Unable to connect in virtual boxes
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unable to connect in virtual boxes

    I'm trying to work in some of my virtual machines but ifconfig -a only shows the loopback and ethernet interfaces. The host machine is fine and I don't have any proxies set up. I've tried turning off my vpn as well but this doesn't seem to have affected anything either.

    Great big imaginary hug for anyone who can help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA (Oregon)
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Unable to connect in virtual boxes

    What other interfaces are you looking for? What other interfaces would you expect to see?

    What is your local IP address (on host server)
    What is your IP on the virtual machine? Are they on the same subnet?

    If you're using NAT (the default), you can come out of the VM, but not into it.
    If you use Bridging, then they should be on the same subnet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Unable to connect in virtual boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueHat37
    What other interfaces are you looking for? What other interfaces would you expect to see?

    What is your local IP address (on host server)
    What is your IP on the virtual machine? Are they on the same subnet?

    If you're using NAT (the default), you can come out of the VM, but not into it.
    If you use Bridging, then they should be on the same subnet.
    Normally there would be a separate wireless LAN connection as well as my printer and sometimes the post office for some reason.

    Do you know how to change to bridging with gnome boxes? It doesn't seem to offer the option. I haven't been able to change in virt manager because it won't work offline.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    USA (Oregon)
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Unable to connect in virtual boxes

    Normally there would be a separate wireless LAN connection as well as my printer and sometimes the post office for some reason.

    No version I have ever seen will show the Wifi. This is blocked by the kernel, if you are seeing it as a network option there is a bug in your VM software.
    You make it pretend that it is ethernet in the VM, but it won't show up as wifi.

    Your printer is not a network interface. However you might be connected to it over the network.
    Are using a GUI, or command line? What do you mean "it won't work offline"?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Unable to connect in virtual boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueHat37
    Normally there would be a separate wireless LAN connection as well as my printer and sometimes the post office for some reason.

    No version I have ever seen will show the Wifi. This is blocked by the kernel, if you are seeing it as a network option there is a bug in your VM software.
    You make it pretend that it is ethernet in the VM, but it won't show up as wifi.

    Your printer is not a network interface. However you might be connected to it over the network.
    Are using a GUI, or command line? What do you mean "it won't work offline"?
    Ah ok. When I tried connecting to the ethernet interface I would just get error messages saying that I wasn't connected. Whenever I tried to open a virtual machine with virt-manager, there was an error where the saved machines should be saying QEMU/KVM aren't connected.

    I switched users and started using a NAT rather than bridged network, which isn't ideal but at least it works.

    I was using the graphic interfaces for Virt-manager and gnome boxes but then used a CLI when I was inside the virtual machine.

Similar Threads

  1. Both Fedora Boxes Have Wifi - How to connect with crossover?
    By OzzYGuY in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd April 2016, 01:34 PM
  2. Gnome Boxes virtual environment, migration process
    By cyberdome in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th February 2016, 04:00 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th July 2010, 11:02 PM
  4. unable to connect to internet,able to connect through windows XP
    By Narasimha in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th October 2005, 12:16 AM
  5. unable to connect to internet,able to connect through windows XP
    By Narasimha in forum Servers & Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd October 2005, 06:35 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •