FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    135

    Using Wildcards with Yum - Can Ya? Can I?

    Is it possible to use wildcards with yum...?? If so is it a bad idea??
    My love is in league with the fireeway...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    758
    Quote Originally Posted by chris_y2k_r1
    Is it possible to use wildcards with yum...??
    Yes. Can you be more specific?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    ark n saw out in the sticks
    Posts
    2,316
    Sure--try it
    yum list lib*
    but if you have a stable working system and want to keep it just as it is--you see the effect of this command?
    like maybe your system doesn't like smp kernels for some reason--this could be "not so good"
    If using an install--you could get a little more then wanted--using a remove could be worse.
    But using it as a localinstall in a directory full of just downloaded stuff could work well--same for rpm commands.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    38
    yeah I would definately be careful using wildcards...I seriously screwed up my system using them
    Last edited by Lt_Anton; 12th March 2006 at 04:23 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    2,850
    yum update kde* will update everything kde (if available), but if you want to update oh, lets say xine,
    xine-libs, xine-skins etc, if you do yum update xine* you could also get xinet updated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    135
    OK - Thanks guys! That's what I wanted to know, ofcourse, the usual percaution(s) should be taken when using them. I would think it's safe to say that using wildcards with yum update is not the best idea for obvious reasons.
    My love is in league with the fireeway...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Fragrant Harbour
    Posts
    1,353
    Yes you can. In fact, that's the only way I got gambas working ("yum install gambas*")

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    2,850
    Same here for kde-3.5.1 update on fc3. For some reason the groupupdate command wouldn't work with
    the kde-redhat repos (or I had many many typos 'cuz I tried many times) so update kde* did the trick.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    135
    Cool! Good to know. Sometimes being as specific as it is required by the command line interpreter/parser is a super PIA!
    My love is in league with the fireeway...

Similar Threads

  1. Using wildcards for subdomains in /etc/hosts?
    By dirkwu in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th May 2008, 09:12 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th March 2008, 03:05 AM
  3. cp command with wildcards
    By pshepherd in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd January 2007, 10:23 AM
  4. mv and wildcards: cannot move `A' to a subdirectory of itself
    By brianafischer in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th March 2006, 07:14 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th September 2005, 05:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •