F29: Devuan, Debian, openSUSE missing in grub boot menu - Page 2
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 21 of 21
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Novi Sad, Serbia
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F29: Devuan, Debian, openSUSE missing in grub boot menu

    If it is os-prober fault, how come it works without errors on other distros? I thought os-prober is universal tool.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F29: Devuan, Debian, openSUSE missing in grub boot menu

    If it is os-prober fault, how come it works without errors on other distros? I thought os-prober is universal tool.
    This is something you could easily test. I have never used anything other than Fedora or CentOS so I wouldn't know that grub2-mkconfig works perfectly on other distros.

    You could run os-prober separately on Fedora and on one or more of these other distros where it works without errors. Please post the results for each OS. I would be interested in the results.
    Last edited by amiga; 30th March 2019 at 07:43 PM.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Novi Sad, Serbia
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F29: Devuan, Debian, openSUSE missing in grub boot menu

    This is os-prober output in Fedora

    Code:
    [root@localhost sloter]# os-prober
    /dev/sda1:Windows 10:Windows:chain
    /dev/sda2:Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa (19.1):LinuxMint:linux
    /dev/sda3:Serbian GNU/Linux (KDE):Serbian:linux
    /dev/sda5:elementary OS 5.0 Juno (5.0):elementary:linux
    /dev/sdb1:Windows 7:Windows1:chain
    /dev/sdb10:Calculate/Linux:Calculate:linux
    device-mapper: remove ioctl on osprober-linux-sdb10  failed: Device or resource busy
    Command failed.
    /dev/sdb3:Manjaro Linux (18.0.3):ManjaroLinux:linux
    /dev/sdb6:Solus (4.0):Solus:linux
    device-mapper: remove ioctl on osprober-linux-sdb6  failed: Device or resource busy
    Command failed.
    /dev/sdb7:Slackware 14.2:Slackware:linux
    device-mapper: remove ioctl on osprober-linux-sdb7  failed: Device or resource busy
    Command failed.
    /dev/sdb8:openSUSE Tumbleweed:openSUSE:linux
    device-mapper: remove ioctl on osprober-linux-sdb8  failed: Device or resource busy
    Command failed.
    /dev/sdb9:Mageia 6 (6):Mageia:linux
    /dev/sdc1:Windows XP Professional x64 Edition:Windows2:chain
    /dev/sdc2:Ubuntu 18.10 (18.10):Ubuntu:linux
    /dev/sdc3:Kali GNU/Linux Rolling (kali-rolling):Kali:linux
    /dev/sdc6:Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch):Debian:linux
    /dev/sdc7:MX 18.1 Continuum (18.1):MX:linux
    and this one is from Mint, but any other distro completes this without errors

    Code:
    root@t1500:/home/sloter# os-prober
    /dev/sda1:Windows 10:Windows:chain
    /dev/sda3:Serbian GNU/Linux (KDE):Serbian:linux
    /dev/sda5:elementary OS 5.0 Juno (5.0):elementary:linux
    /dev/sdb1:Windows 7:Windows1:chain
    /dev/sdb10:Calculate/Linux:Calculate:linux
    /dev/sdb2:Fedora 29 (Workstation Edition):Fedora:linux
    /dev/sdb3:Manjaro Linux (18.0.3):ManjaroLinux:linux
    /dev/sdb6:Solus (4.0):Solus:linux
    /dev/sdb7:Slackware 14.2:Slackware:linux
    /dev/sdb8:openSUSE Tumbleweed:openSUSE:linux
    /dev/sdb9:Mageia 6 (6):Mageia:linux
    /dev/sdc1:Windows XP Professional x64 Edition:Windows2:chain
    /dev/sdc2:Ubuntu 18.10 (18.10):Ubuntu:linux
    /dev/sdc3:Kali GNU/Linux Rolling (kali-rolling):Kali:linux
    /dev/sdc6:Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch):Debian:linux
    /dev/sdc7:MX 18.1 Continuum (18.1):MX:linux

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F29: Devuan, Debian, openSUSE missing in grub boot menu

    This explains the error to some extent.

    https://www.redips.net/linux/device-or-resource-busy/

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    East part of The Netherlands
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F29: Devuan, Debian, openSUSE missing in grub boot menu

    Manjaro only boots with its own grub. Others don't work.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F29: Devuan, Debian, openSUSE missing in grub boot menu

    I have run into this problem myself and have used the information in the link I gave to the OP to fix my own problem.

    Code:
    device-mapper: remove ioctl on osprober-linux-sdb2  failed: Device or resource busy
    Command failed
    device-mapper: remove ioctl on osprober-linux-sdb5  failed: Device or resource busy
    Command failed
    The two partitions were a Centos7 install and an old F24 install which were now missing from the grub.cfg.

    Code:
    [$ sudo dmsetup ls
    vg_raid1-lv_swap        (253:4)
    vg_raid1-lv_data        (253:2)
    vg_samsung-lv_Fedora28KDE       (253:0)
    osprober-linux-sdb5     (253:6)
    vg_server47-lv_root     (253:1)
    vg_raid1-lv_video       (253:3)
    osprober-linux-sdb2     (253:5)
    
    $ sudo dmsetup remove osprober-linux-sdb2
    $ sudo dmsetup remove osprober-linux-sdb5
    After re-running grub2-mkconfig the problem was solved and the menu entries for Centos7 and F24 re-appeared.

    I don't know why these dm-node errors occur on Fedora and not on other Linuxes but there is a simple solution. Simply delete old osprober-linux dm-nodes with sudo dmsetup remove and then re-run grub2-mkconfig.

    This can be done with:

    Code:
    sudo dmsetup remove $(sudo dmsetup ls | awk '/^osprober-linux/ {print $1;}')
    The inner command filters out all undeleted osprober dm-nodes from the previous osprober run and prints the first field.

    This command can be inserted into a grub2-mkconfig script such as follows:

    update_grub.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    CMD="sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg"
    
    echo "Removing undeleted osprober-linux dm-nodes"
    sudo dmsetup remove $(sudo dmsetup ls | awk '/^osprober-linux/ {print $1;}')
    
    echo $CMD
    eval $CMD
    Last edited by amiga; 14th April 2019 at 09:11 PM. Reason: added command and script

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED]
    Can't boot openSUSE 42.2 from boot menu created by Fedora 24
    By boycottsystemd in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th May 2017, 10:43 AM
  2. [SOLVED]
    Fedora 20 Missing From Grub Menu
    By NM5TF in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd October 2014, 05:31 PM
  3. Missing Windows 7 boot from grub menu
    By Shugs81 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th June 2014, 11:43 PM
  4. Missing fedora9 boot menu on WinXP dual boot
    By jimmy7 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th June 2008, 08:17 PM
  5. grub menu missing after FC5 installation with existing XP
    By Vadi in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th August 2006, 08:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •