Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    Apparently I tried something that Mate-Terminal did not like and now it only opens as superuser - using beesu to do that. I've tried resetting it and that doesn't help. I can do an "su - <username>" and that does get me out of root mode.

    If I open it without beesu it will open for only a moment and then shut down.

    I figure it's something simple, but not obvious

    Any suggestions appreciated. Thx in advance.....
    Last edited by stepher; 7th May 2019 at 12:03 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    Assume your logon in problem use user1.
    One simple way is use root to create user2. If that user2 works, then follow the following example


    ...
    login root
    create user2
    cd /home
    mv user1 user1.bak #backup your logon $HOME
    c p -ra user2 user1 #create a new $HOME
    chown -R user1:user1 user1 #correct ownership
    logout #from root
    and log into the system as you should.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    UPDATE 5/9/19:

    OK. I tried a couple of things, to no avail.

    First I logged into Gnome desktop and tried Mate-Terminal. Same issues. Tried Gnome terminal and it worked fine in unelevated (non-superuser) mode. While logged into Gnome desktop I uninstalled, then reinstalled, Mate desktop figuring to clear everything out and start all over. Didn't help either.

    So, I am open to any other suggestions.

    Thanks and cheers.....

    Hi Leslie in Montreal

    Thx much for the suggestion and appreciate the fast response.

    I tried your solution and didn't change a thing. In fact, with the new user all I had was an "unelevated" launcher version of Mate-Terminal and it was showing the same symptoms as before (I had created 3 different Mate-Terminal launchers for 3 different purposes: normal, superuser using beesu, and one with an ssh command to connect to a PVR on the subnet).

    Seems something I did somewhere along the way makes Mate-Terminal refuse to run unless in superuser mode. As a sidenote....I did reinstall Mate-Terminal just to make sure nothing happened at that level.

    I am open to other suggestions. Thx.


    Quote Originally Posted by lsatenstein
    Assume your logon in problem use user1.
    One simple way is use root to create user2. If that user2 works, then follow the following example


    ...
    login root
    create user2
    cd /home
    mv user1 user1.bak #backup your logon $HOME
    c p -ra user2 user1 #create a new $HOME
    chown -R user1:user1 user1 #correct ownership
    logout #from root
    and log into the system as you should.
    Last edited by stepher; 9th May 2019 at 10:59 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    BUMP!! Still looking for help if anyone has any ideas....Thx much in advance...

    Quote Originally Posted by stepher
    Apparently I tried something that Mate-Terminal did not like and now it only opens as superuser - using beesu to do that. I've tried resetting it and that doesn't help. I can do an "su - <username>" and that does get me out of root mode.

    If I open it without beesu it will open for only a moment and then shut down.

    I figure it's something simple, but not obvious

    Any suggestions appreciated. Thx in advance.....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    Have you tried running it from the command line? Hopefully you'll get an error message when it exits.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    This is why I truly appreciate these forums. They help me think outside my sometimes-limited box. Thx for offering up the suggestion (kind of a "D'oh" moment for me

    Just tried your suggestion. Opened mate terminal as superuser (the only way it starts). It started up another window of mate terminal as superuser. No surprise.

    Then I de-elevated to my "regular" user ("su - <username>") and attempted to start another mate terminal. This is the msg. I got back:

    "Failed to parse arguments: Cannot open display: "

    Tells me what's happening but doesn't really help. So, how do I figure out what/which arguments it "failed to parse"? I used "mate-terminal" to start the app without any arguments.

    Thx and cheers.....

    Quote Originally Posted by HaydnH
    Have you tried running it from the command line? Hopefully you'll get an error message when it exits.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    The DISPLAY variable doesn't get passed when you change from root to another user:

    Code:
    [haydn@darkstar ~]$ lxterminal # will work
    [haydn@darkstar ~]$ su -
    Password: 
    [root@darkstar ~]# lxterminal # will work
    [root@darkstar ~]# su - haydn
    [haydn@darkstar ~]$ lxterminal # won't work
    
    (lxterminal:1663): Gtk-WARNING **: 13:21:19.206: cannot open display:
    [haydn@darkstar ~]$ exit
    logout
    [root@darkstar ~]# echo $DISPLAY
    :0
    [root@darkstar ~]# su - haydn
    [haydn@darkstar ~]$ echo $DISPLAY
    
    [haydn@darkstar ~]$ export DISPLAY=":0"
    [haydn@darkstar ~]$ lxterminal # will now work

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    central NY, USA
    Posts
    1,234
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    are you running Mate as root?
    Change - the only constant.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    @lightman47 -

    Root is the only way it will run at the moment (Wasn't that way originally When I try to run it as me (regular user) that's when it crashes.

    @HaydnH

    Appreciate the continuing help and thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, it didn't work. I could not tell if that was a ":<zero>" or a ":<oh>", so I tried both. Using ":<oh>" I still get the same msg.: "Failed to parse arguments: ....", so that didn't work. Using ":<zero>", I get a new new error msg.:

    "(mate-terminal:4715): IBUS-WARNING **: 07:58:56.349: Unable to connect to ibus: Could not connect: Connection refused
    Segmentation fault (core dumped)"

    I would guess ":<oh>" is the correct variable value.

    I can still successfully open a new instance of mate-terminal as superuser.

    Maybe it's not something as obvious as I thought Still open to other suggestions.

    Thx and cheers.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    If you're logged in to mate as root then you will have issues! "xhost +" might help, but I doubt it will solve everything. I would suggest creating a new blank user and try logging in with that to see if its a profile issue.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    OK. It seems you're right on. The Mate-Terminal had no problems opening for the new user.

    Question now is, what can I do to fix the problem? Or is everything for the existing user screwed up beyond repair

    Thx and cheers....

    Quote Originally Posted by HaydnH
    If you're logged in to mate as root then you will have issues! "xhost +" might help, but I doubt it will solve everything. I would suggest creating a new blank user and try logging in with that to see if its a profile issue.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    The issue is probably to do with the dconf configuration database which isn't stored in /home, so you should be able to rename (or copy and delete later) /home/<oldUser> to /home/<newUser>, chown it to <newUser> and still have all your data available.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    Thx again for the help.

    I copied /home/<old user> to /home/<new user> and chown'ed to the new user. I then logged out of <old user> and attempted to log back in as <new user>. I got what looked like a very quick attempt at displaying a different screen and then back to the login screen. It wouldn't let me log in as a new user (tho, getting back in as the <old user> was no problem....which is why I copied instead of renaming).

    So, still have the problem and appreciate any new insights....thx and cheers....

    Quote Originally Posted by HaydnH
    The issue is probably to do with the dconf configuration database which isn't stored in /home, so you should be able to rename (or copy and delete later) /home/<oldUser> to /home/<newUser>, chown it to <newUser> and still have all your data available.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    central NY, USA
    Posts
    1,234
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    Well, for starters, I suspect all the directories & files of the new user have the ownership/group IDs of the old user. Therefore, new user has no authority to what are now "his own" folders - but were created by old user.
    Change - the only constant.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Mate-Terminal only starts in superuser (root) mode.....

    I appreciate the feedback.

    I did a chown -R <new user>:<new user> on the <new user> home directory which I thought would solve the ownership/group issue...maybe not. The group ID is another question. Can that be changed?

    So, knowing that, is there anything I can do? Do I need to flatten the "bad" user and essentially start over with a new user using the <old user> name? Or is it worse than that?

    Thx and cheers....

    Quote Originally Posted by lightman47
    Well, for starters, I suspect all the directories & files of the new user have the ownership/group IDs of the old user. Therefore, new user has no authority to what are now "his own" folders - but were created by old user.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. File Manager Superuser mode isn't
    By OralDeckard in forum Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th April 2008, 11:16 PM
  2. smart starts in read-only mode as root
    By CD-RW in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd April 2007, 04:06 PM
  3. core6 starts only in text mode
    By nablaquadro in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd November 2006, 01:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •