Firefox is causing new problem
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Firefox is causing new problem

    Since the last update, Firefox, when I start it is opening every bookmark in my collection. I reviewed my settings, and there is nothing there. I created a new installation and when I sign into firefox with the new logon, the problem returns.

    I have Tumbleweed and Centos installed along side Fedora, and the problem is only with Fedora.
    Fedora's Firefox is one release ahead of the pack.
    So for now, I am not using Firefox with Fedora's KDE or Gnome or Deepin
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    The newest Firefox versions are creating new profiles. They usually give you an option to use an old profile at your first startup, but maybe you missed it or it failed to warn you. Anyway, there should be utilities available to import your old installation's profile.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    The problem I am having is that, without exception, each bookmark I have is being opened. And each bookmark is another task as viewed by -ps -ef.
    If I exit Firefox after deleting every opened bookmark, and return, I get the full list once again.
    If I pull in a backup from last January, the problem appears on the second launch.
    So, I am using Chromium, which does not experience this problem.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,110
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    Does it do the same thing with bookmarks that you create with the new version ?

    If not then there is obviously some problem with conversion of the local data file where bookmarks etc are stored.

    User error. Please replace user and try again

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Age
    73
    Posts
    23,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    I'm sure you've checked this out, but: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...ores-user-data So, just something to remove, restore them from Chromium and MAYBE you'll get it fixed.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651


    Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,589
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    Firefox lacking a built in way to import old profiles is a huge lack in the browser. Usually you look around in google and find a page like telling you how to copy a half dozen files from the old profile to the new. Maybe I'll put in a feature request.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    Or you can just use the Chrome like the rest of the world...
    HP All-In-One PC | Intel Pentium Dual-Core CPU - 2.90 GHz | 4 GB DDR3L RAM | 256 GB SSD | Intel HD Graphics | Windows 7

    No fate but what we make...
    My Blog: kona0197.wordpress.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    Quote Originally Posted by bob
    I'm sure you've checked this out, but: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...ores-user-data So, just something to remove, restore them from Chromium and MAYBE you'll get it fixed.
    Hi Bob, I opened a but with FF, and we identified the problem as all the bookmarks being opened as tabs. After the 231 tabs open, I "right" click on the left most one, and choose the option to close all other tabs.
    They advised me to backup my bookmarks, and reinstall them after doing a " rm -rf dot mozilla ($HOME/.mozilla)". I am able to use firefox, but not their free sync service.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    Quote Originally Posted by kona0197
    Or you can just use the Chrome like the rest of the world...
    Actually, Firefox and yahoo together offer me some features that I like. I can view gmail and yahoo accounts and sort the listings in sender date, or subject order. I am able to move messages from one isp to the other quite easily. And FF is rich in functionality, and I don't have google tracking me and sending me adverts.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    If you use Google for anything they are tracking you. So is Mozilla and Yahoo. Chrome just works better and is far less bloated.
    HP All-In-One PC | Intel Pentium Dual-Core CPU - 2.90 GHz | 4 GB DDR3L RAM | 256 GB SSD | Intel HD Graphics | Windows 7

    No fate but what we make...
    My Blog: kona0197.wordpress.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    7,589
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    But chrome sucks more in its own way. The minor stuff that's bad in Firefox are pretty minor like the lack of profile importer. How often have I missed using an importer, maybe two or three times but chrome lacks a lot of development features I want and chrome has problems with adblocking and the general data/privacy issues.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    43
    Posts
    4,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    Well since Chrome syncs seamlessly over all my computers and phone, I'll keep it. And like I said, it's way less bloated and I've never had issues with adblocking or data/privacy.
    HP All-In-One PC | Intel Pentium Dual-Core CPU - 2.90 GHz | 4 GB DDR3L RAM | 256 GB SSD | Intel HD Graphics | Windows 7

    No fate but what we make...
    My Blog: kona0197.wordpress.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Firefox is causing new problem

    Quote Originally Posted by kona0197
    If you use Google for anything they are tracking you. So is Mozilla and Yahoo. Chrome just works better and is far less bloated.
    I trust Mozilla. They are tracking addresses, and not the contents at an address. Fedora with dnf does the same thing. Howelse are browser developers or Fedora or even Google going to know what part of the software needs performance enhancing.

    Google's interest is to sell advertising, so they scan the contents you are viewing and it is stored for vendors. Vendors then ask for users who viewed their products and the vendors pay google.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

Similar Threads

  1. Chrome and Firefox causing PC lock-up
    By fishface in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st April 2018, 02:44 PM
  2. Firefox causing freezing of computer
    By asif.saad19 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th December 2015, 05:09 PM
  3. Firefox-Flash Causing System to Crash
    By Hunkah in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th April 2010, 05:11 PM
  4. Flash 10 on 32Bit Firefox Causing Segmentation fault
    By iggywig in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th December 2009, 07:32 PM
  5. Firefox causing UI freezes
    By sekullbe in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st December 2008, 09:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •