Getting aac files to play in Clementine
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    Hello - Still kind of a newbie in Fedora, and cannot get .aac audio files to play in Clementine. If I rename the audio file with the .mp4 extension, it will play in Clementine.

    The aac file will play natively in VLC and also Amarok.

    And, I have tried to associate the files with .aac extension to Clementine, but will not work.. so the files are fine, maybe just need a plugin for Clementine ?

    THX, as always
    ***********************
    * Bill Clark Windham, VT *
    ***********************

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    7,156
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    If you haven't already done so install and enable rpmfusion repositories and make sure the following packages are installed on your machine then try again:

    Code:
    sudo dnf install gstreamer-plugins-bad gstreamer-plugins-ugly gstreamer-ffmpeg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    520
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    I just checked Clementine myself with those three gstreamer plugins, which I had already installed. Anti's advice is good! .aac files can be played by Clementine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    I am running latest version of Clementine (1.3.1) - did the gstreamer additions as suggested. Shutdown box, restarted...

    Can play .aac files in VLC as before. When I try to open in Clementine, they do not play, or even appear in the playlist ... if I rename with different extension, then they play .. cannot locate any logs related to Clementine using 'locate Clementine' from command prompt....


    gstreamer-0.10.36-18.fc27.x86_64 is already installed (is this the latest version?)

    Maybe update gstreamer ? Remove gstreamer then re-install ?

    The truth is out there as jbuckley2004 testifies with his Clementine
    ***********************
    * Bill Clark Windham, VT *
    ***********************

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    *** Also - did I mention I am running KDE Plasma 5.14 with Kernel 4.2
    ***********************
    * Bill Clark Windham, VT *
    ***********************

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    7,156
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    Quote Originally Posted by kappclark
    *** Also - did I mention I am running KDE Plasma 5.14 with Kernel 4.2
    That shouldn't make any difference, check the file associations for aac in KDE settings though just in case they are messed up

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fileassoc-aac.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	134.6 KB 
ID:	30175

    Clementine is first app listed as associated with .aac

    Also FWIW- did a VM of Ubuntu 18.06 Gnome. Installed Clementine..went to open .aac file, and rec'd error -"Your GStreamer installation is missing a plug-in"
    ***********************
    * Bill Clark Windham, VT *
    ***********************

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Getting aac files to play in Clementine

    For kicks, installed rhythmbox, and the aac files load and play fine ... wierd...
    ***********************
    * Bill Clark Windham, VT *
    ***********************

Similar Threads

  1. Getting Clementine to play
    By vinoman in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 22nd February 2019, 10:00 PM
  2. .wma Files on Clementine
    By CuboneChan in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd March 2017, 07:38 PM
  3. I can not play MP3 files
    By johnnytda in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th September 2010, 11:20 PM
  4. I can't play mp3 files.
    By Flatron in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th April 2005, 08:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •