" N 86 14' 39.55" W
    Posts
    729

    Your oldest piece of hardware

    Like a good many other geeks I put together my own computers. Over the years, and after several reiterations my machine has become a real frankenstein. Bits from here, bits from there, bits from everywhere! In it's current form the oldest component of my computer is the keyboard. It's one of those big heavy IBM jobs that was made in 1994. So fellow geeks what's the oldest component of your computer?
    Obscurum per obscurius
    -the obscure (explained) by the more obscure.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
    Age
    59
    Posts
    4,137
    I have a Seagate 8 gig harddrive that I rescued from one of the compurters at work which is probaly 5-10 years old...it is the HD that I installed FC1 on....I still have all the computers I ever owned...3 and all still run....
    **********************************************
    sailor
    San Antonio, Texas

    "Still hanging in there "
    **********************************************

  3. #3
    PeTzZz is offline Retired Community Manager
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tartu
    Posts
    1,550
    I have one working 3" floppy drive in the cupboard that has a sticker with numbers 02.01.91. Is it possible that it means date? I bought it some time ago to put it into my sister's computer where the floppy drive is broken. It really looks very old.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    374
    I got a old 1 gig i got from a friend. They stopped making things smaller than that in like 96-97, so its at least that old. I cant remember what the QC date is, and im too lazy to unscrew it to look. Thats gotta be the oldest though, since i completely revamped the system in like sept.
    Registered Linux User #371104

    Become a Registered Linux User Here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,909
    I have a Gateway 2000 tower manufactured 9/3/93. It has a 83 MHz processor, a 400 MB and a 2.5 GB harddrive, a couple CD-ROM drives, a loud 250 MB tape drive, a 10 Mbs ISA network card, and the original keyboard. Just about every component has been upgraded. This system cost my family thousands of dollars (US) in its day.

    It still runs. It ran Windows 95 for a long while and then 98 barely. Then I tried Redhat. It has run a webserver for more than a year now on 7.3. It has the longest uptime of any of our computers. 86 days is my personal record to beat.

    I should get around to upgrading to Fedora one of these days.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    374
    That reminds me, my dad has an ancient 30 mhz laptop that was used by the city for the surveying team i think. A whopping 500 meg hard drive, a touch screen (the pen broke so we have to use a mouse now) and it takes about 3 minutes to load 3.1. Ahh, those were the days. Oh yeah, the original clock battery died, so the default date is august 23, 1991. Its gonna be an antique someday, and the only thing i ever use it for is to play solitare on long car rides.
    Registered Linux User #371104

    Become a Registered Linux User Here

  7. #7
    Ug's Avatar
    Ug is offline Retired Community Manager
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,999
    *would like to place an objection to the term "fellow geeks" - I am not a geek*

    Anyway, the oldest piece of hardware I have must be this CPU, a 450 from 1997. Mind you we've got an Amiga 600 still kicking around somewhere...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    27
    I have 2x 250mb (yes MB) hard drives and 1x 120mb (yes MB) hard drive on the shelf..

    Warranty expired way back in 1992 on them..

    All 3 are in full working order, no bad sectors or anything..

    i686
    Fedora Core 3
    Pentium III CPU 700MHz Bogomips: 1388.54
    320MB PC100 RAM
    40GIG Seagate HDD
    GeForce 4 MX 440 64MB DDR Video

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
    Age
    59
    Posts
    4,137
    Ok, if not geeks then nerds...heheheh
    I did have a Radio Shack/Tandy Mark IV...two 5 1/4 floppys and a whoopping 240,000 kb of memory
    no hard drive...ran the OS off one disk ...and used other disk for programs...It worked fine...but I could not find software...I tried ordering it through Radio Shack..but they never could get anything although it was listed in the catalog...I don't know where it ended up...someone is probably using it for a doorstop...I think my ex-wife has it...
    Last edited by sailor; 28th March 2004 at 11:41 PM.
    **********************************************
    sailor
    San Antonio, Texas

    "Still hanging in there "
    **********************************************

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Downriver Detroit
    Age
    36
    Posts
    19
    I have a Gateway 2000 with a 25MHz 386. I fire it up once and a while. It runs Windows 3.0 like a dream. I'll even play a little Kings Quest or Wolfenstien 3d once and awhile. A long while.
    I also have one of those Macs with the 8inch b&w screens in a closet somewhere.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    60
    I have an old 286/16mhz tower with 4mb of ram
    mfm full size MFM 80mb hd, 1.2 mb floppy and a 360k floppy. This unit was once a server for a company. It now runs DOS 5.0 and a lot of old DOS games. I don't think I could get a useable version of linux to run on it.
    I upgraded the video card to an isa vga, so some of the games would run. The original was a hercules.
    Last edited by ezeze5000; 16th April 2004 at 03:31 AM.

  12. #12
    GallComp's Avatar
    GallComp is offline Nuke 'em Alfred! Administrator - Starring in Bill & Steve's Bogus Journey
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,476
    I have a 20 MB hard drive that I bought somewhere in the late 80's... That darn thing still working... I have it in a shelf but sometimes I jsut hook it up to see if it still runs...

    Yeah I'm a geek...

    "Since when has the world of computer software design been about what people want? This is a simple question of evolution. The day is quickly coming when every knee will bow down to a silicon fist, and you will all beg your binary gods for mercy. "


    BILL GATES...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Age
    46
    Posts
    22
    As a hand-me-down I recently received a 486 processor computer with 16MB RAM that I believe had a 584MB hard drive. Got rid of most of that computer, but the hard drive is in one of my extra computers as a slave. It was running Win 95 first edition.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Portugal, Europe
    Age
    47
    Posts
    519
    I still have an old Spectrum, by Sinclair. Does anybody here remember the ZX Spectrum, with 48 KB ram? Now, that was computing!
    "I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
    -- Vance Petree, Virginia Power

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    7,909
    We did have a 286 around for a while before we junked it. 20 MB hard drive and less than a meg of memory. Dual floppy drives, both old style and modern 3 1/2 inch. No idea when it was built.

    For those feeling nostalgic, dosbox is a DOS emulator. Ironically it requires a fast machine to emulate a slow game, but at least you don't have to dual boot.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th January 2007, 11:18 AM
  2. Revealed: world's oldest computer
    By Seve in forum Wibble
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th August 2006, 05:11 AM
  3. How can I disable a given piece of hardware?
    By Shadow Skill in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd November 2004, 08:09 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th October 2004, 01:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •