Any plans to get working VNC solution out-of-the-box?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Windows NT 10.0 Chrome 71.0.3578.98

    Any plans to get working VNC solution out-of-the-box?

    Hi,

    Are there any plans to get VNC working out of the box on Fedora like it does with Raspian? It would be really handy.

    - Colin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7,376
    Linux Chrome 72.0.3626.81

    Re: Any plans to get working VNC solution out-of-the-box?

    Note that this forum is users helping other users. I'm not familiar with Fedora's implementation or non-implementation of VNC-- I don't know if you mean server or client. The best way to reach the developers is probably to file a bug or RFE (request for enhancement) at bugzilla.redhat.com

    The askfedora list https://ask.fedoraproject.org/ probably has more developer involvement than these forums,but I do think the best way to get the developers's attention is to file the bug report or RFE mentioned above.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Terra
    Posts
    19
    Linux (Fedora) Chrome 72.0.3626.81

    Re: Any plans to get working VNC solution out-of-the-box?

    Quote Originally Posted by chenry
    Hi,
    Are there any plans to get VNC working out of the box on Fedora like it does with Raspian? It would be really handy.
    - Colin
    Yes, thats easy. In Gnome (Standard Desktop Environment) go to "Settings" -> "Sharing" and turn on "Screen Sharing"
    Do not forget to change your firewall settings.

    Benjamin
    Last edited by bedawi; 8th February 2019 at 03:45 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Age
    53
    Posts
    64
    Windows NT 10.0 Chrome 72.0.3626.109

    Re: Any plans to get working VNC solution out-of-the-box?

    Quote Originally Posted by bedawi
    Yes, thats easy. In Gnome (Standard Desktop Environment) go to "Settings" -> "Sharing" and turn on "Screen Sharing"
    Do not forget to change your firewall settings.Benjamin
    Which results in black screen, if you manage to get past the no encryption warning initially by using dconf-editor. This is using Wayland. When I swapped to X I can get VNC remote desktop working but recently the desktop would not react to anything - applications worked fine and I could control those, but the gnome interface itself was not responding to clicks.

    So currently not working on Wayland.
    Sig: Hehe

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd October 2014, 05:52 PM
  2. [SOLUTION] BCM4311 not working with latest kernels (3.15.* & 3.16.*)
    By ircecho in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd October 2014, 05:52 PM
  3. Replies: 38
    Last Post: 8th November 2010, 01:10 AM
  4. Touch pad not working Mysterious solution
    By lkbrow1 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th October 2007, 02:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •