LCD resolution how to change in laptop.
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,255

    LCD resolution how to change in desktop and laptop.

    This will help you set your laptop resolution after installation. Please make sure you know your video card model.

    I have a compaq 2103us that uses an ati video card of 64mb shared ram. I have always preferred to use this resolution 1024x768.

    First method is:
    1. After your fedora installation is completed you will reboot you pc as prompted. After setting the user's account you will be taken to the resolution prompt. In my case fedora does not give an specific driver to use for my lap top so I use the generic LCD display >1024x768 resolution, millions of color, and done my resolution is set.

    Second method is:
    2. If you skip the first option once you are able to log in open the terminal ( go to system tools >terminal ), and run:
    Code:
    system-config-display
    enter root's password and to the HARDWARE TAB >monitor >configure. The drivers are located at the very top of list.

    To change your icons resolution in gnome:
    Go to >preferences >more preferences >file management >views >icon view defaults >zoom level (mine is set to 75%).

    Same applies to desktop resolution. See screenshots and attached xorg.conf for more details.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lcd1.png 
Views:	1005 
Size:	171.5 KB 
ID:	4835   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lcd2.png 
Views:	893 
Size:	152.9 KB 
ID:	4836   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lcd3.png 
Views:	792 
Size:	151.2 KB 
ID:	4837   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lcd4.png 
Views:	876 
Size:	164.0 KB 
ID:	4838  
    Last edited by imdeemvp; 1st February 2006 at 04:26 AM.

  2. #2
    junkyard willie Guest
    Could you possibly post (or PM me) your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    34
    All,

    for your information, I initially had problem in trying to get 1400 * 1050 on a DELL 510m.
    After having googled a lot, I came to the conclusion I had to use a patch to get that resolution.

    I have installed the patch written by A. Poirier (855resolution that can be found here : http://perso.wanadoo.fr/apoirier/).
    I have also upgraded my BIOS (v 0.8) and now everything is working fine with Fedora Core 3.0

    Now it is working ok.
    Hope this would help people experiencing the same troubles.

    Vincent

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,255
    Thanks for extra info for those using a Dell laptop. Now here is my /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
    [imdeemvp@laptop ~]$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    # Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "single head configuration"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Synaptics" "AlwaysCore"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"

    # RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
    # file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
    # no need to change the default.
    # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
    # By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
    # the X server to render fonts.
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath "unix/:7100"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "fbdevhw"
    Load "glx"
    Load "record"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "type1"
    Load "synaptics"
    Load "dri"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
    # Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
    # To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
    # Option "XkbDisable"
    # To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
    # lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
    # keyboard, you will probably want to use:
    # Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
    # If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
    # Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
    #
    # Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
    # For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
    # Option "XkbLayout" "de"
    # or:
    # Option "XkbLayout" "de"
    # Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
    #
    # If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
    # control keys, use:
    # Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
    # Or if you just want both to be control, use:
    # Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
    #
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Synaptics"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "LCD Panel 1024x768"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
    VertRefresh 40.0 - 70.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "radeon"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "ATI Radeon Mobility U1"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection


    Section "DRI"
    Group 0
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    [imdeemvp@laptop ~]$

  5. #5
    r3dman1122 Guest
    Thanks a bunch for posting. New to this world and want to learn all I can.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Age
    50
    Posts
    8,255
    Quote Originally Posted by r3dman1122
    Thanks a bunch for posting. New to this world and want to learn all I can.
    Good to know that it works....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles area
    Posts
    887
    There are more oddball resolutions around these days to the system-config-display does
    not always do the trick. My display is 1280x854 and the system-config-display did not do
    the trick. Even adding "1280x854" would not work. In the end I had to add a ModeLine to
    the xorg.conf file. The setting I got from way back when I was running FC1. There was
    a tutorial on the net for tuning ModeLines but I can't find it. Also, the How-To should mention
    xvidtune. If I can find the article I will post. Attached are my notes from a few years ago.

    Code:
    Name    dot     hor     sys     sye     hore    vert    sys     sye     verte
    ----    ---     ---     ---     ---     ----    ----    ---     ---     -----
    
    1: set up the following
            name:   use name, like "1000x800"
            dot:    put monitor video bandwidth
            hor:    horizontal res (e.g., 1000)
            vert:   vertical res (e.g., 800)
    
    2: compute hore = hor/0.8, rounded down to number divisible by 8
    
    3: compute verte = vert*1.05, rounded down to number divisible by 8
    
    4: for sys,sye between hor,hore:
            sys=hor+32
            sye=hore-32
    
    5: for sys,sye between vert,verte:
            sys=vert+3
            sye=sys+3

Similar Threads

  1. How to change resolution on IBM T23 laptop
    By penguinhack62 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd September 2007, 05:35 AM
  2. No resolution change
    By Drawstop in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th January 2007, 06:38 PM
  3. Change resolution
    By kantor_98 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th January 2007, 09:44 AM
  4. Change vga resolution
    By NDCool in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd June 2005, 03:41 AM
  5. I can't change resolution on my laptop LCD.
    By KToriyama in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th June 2004, 02:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •