Lost Sound
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    jim's Avatar
    jim is offline Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Lost Sound

    Hi all
    I'm stumped!! I lost my sound either after installing Entrance or kernel .770 I have reverted back to BEFORE Entrance and still no sound. I switched back to kernel version .766 And still NO Sound. The only thing I can think of is that gdm needs to be running. If I do a sound card test, My sound card is detected, and plays the test sound. If I try to raise the volume slider, it just falls back to zero. If I try to open the volume control, it states that it doesn't exist. Go figure!!!! So Where do I go from here??

    System Specs:
    2.6.10-1.766_FC3
    I use gnome & E17

    See images below
    Registered Linux User: #376813
    Western NY
    My linux site
    Smolt Profile

    please remember to say if you problem was solved

    Did you get your id10t award today?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    715
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In XMMS, audio I/O plugins, have you tried selecting different output plugins, alsa, oss, etc? Do system sounds work?

  3. #3
    jim's Avatar
    jim is offline Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey thanks for the tip
    Seems that the esound output plugin 1.2.10 [libesdout.so] works but sounds ****ty
    i'll keep plugging away at it

    EDIT: Sound will not work with any plugin in Gnome

    the esound plugin worked in E17 (enlightenment)

    the sound control states " Sorry, No mixer elements and/or device found

    BUT the sound card test proves otherwise.

    Sound Events are enabled BUT the slider for volume control will not stay at the max volume
    Last edited by fedorajim; 7th March 2005 at 05:19 PM. Reason: add info
    Registered Linux User: #376813
    Western NY
    My linux site
    Smolt Profile

    please remember to say if you problem was solved

    Did you get your id10t award today?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    715
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good enough. See if you can isolate the problem to just one sound system, like alsa. Are you runing KDE and Gnome by any chance? I see E17, what is that?
    Last edited by Harryc; 7th March 2005 at 05:22 PM.

  5. #5
    jim's Avatar
    jim is offline Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right now, I'm in GNome

    E17 is a development widow environment

    See http://www.fedoraforum.org/gallery/f...pimg_thumb.png
    Registered Linux User: #376813
    Western NY
    My linux site
    Smolt Profile

    please remember to say if you problem was solved

    Did you get your id10t award today?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    715
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fedorajim
    Right now, I'm in GNome
    I see, but do you have KDE loaded? There is a known problem with the adjustment of sliders in KDE impacting Gnome sound.

  7. #7
    jim's Avatar
    jim is offline Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SOLVED !!!!!!!!

    And No I dont have KDE

    Here is the deal i was running Entrance as a log in manager. Doing so, i have to change a few files.
    E.G.
    /etc/inittab
    /etc/sysconfig/desktop
    /etc/X11/xdm
    /etc/X11/xdm/Xsession

    No the one that messed everything up was the etc/inittab file. instead of running /etc/X11/prefdm
    i was running Entrance. So in a nutshell, pefdm controls somethings in gnome like sound and other stuff.

    So off to the developers of Entrance I go to tell them of this nasty bug.
    Registered Linux User: #376813
    Western NY
    My linux site
    Smolt Profile

    please remember to say if you problem was solved

    Did you get your id10t award today?

Similar Threads

  1. f10 lost sound
    By umproko5 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd June 2009, 01:53 AM
  2. Lost Sound on F7
    By JonBL in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th October 2008, 08:05 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •