rtl8821ce doesn't work on Fedora 29 - Page 3
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 34 of 34
  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: rtl8821ce doesn't work on Fedora 29

    So it compiled this time but you still get no wifi? It definitely is an RTL8821CE and not some other variant? Also did you remember to turn off secure boot in the BIOS to allow the newly compiled module to load?

    Could you post the output of the following commands.
    Code:
    lspci | grep RTL
    dkms status
    mokutil --sb-state
    modprobe 8821ce
    Last edited by hogweed; 15th March 2019 at 05:15 PM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: rtl8821ce doesn't work on Fedora 29

    It looks like it didn't get installed properly even though dkms thinks it is, so it may be worth deleting the dkms stuff ( sudo rm -rf /var/lib/dkms/rtl8821ce ) and trying again in case there was something left from previous attempts.

    You could also check to see if there is anything interesting in the logs
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b | grep 8821
    Last edited by hogweed; 15th March 2019 at 06:15 PM.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Pathum Thani, THAILAND
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: rtl8821ce doesn't work on Fedora 29

    This is the result.
    [fedora000@localhost ~]$ sudo journalctl -b | grep 8821
    [sudo] password for fedora000:
    Mar 16 22:53:15 localhost.localdomain kernel: Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: rtl: examining hci_ver=08 hci_rev=000c lmp_ver=08 lmp_subver=8821
    Mar 16 22:53:15 localhost.localdomain kernel: Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: rtl: loading rtl_bt/rtl8821c_fw.bin
    Mar 16 22:53:15 localhost.localdomain kernel: Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: rtl: loading rtl_bt/rtl8821c_config.bin
    Mar 16 22:53:34 localhost.localdomain sh[860]: { 'make' -j4 KVER=4.20.14-200.fc29.x86_64; } >> /var/lib/dkms/rtl8821ce/v5.2.5_1.26055.20180108.1/build/make.log 2>&1
    Mar 16 22:53:34 localhost.localdomain sh[860]: Consult /var/lib/dkms/rtl8821ce/v5.2.5_1.26055.20180108.1/build/make.log for more information.
    [fedora000@localhost ~]$

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: rtl8821ce doesn't work on Fedora 29

    And is there any obvious fatal error in /var/lib/dkms/rtl8821ce/v5.2.5_1.26055.20180108.1/build/make.log which it is telling you to consult?

    EDIT: Maybe it is something obvious like compiler not installed.

    Code:
    sudo dnf  install gcc glibc-devel glibc-headers cpp
    Then try again.
    Last edited by hogweed; 16th March 2019 at 07:13 PM.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED]
    Will rtl8821ce wireless driver be mainlined?
    By taztcs in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th November 2018, 06:10 PM
  2. wifi issue realtek rtl8821ce HP Pavilion
    By bobatlcpmbdx in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th September 2018, 10:32 PM
  3. Fedora 12 Kde doesn't work
    By decodedthought in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 15th June 2010, 09:21 AM
  4. Mic doesn't work in Fedora 10
    By Wrenthir in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd December 2008, 06:48 PM
  5. DVD rom doesn't work with fedora
    By solomon in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th December 2008, 02:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •