GRUB hates me :S
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    basttrax Guest

    GRUB hates me :S

    Hey everyone,

    Last night I installed Fedora 4 for the first time! So happy
    The setup seemed to go well, everything installed and all. The only problem I have is with GRUB.

    I'll tell you how it's setup,
    2 WD hardrives, hda and hdb.
    On HDA is Windows XP
    On HDB is Fedora 4

    During the setup I left the boot options alone, I've never had problems with Debian and Ubuntu.
    When the computer goes to reboot it automaticaly goes to Windows without Grub coming up.
    I tried going into the Linux Rescue.. and typing Grub-Install /dev/hda etc.
    It just gives me an error about the bios.

    Thanks, cant wait to see some ideas.
    Basttrax

  2. #2
    Marius Guest

    Wink

    You can simply do the upgrade, it's little ruff but worked for me

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma USA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    312

    How strange

    I have recently had an experience very similar to yours, only mine happened on a dual-boot system that had been workin gwell for several months.

    I went to install a new kernel module and reboot, and found that all I got was the word GRUB with a flashing cursor where I should have gotten a Grub boot menu.

    Since I had been putting off a fresh install for many months (this is kind of my sandbox) I decided to do it all at once and simply reinstall the OS. On successful (fresh) install, I still had the same GRUB message I had before, but no boot.

    Thinking that I may have a corrupted bBoot Record, I used 'ranish partition manager' to fill the Master Boot Record with zeros to give me fresh grounds to put in GRUB. Now all I can get is the M$ Windoze boot no matter what I do!!

    Both HDDs in my system are WD. HDA is a 120 Gig and HDB is a 160 GIG. All Linux lives on HDB.

    Anybody else having this issue? What can I do to boot into my Linux Load??

  4. #4
    basttrax Guest
    It's nice to know I'm not the only one.
    I've tried doing the upgrade and change the Bootloader every which way with no luck..

  5. #5
    basttrax Guest
    I think maybe there's something wrong with my partitions, or something along those lines.
    Is there any way I can take a screenshot or something for you guys to look at?

    I Found some info,,, any problems?


    General System Information:
    Total Physical Memory (bytes): 1,073,201,152
    Used Physical Memory: (bytes): 324,128,768
    Maximum Page File Size: (bytes): 2,581,553,152
    Current Page File Size: (bytes): 229,543,936



    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Disk Geometry Information for Disk 1: 9729 Cylinders, 255 Heads, 63 Sectors/Track
    System PartSect # Boot BCyl Head Sect FS ECyl Head Sect StartSect NumSects
    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    0 0 80 0 1 1 07 1023 254 63 63 156,280,257
    Info: End C,H,S values were large drive placeholders.
    Actual values are:
    0 0 80 0 1 1 07 9727 254 63 63 156280257

    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Disk Geometry Information for Disk 2: 9729 Cylinders, 255 Heads, 63 Sectors/Track
    System PartSect # Boot BCyl Head Sect FS ECyl Head Sect StartSect NumSects
    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    0 0 80 0 1 1 83 12 254 63 63 208,782
    0 1 00 13 0 1 8E 1023 254 63 208,845 156,087,540
    Info: End C,H,S values were large drive placeholders.
    Actual values are:
    0 1 00 13 0 1 8E 9728 254 63 208845 156087540



    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Partition Information for Disk 1: 76,316.6 Megabytes
    Volume PartType Status Size MB PartSect # StartSect TotalSects
    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    C: NTFS Pri,Boot 76,308.7 0 0 63 156,280,257
    Unallocated Pri 7.8 None -- 156,280,320 16,065


    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Partition Information for Disk 2: 76,316.6 Megabytes
    Volume PartType Status Size MB PartSect # StartSect TotalSects
    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Linux Ext3 Pri,Boot 101.9 0 0 63 208,782
    D: Type 8E Pri 76,214.6 0 1 208,845 156,087,540


    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Boot Record for drive C: (Drive: 1, Starting sector: 63, Type: NTFS)
    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    1. Jump: EB 52 90
    2. OEM Name: NTFS
    3. Bytes per Sector: 512
    4. Sectors per Cluster: 8
    5. Reserved Sectors: 0
    6. Number of FATs: 0
    7. Root Dir Entries: 0
    8. Total Sectors: 0
    9. Media Descriptor: 0xF8
    10. Sectors per FAT: 0
    11. Sectors per Track: 63 (0x3F)
    12. Number of Heads: 255 (0xFF)
    13. Hidden Sectors: 63 (0x3F)
    14. Total Sectors (>32MB): 0 (0x0)
    15. Unused: 0x80008000
    16. Total NTFS Sectors: 156280256
    17. MFT Start Cluster: 786432
    18. MFT Mirror Start Clust: 9767516
    19. Clusters per FRS: 246
    20. Clusters per Index Blk: 1
    21. Serial Number: 0xD8C0A4B3C0A498F0
    22. Checksum: 0 (0x0)
    23. Boot Signature: 0xAA55

    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Boot Record for drive *: (Drive: 2, Starting sector: 63, Type: Ext3)
    ================================================== ================================================== =======
    Ext3 file system super block:
    1. Inodes count: 26104
    2. Blocks count: 104388
    3. Reserved blocks count: 5219
    4. Free blocks count: 91137
    5. First data block: 1
    6. Logical block size: 0
    7. Logical fragment size: 0
    8. Blocks/group: 8192
    9. Fragments/group: 8192
    10. Inodes/group: 2008
    11. Mount time: 0x436A637B
    12. Last write time: 0x436AAC68
    13. Mount count: 1
    14. Max. mount count: -1
    15. Magic number: EF53
    16. State: 0x0001
    17. Error behavior: 0x0001
    18. Minor revision level: 0
    19. Last check time: 0x436A637A
    20. Max. time bet. checks: 0
    21. Creator oper. system: 0
    22. Major revision level: 1
    23. Reserved block def. UID:0x0000
    24. Reserved block def. GID:0x0000
    Last edited by basttrax; 4th November 2005 at 04:17 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma USA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    312
    Quote Originally Posted by basttrax
    I think maybe there's something wrong with my partitions, or something along those lines.
    Is there any way I can take a screenshot or something for you guys to look at?

    I Found some info,,, any problems?
    I'm not sure what you saw in there that made you think there was a problem with a partition. I have to admit that I am not a disk GURU, but it looks pretty much like you have one disk that is pure M$ and another that is pure Ext3. What little I know tells me that this should be a good thing for you.

    I still want to know why my system went from working fine in it's current setup to suddenly not wanting to boot anything but M$. The only reason I have chimed in on your post is because we seem to be experinecing pretty much the same thing from two different angles.

    I kind of expect that what solves your problem will solve mine as well.

    Now if we could only get some other input on this....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CE(S)T
    Posts
    3,242
    Well, you haven't given Marius a chance to prove he's right, have you ? Basically, he's saying that -now that the windoze boot loader sits in your IDE primary channel's MBR- why not try an upgrade of FC4 ? That way, you won't install anything new, you'll just go through the basic configuration. When it comes to ask where you want grub to be installed, specify the MBR of your windoze disk. It should put two entries in there, one pointing to the windoze loader on the same disk, the other to the loader on the other disk, that is FC4.
    Asus K55VD, i5 3230M - Productivity/Programming (F28)
    Asus M32CD - i7-6700, Asus STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD, 1x8 GB Sk Hynix 2133 MHz DDR4 - Gaming (W10)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    288

  9. #9
    basttrax Guest
    I tried putting the boot loader on both disks, same silly nothing result.
    But I did end up doing something that worked. I decided I no-longer need M$ windows. So I killed it! (ahaha) and installed Fedora as my main and only OS.
    Not to say everythings worked out fine, but it's moving along and I'm happy about my decision.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CE(S)T
    Posts
    3,242
    One of many...
    Asus K55VD, i5 3230M - Productivity/Programming (F28)
    Asus M32CD - i7-6700, Asus STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD, 1x8 GB Sk Hynix 2133 MHz DDR4 - Gaming (W10)

Similar Threads

  1. KDE hates my partitions!
    By tomman in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th December 2007, 04:48 AM
  2. Help! Grub Hates Me!
    By paul_dundee in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th March 2005, 02:35 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •