Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,069
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    OK guys, I just installed my new Ryzen 5 2600, the purpose of the purchase was to lower the idle Wattage so as to use say 30W less. Since my comp is always ON, that would be a cool thing to have.
    (Same motherboard, same OS, same cooler, same thermal paste.... only swapped the CPU.)

    HOWEVER, this is what I am seeing:

    1. In the BIOS, (Asus Prime B350M-A, latest BIOS):
    - 1600X: 3 Power Presets: Power Saving, Normal, Performance
    - 2600: 2 Power Presets: Normal, Performance

    2. 3x Monitors on, machine Playing HD youtube on one Monitor, the other 2 ON, + Hard Drive Docking station with one 3.5" Barracuda, + 4 Internal Drives (some 2.5")
    - 1600X: Idle (but playing video) 182W / + running ffmpeg at max threads: 260W
    - 2600: Idle (but playing video) 185W / + running ffmpeg at max threads: 240W EDIT: this one has an extra Internal 3.5 Barracuda, which may account for say 10-20W ?

    Most definitely not what I expected LOL, so the 2600 is consuming less when busy, but the same when idle.

    Also, as a side note, now there is no difference between Tctl and Tdie
    2600 (when running ffmpeg at max threads, max power):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_2019-02-12_19-32-27.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	3.3 KB 
ID:	30080
    (while : do,sensors, sleep 10, done)

    Another thing I noticed, is that even though the temperature of the CPU is very good and stable, the CPU itself is not perfectly straight. i.e. I put the old 1600X, and the new 2600 on a flat glass surface, and the new 2600 spins, the 1600X does not. I shall keep the temps under watch, maybe eventually I will have to lap it flat, but at the moment there is no indication of a problem.

    EDIT: maybe they took the power saving mode out of the BIOS when the 2600 (or 2700, or 1600) are plugged in, so as not to encounter the starvation problem.... will research.

    EDIT#2: inxis:
    - 1600X:
    Code:
    CPU:       6 core AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Six-Core (-MT-MCP-) arch: Zen rev.1 cache: 3072 KB
               flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 43120
               clock speeds: max: 3600 MHz 1: 1844 MHz 2: 1843 MHz 3: 2474 MHz 4: 2473 MHz 5: 2970 MHz 6: 2970 MHz
               7: 1825 MHz 8: 1856 MHz 9: 3570 MHz 10: 3403 MHz 11: 1842 MHz 12: 1819 MHz
    - 2600:
    Code:
    CPU:       Topology: 6-Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ rev: 2 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
               flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 81432 
               Speed: 1556 MHz min/max: 1550/3400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1536 2: 1540 3: 1375 4: 1375 5: 3103 6: 2833 7: 3083 
               8: 2676 9: 1375 10: 1375 11: 1375 12: 1375
    Last edited by bobx001; 12th February 2019 at 09:21 PM.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Windows 7 Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Thanks for the update.

    I just never cared much, other than it 'works' and the cpu fan rarely 'kicks' high enough to hear . How did you measure the temp? I thought there wasn't a tool yet available to properly monitor it in Linux.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,069
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Quote Originally Posted by rclark
    Thanks for the update.

    I just never cared much, other than it 'works' and the cpu fan rarely 'kicks' high enough to hear . How did you measure the temp? I thought there wasn't a tool yet available to properly monitor it in Linux.
    Code:
    dnf install lm_sensors
     while :; do sensors | grep "^T"; sleep 5 ; echo; done
    Also, I have to add this: if I don't have "nohpet" in my boot options, the system crashes after a couple of hours, regardless what I am doing.
    so, my /etc/default/grub looks like:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="rd.driver.blacklist=nouveau modprobe.blacklist=nouveau nvidia-drm.modeset=1 rhgb quiet selinux=0 nohpet nmi_watchdog=0 rcu_nocbs=0-11 amd_iommu=on"
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Linux (Ubuntu) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    I do have lm-sensors installed (Ubuntu 18.04) but doesn't detect cpu temp. Does detect the graphics card temp.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,069
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Quote Originally Posted by rclark
    I do have lm-sensors installed (Ubuntu 18.04) but doesn't detect cpu temp. Does detect the graphics card temp.
    How about fedora ?
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Windows 7 Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    I don't run Fedora as the base OS anymore. I run Fedora in VMs. Life cycle is way to short for general use. Never checked to see if sensors would work in a VM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,069
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Quote Originally Posted by rclark
    I don't run Fedora as the base OS anymore. I run Fedora in VMs. Life cycle is way to short for general use. Never checked to see if sensors would work in a VM.
    Did you try Manjaro ? I have it in a VM, looks good.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Windows 7 Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    I haven't checked Manjaro yet. I've kind'a got away from checking out a bunch of different Linux distros. I've realized after to 'long' a time that hey... drum roll please ... Linux is, well, Linux. Not into bling. command prompt window looks the same, gcc works the same, etc.
    Last edited by rclark; 14th February 2019 at 01:31 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,069
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Quote Originally Posted by rclark
    I haven't checked Manjaro yet. I've kind'a got away from checking out a bunch of different Linux distros. I've realized after to 'long' a time that hey... drum roll please ... Linux is, well, Linux. Not into bling. command prompt window looks the same, gcc works the same, etc.
    right, but dnf is dnf and not "apt-get", and rpm is nor deb hehehe. however, you must have double the ram in your brain to keep 2 different sets of commands for a lot of stuff lol.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Windows 7 Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Well, using Redhat, fedora Core, to Fedora and CentOS over the years has pretty much embedded rpm/yum/dnf on the brain. I got used to Debian with 'embedded' SBCs that we were developing for real-time systems as well back then. So wasn't a big jump. Of course all my little RPIs are all Debian. That said, the general command set (cd/rm/mv/cp/ls/df/free/etc.) is no different between any of them so learning a few new commands isn't that hard.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,812
    Linux Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    pacman isn't that difficult to use either and remembering commands for package managers which are used regularly is like knowing how to ride a bike, really not that taxing. for everything else, there's man pages

    I updated the firmware for my MSI B350 PC MATE today, there were some Memory compatibility improvements according to the release notes. I'd skipped the last couple of updates as they were specific to adding and improving on support of newer processor generations. The only gripe I have with MSI firmware is the need to re-instate all the firmware settings as they get wiped when you upgrade from USB stick via M-Flash. That is why I don't update each time they release new firmware. I have the settings written down so know what to put back where (also handy if the CMOS battery dies)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Windows 7 Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    I don't update firmware unless I absolutely have too. If the system isn't broke, no need to try to fix it . Been burned a few times, and that was a few times to many .

    Collecting pieces for my 'next' build. I have a I3 desktop system that I want to replace. Then I'll be back to all AMD machines with a performance boost to boot. new motherboard in hand is a Gigabyte B450 AORUS M. I have two processors on hand a 1600 and a R3 2200G.... Debating which to use... I have time to decide as memory and SSD will be here next week sometime.
    Last edited by rclark; 15th February 2019 at 03:42 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,701
    Linux (Android 9) Chrome 72.0.3626.105

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Hi 2600 owner.

    Did you resolve the wattage issue that you discovered after you moved to the 2600 CPU? I
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,069
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    Quote Originally Posted by lsatenstein
    Hi 2600 owner.

    Did you resolve the wattage issue that you discovered after you moved to the 2600 CPU? I
    Well, interestingly, the idle wattage on the 2600 is the same as the idle wattage on the 1600X , at least on my Mobo, where, when the 2600 is plugged in, it does not have any "Power Saving" mode available.
    The loaded wattage measured is 20W lower on the 2600.

    What I have "felt" when using the PC is that the 2600 is more "rubber-boundy", i.e. less "crisp".

    I will use the 2600 for a few months, then I will revert to the 1600X, and post my findings again on here.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Linux (Ubuntu) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Comparison Ryzen 5 1600X vs. 5 2600

    From the benchmarks I saw (just looked again) idle power consumption seems to be the same 1600 and 2600. But the base clock is 200 Mhz higher in the 2600. Sounds like a 'win' to me . The 1600x was 10w higher in the idle benchmark... But the 2600x was same at 2600. Under load, the 2600 was shown lower power consumption as you saw in your tests. Then there is the "Precision Boost 2" and "XFR2" technology that may enter the picture with the 2600 (although there is some debate on whether it really is available/used).

    forbes.com : Picture of stock power graph
    {edited}
    Last edited by rclark; 16th February 2019 at 08:39 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Fedora26] ATI HD 2600 XT > Any driver available?
    By UltimateByte in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th October 2017, 08:12 PM
  2. Ryzen first experiences SUSE user has Ryzen
    By lsatenstein in forum Linux Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd April 2017, 08:50 PM
  3. ATI Radeon HD 2600
    By waptismith in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th May 2008, 04:17 AM
  4. Apple IIc goes for $2600
    By Wayne in forum Wibble
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th February 2008, 02:20 AM
  5. FC2 and PowerEdge 2600
    By wiz561 in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th August 2004, 09:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •