Repository system in Linux
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Repository system in Linux

I am new to linux and new to fedora as well. I am a windows users who is trying to migrate.

As you can understand I am comfortable against programs but not with repository systems. So, I am trying to understand it. How should I know which repository to install? If a program needs it. Should I type 'dnf search'? If anybody guide me to at tutorial or something then it will be really helpful. I am looking for something that will clear my confusion and queries regarding repositories.

Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Repository system in Linux

Fedora is "FOSS" (Free & Open Source Software) so all those are already included in the repositories that were part of your installation. However, there's some packages (programs) that you might want that are NOT "FOSS", so we also suggest you set up the RPMFusion repositories, both 'free' and 'non-free', to have access to just about all that's available for Fedora.

All these repositories have been proven time and time again to work well with each other and completely trustworthy. With the included repos and the RPMfusion repos, you should be fine for almost any situation.

Now then, if you poke around a bit in your installation, you might come across some included repos, such as 'updates-testing', which are disabled by design. These should not be enabled unless there's an unusual problem, and then check with us before playing. You can mess things up if you're not careful.
    Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
    Registered Linux User #362651

Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)