FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    76

    crash logs ?

    My fc3 box stopped responding.
    Just quit while i was working
    now it wont boot to gnome
    it gets thru interactive startup then to a flipping hourglass and stays there
    last nite i did a yum update, the first update since i installed fc3
    i rebooted this morning after the yum update and it seemed ok
    however the term window yum was running in was frozen..no prompt or response
    I can hit alt-f3 and get a term window
    where would the logs containing any hints be.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Abq, NM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,158
    try looking through the end of /var/log/Xorg.0.log or even /var/log/messages. runing dmesg might also give you some indication as to whats going on. if you run across something in them that seems odd let me know and i will do what i can to decipher it.
    I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    76

    not much in those logs bytesniper

    dmesg has alot of lines like this
    Inbound IN=eth0 OUT= MAC=00:and so on...SRC=66.63.206.205 DST=my IP address LEN=48 TOS=0x00 blah blah blah

    the xorg log didnt have anything i thought was wierd but i dont know everything.
    same for messages
    thanks for help I will be here awhile it seems now

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Abq, NM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,158
    if you log in as a different user all together does it still do the same thing?
    I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    76
    well it never gets to a gnome login screen.
    ive been sitting here reading snort logs. they are LONG
    snort log quits about the same time the computer started acting up
    last entry in the log talk about "icmp ping cyberkit 2.2 windows [**] [classification: misc activity] [priority 3]{icmp} 71.102.161.216 -> my ip address

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    76
    apache is running as well as lan services
    ive read most of the logs in /var/log and didnt see much other then lots of acces/hack attempts as well as some worm propagation attempts but it ?doesnt? look like they succeeded.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Abq, NM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,158
    i get a ton of those in my apache logs. they will say somehting like default.idaXXXXXXX.. etc.. thats code red 2. nothing to worry about... it can only effect unpatched IIS servers.

    last entry in the log talk about "icmp ping cyberkit 2.2 windows [**] [classification: misc activity] [priority 3]{icmp} 71.102.161.216 -> my ip address
    ICMP is an echo request commonly known as ping. someone is port scanning you. get used it, it happens a lot. cyberkit appears to be the app that doing the port scanning(?) but ive never heard of that. looks like a windows script kiddy.
    I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    76
    I never realised how busy the firewall was.
    so anyway, is there a log that might tell me why its hanging?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Abq, NM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,158
    i gave you the only log files i can think of that might contain what your looking for. only other thing i can suggest is booting to runlevel 3 and maybe disabling your network before going into X using ifdown eth0 assuming that your network is on eth0. if not ifconfig will tell you its device name. to start gnome from runlevel three type startx not init 5 becuase if it hangs you can just hit ctrl-alt-backspace and get back to where you were without having to reboot.
    I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    76
    thanks bytesniper, I'll keep reading & trying

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Abq, NM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,158
    sorry i couldnt give you 'the' answer man, but that a strange one.
    I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    76
    how about from xorg.conf......

    open apm failed (/dev/apm_bios) (no such file or directory)

    or

    "xf86allocateGARTMemory: allocation of 1024 pages failed
    cannot allocate memory

Similar Threads

  1. Convert Apache-logs to IIS-logs
    By locodude in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th November 2007, 06:55 PM
  2. Crash Boom Bang, impressive crash by Fedora 7
    By Adesso in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th July 2007, 11:04 AM
  3. weird crash: amarok crash jammed external hdd
    By newbie_fin in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th September 2006, 08:39 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th August 2005, 08:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •