FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tirol / Austria / Europe
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27

    Fedora doesn't boot after cloning it to new Harddisk

    Hi!

    After cloning my fedora installation (on S-ATA) to a new S-ATA Harddisk the system
    doesn't boot anymore.

    I did the following:

    - installed the new disk
    - booted into rescue mode
    - created lvm and partitions on the new disk
    - copied root and boot partition with "cp -av" to the new disk
    - edited fstab and grub.conf on the new disk to match the new VolumeGroup and Logical Volume names.
    - reinstalled grub to the new disk with grub-install /dev/sda

    When i try to boot now, i get the following errors while LVM initialization:

    Code:
    Scanning logical volumes
       Reading all physical volumes. This may take a while...
    cdrom: open failed.
      Found Volume Group "VolGrp0" using metadata type lvm2
    Activating Logical Volumes
    cdrom: open failed.
       Unable to find Volume Group "VolGroup00"
    ERROR: /bin/lvm exited abnormally with value 5 ! (pid 381)
    Creating root device
    Mounting root file system
    mount: error 6 mounting ext3
    Switching to new root
    --> kernel panic

    "VolGroup00" was the old name of the Volume Group, "VolGrp0" is the new name.

    What can i do to get the system up and running?

    Thanks for your help in advance!!!!


    Chris

  2. #2
    LLS Guest
    Can you install both hdds as "orig"master/"new"slave and create a backup disk with this cmd as root?
    dd if=/dev/hda1 of=/dev/hdb1 bs=1024k
    Then you should be able to set the backup hdd to master and have a "Clone" of the original. If they are different size disks, just do as you did at first and format the new disk to the same size or configuration as the original, do the backup and then config the unused portion after your up and running. This has worked before for me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tirol / Austria / Europe
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by LLS
    Can you install both hdds as "orig"master/"new"slave and create a backup disk with this cmd as root?
    dd if=/dev/hda1 of=/dev/hdb1 bs=1024k
    Then you should be able to set the backup hdd to master and have a "Clone" of the original. If they are different size disks, just do as you did at first and format the new disk to the same size or configuration as the original, do the backup and then config the unused portion after your up and running. This has worked before for me.
    Hi!

    I am afraid, that won't work because the target (new) disk is 40 GB and the
    old disk was 160 GB (although only about 4 GB were used...)

    Also i am in need to use a differnt VolumeGroup Name, because of copying from
    one disk to the other.

    kind regards,
    christian

  4. #4
    LLS Guest
    Scanning logical volumes
    Reading all physical volumes. This may take a while...
    cdrom: open failed.
    Found Volume Group "VolGrp0" using metadata type lvm2
    Activating Logical Volumes
    cdrom: open failed.
    Unable to find Volume Group "VolGroup00"
    ERROR: /bin/lvm exited abnormally with value 5 ! (pid 381)
    Creating root device
    Mounting root file system
    mount: error 6 mounting ext3
    Switching to new root
    --> kernel panic
    I just read through this again and it looks like you have the bios set to boot off the cdrom, if the new hdd is not in the list of boot options? I have done this before myself Please post your solution when you discover it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tirol / Austria / Europe
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27
    Hi!

    I've just tried to disable all other boot devices than the new harddrive, but
    this didn't help.

    I get the same error.

    Kind Regards,
    christian

  6. #6
    LLS Guest
    Sometimes you will get more replies if you post your files "grub.conf file, fstab, fdisk results" and any others that apply to your situation. Also try the great tutorals listed below in similer threads and good luck!
    gonzalo76

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tirol / Austria / Europe
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27
    Hi!

    I will post my config files tomorrow, at this time i have no access to the system with the problem.
    The really good HOWTO of gonzalo76 can not help me, because i have a LVM Problem and not a GRUB Problem i think.

    Kind Regards,
    christian

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    44
    Posts
    217
    Do you have the same file system type on the new partition?

    I think this might be a borked initrd.

    Try the following

    Boot with a rescue cd, mount the partition, chroot to it and create a new initrd.


    There are two ways of creating a mkinitrd, manually or by reinstalling the kernel rpm.


    In both cases you must make sure that the filesystem type for / is correct in /etc/fstab.

    The manual method...

    cd into /boot and you should see something like initrd-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.img, rename that with a .old extension or something. Find the kernel you want, this should be called something like vmlinuz-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.

    Now do (this is going from memory!):

    Code:
    mkinitrd initrd-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.img 2.6.14-1.1637_FC4
    The important thing is to make sure that the kernal versions match (2.6.14-1.1637_FC4 in the above case).

    You should have a file called initrd-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.img in /boot.

    Reboot.

    Alternatively, you could download the kernel RPM from FC4 updates and install that with rpm -Uvh --force [kernel rpm] . This will create the initrd as part of the installation process. Although I seem to remember this not working from a chroot for some reason, so I had to manually create one to boot the system and then reinstalled the kernel rpm for consistency.
    Last edited by simonn; 25th November 2005 at 12:14 AM.
    "Your attitude reminds me of a hairdresser who wonders why anybody took Einstein seriously with a haircut like that."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tirol / Austria / Europe
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27
    Hi simonn!

    First of all:
    Your tipp solved my issue.
    Thanks a lot!!!


    Quote Originally Posted by simonn
    Do you have the same file system type on the new partition?
    No, ext3fs before and now.


    Quote Originally Posted by simonn
    I think this might be a borked initrd.

    Try the following

    Boot with a rescue cd, mount the partition, chroot to it and create a new initrd.


    There are two ways of creating a mkinitrd, manually or by reinstalling the kernel rpm.


    In both cases you must make sure that the filesystem type for / is correct in /etc/fstab.

    The manual method...

    cd into /boot and you should see something like initrd-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.img, rename that with a .old extension or something. Find the kernel you want, this should be called something like vmlinuz-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.

    Now do (this is going from memory!):

    Code:
    mkinitrd initrd-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.img 2.6.14-1.1637_FC4
    The important thing is to make sure that the kernal versions match (2.6.14-1.1637_FC4 in the above case).

    You should have a file called initrd-2.6.14-1.1637_FC4.img in /boot.

    Reboot.

    Alternatively, you could download the kernel RPM from FC4 updates and install that with rpm -Uvh --force [kernel rpm] . This will create the initrd as part of the installation process. Although I seem to remember this not working from a chroot for some reason, so I had to manually create one to boot the system and then reinstalled the kernel rpm for consistency.
    The manual "mkinitrd" method worked quite perfect!

    Thanks a Lot!!!

    chris

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th October 2008, 09:26 AM
  2. Cloning and Migrating F9 partitions to new hardware - boot failure
    By fashionhat in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 05:21 PM
  3. Cloning a Boot Drive
    By Xavior in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th January 2008, 09:22 PM
  4. Cloning Dual boot Windows and Fedora7
    By mailramk in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th November 2007, 06:30 PM
  5. Software for cloning a harddisk
    By dihfg in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd August 2007, 09:10 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •