No Grub Menu - Page 3
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 33 of 33
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    On up the road a piece
    Posts
    818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: No Grub Menu

    I read on bugzilla RedHat that the grub problem with BLS was fixed, so today I upgraded my laptop from F29-F30. NOT fixed; it booted to a grub prompt. Well I knew how to fix it, but then it wouldn't take my password in GDM or LXDM. I could login from a terminal, or as root using GDM. But that's for another thread.
    I know things. It's what I do.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    531
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: No Grub Menu

    I had marked this thread solved, but after trying the switch to blscfg and ending up at a grub prompt again, I changed it back to unsolved. The action did change the line in /etc/default/grub from =false to =true, and generated a new grub.cfg and renamed my grub.cfg to grub.cfg.bak. And there are 4 entries in /boot/loader/entries for it to read, but still boots to grub>
    You normally get the grub> prompt when grub can find its modules directory but can't find the grub.cfg. There is a configfile command you can use in the grub shell where you specify the path to the grub.cfg and it loads the config.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    On up the road a piece
    Posts
    818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: No Grub Menu

    If grub can't find grub.cfg after switching to bls then there is something lacking in the switch to bls command. And why would grub not know where to find grub.cfg when it's in the same location it has always been? Where would it be expecting it to be?

    And after doing the configfile command would grub then remember the location, or would you have to use the configfile command every time you boot?
    I know things. It's what I do.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. F25 GRUB menu not showing; DNF kernel updates don't update grub
    By elisei in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd March 2017, 06:32 PM
  2. [SOLVED]
    GRUB :: menu.lst :: GRUB starts in command line
    By cinsevarg in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd December 2010, 08:21 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st August 2009, 06:37 PM
  4. Grub prompt instead of grub menu and splash screen
    By Alan in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th May 2006, 04:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •