Memtest fails for the installed RAM
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,709
    Linux (Android 9) Chrome 71.0.3578.99

    Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    My new system is using an Asus x470-Prime motherboard. The ram is Gskill 3000 and is listed as compatible with the motherboard.

    I tried testing each dim stick individually and each test fails before the memory is fully scanned by memtest86

    Any suggestions about how I can complete the test?
    I tried doing the test at reduced speeds and different voltage settings.

    From the internet I found a reference to a program titled stress. There is also a second program stress-ng which serves to stress your hardware in the event you're looking for solutions to problems for performance concerns.

    The stress program has options to set the size of the ram to be tested. I tested my 16 gigs and the system did not complain.
    I wonder if that test is a good enough proof that my Ram is not problematic.
    What perplexus me is the ram is marked as jedeac 2350 but is listed as type 3000.
    Do I assume that all is good and move on?

    During the test my CPU temperature went to 70C before being capped. Regular CPU temp for my CPU is around 45C.
    For the two stress programs, Sudo dnf install stress*
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    always where I have to be
    Posts
    1,136
    Linux Firefox 64.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    Leslie, please post exact G.skill module type, otherwise it's not possible to say anything. Well, apart from the fact that Ryzen is not very forgiving in terms of modules used. This is known problem.

    Also, please don't advise people to install 'stress*' if they are to stress their hardware.. They shouldn't do it at all unless their hardware is prepared for it (airflow and coolers) and if they know what they are doing, they know what software to use anyway.
    Memtest86 is very reliable for what it does and if you want to kill your CPU boxed cooler (namely Intel ones though), then just use prime95 with its small fft test.
    Hitting 70c with some memory testing app is not normal either, I hit 70c with prime95 small ffts on my 4790 with Freezer 7 Pro, tops.
    So the app you use probably does more then just RAM testing. Perhaps mining in the background

    Anyway, exact module type please.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,709
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 64.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    Hi MaryYY
    RAM
    G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000 (PC4 24000) Memory Kit Model F4-3000C15D-16GVKB
    There are two programs that I discovered titled dnf install stress and dnf install stress-ng.
    These programs allow you to test memory as well as cpu prformance
    Example: stress --cpu 8 --io 4 --vm 2 --vm-bytes 15G --timeout 10s I set bytes to 16G, and timeout to 35secs, with no problems except perhaps speed being capped when the CPU temperature reached 70C. Second test was for 16Gs,

    I know the memory is good, I can't confirm that it is a motherboard setting. And by the way, a Gnome software (freon) can not see fan or cpu fan speeds. It sometimes is a pain to be on a pure Linux environment.
    Last edited by lsatenstein; 2nd February 2019 at 04:36 AM.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MT USA
    Posts
    987
    Linux (Ubuntu) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    Ran across this on the NewEgg site with your memory kit: Manufacturer stated: "Not all motherboards and CPUs are capable of this memory kit, so additional tweaking may be necessary to set up BIOS properly. For example, AMD CPUs do not have a perfect memory multiplier for DDR4-3000, so the nearest value is DDR4-2933 or 3066. Should you need further assistance or have any questions please feel free to contact us directly."

    I've never run memtest myself, so can't help you there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    always where I have to be
    Posts
    1,136
    Linux Firefox 65.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    I don't know what the exact x470 Asus board you have, but in the list of x470-plus gaming there is this G.skill: F4-3000C15D-32GVR. It's 2x16GB. There is also F4-3000C15S-16GVR, with same settings recommended (3000hz, 15-15-15-35, at 1,35v).
    Link: https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...Processors.pdf

    If you currently have XMP profile enabled, check it's settings. If it doesn't correspond to this, I would just go and disable the XMP profile and set it manually to see how it goes. I had to disable XMP before, it's nothing unusual to do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    655
    Linux Chrome 72.0.3626.81

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    It doesn't work on my rig either.
    The most current release notes have this:

    -= Change Log =-
    Here is all the latest change logs for memtest86+ :

    *** Enhancements in v5.01 : ***

    New Features
    Added support for up to 2 TB of RAM on X64 CPUs
    Added experimental SMT support up to 32 cores (Press F2 to enable at startup)
    Added complete detection for memory controllers
    Added Motherboard Manufacturer & Model reporting
    Added CPU temperature reporting
    Added enhanced Fail Safe Mode (Press F1 at startup)
    Added support for Intel "Sandy Bridge-E" CPUs
    Added support for Intel "Ivy Bridge" CPUs
    Added preliminary support for Intel "Haswell" CPUs (Core 4th Gen)
    Added preliminary support for Intel "Haswell-ULT" CPUs
    Added support for AMD "Kabini" (K16) CPUs
    Added support for AMD "Bulldozer" CPUs
    Added support for AMD "Trinity" CPUs
    Added support for AMD E-/C-/G-/Z- "Bobcat" CPUs
    Added support for Intel Atom "Pineview" CPUs
    Added support for Intel Atom "Cedar Trail" CPUs
    Added SPD detection on most AMD Chipsets
    Bug Fixes
    Enforced Coreboot support
    Optimized run time for faster memory error detection
    Rewriten lots of memory timings detection cod
    Corrected bugs, bugs and more bugs (some could remain)

    These cpus are a few years old.. Maybe they don't support the new stuff?
    Fedora 29 x86_64 on Vertex IV SSD / Inland SSD || Gigabyte B450 AORUS M || AMD Ryzen 2600 || AORUS Radeon™ RX570 4G || 16 GB DDR4-3200 || Emachines T5452 carcass
    Fedora 28 x84_64 on 500GB Seagate Barracuda

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,709
    Linux (Android 9) Chrome 71.0.3578.99

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    I did tests at those mentioned multipliers and other values. Do I have to play with the timings... Eg change 15,15,15,35 to other (up) values?
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    always where I have to be
    Posts
    1,136
    Linux Firefox 65.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    @mikee.
    What you refer to is most likely memtest86 when it boots in BIOS mode. Latest version is 8.1 and that is what you get when booting in UEFI mode.
    OF course, the old 5.x doesn't support Ryzen at all and may throw various errors.

    Which reminds me, Leslie, are you booting in UEFI for memtest? Just get the ISO from their site, 'dd' it to flash drive and boot. I'm not sure if the Fedora included memtest works for UEFI, I haven't tried.

    As for the timings, no, keep them as they should be and in case you were using the old memtest, try them with the latest one in UEFI.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    655
    Linux Chrome 72.0.3626.81

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    Far out..
    I am just using what can be installed from Fedora.
    I didn't realize there was something else..
    Fedora 29 x86_64 on Vertex IV SSD / Inland SSD || Gigabyte B450 AORUS M || AMD Ryzen 2600 || AORUS Radeon™ RX570 4G || 16 GB DDR4-3200 || Emachines T5452 carcass
    Fedora 28 x84_64 on 500GB Seagate Barracuda

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,709
    Linux (Android 9) Chrome 71.0.3578.99

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    I am out of town until Wednesday evening.
    Absolutely will try the UEFI memtest v8.x

    I will also change the settings from 15.15.... up by one. If that works, I will then back down, one by one, each timing, until I have a working ddr4 pair of dims at the fastest resolution has shortcomings.



    My view is that the problem is with ASUS's hardware timing resolution. Either that megatrends firmware or hardware timer resolution.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,087
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    Also Frankie, your mobo has 4 slots right ? and you have 2 sticks of 8gb each right ?

    make sure they are installed in the grey ports, i.e. A2 B2
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_2019-02-09_09-04-22.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	208.9 KB 
ID:	30064

    EDIT: also, reading the manual, I see the memory speed: 3000(O.C) (meaning 3000 will only work with overclocking settings turned on I guess).
    Last edited by bobx001; 9th February 2019 at 09:08 AM.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,709
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    I found the UEFI memtest on the web. created an ISO and booted. It has a graphical interface. That interface extends the tests beyond the memtest86 (32bit) version. I did not have to fiddle with memory timings or settings I am using the memory at 3066. I am quite happy with the performance,
    My cpu coasts at 35C. One case fan spins down to zero, If I run a stress test, I see it starting to spin.
    Happy/Delighted with the 2700x

    Only one bug I have gnome and freon is an extension to show cpu fan speed. It always shows zero.
    Udisk2 is the software that I need to look into.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    santa barbara, CA
    Posts
    1,087
    Linux (Fedora) Firefox 65.0

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by lsatenstein
    cpu fan speed. It always shows zero.
    Udisk2 ....
    My BIOS on the Asus Prime B350 shows the CPU fan speed, but my FC always reports zilch as well, since ever, usually on LXDM/XFCE (which has nothing to do with it I gather, info happens at a lower level).
    Ksensors also shows zilch.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_2019-02-12_14-32-48.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	3.8 KB 
ID:	30079

    will look into Udisk2 as well, but what I would not like to do is to recompile the kernel for this issue, we should not need to.
    "monsters John ... monsters from the ID..."
    "ma vule teva maar gul nol naya"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    5,709
    Linux (Android 9) Chrome 72.0.3626.105

    Re: Memtest fails for the installed RAM

    Hi Bob, My only outstanding issues with my system are two nuisances. 1) freon the gnome extension does not report fan speeds.
    2) the second case fan cycles on/off when I use Firefox. I have the fan's profile set to 'off' when the CPU temp is below 40c. Typically cpu when I am in terminal mode shows 35C.
    The on/off cycling is annoying when the system case is on the desktop just adjacent to the monitor. I should set this fan to some minimal (always spin) option.
    Leslie in Montreal

    Interesting web sites list
    http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...40#post1697840

Similar Threads

  1. Memtest results - do I truly have faulty memory?
    By duncang92 in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th June 2018, 12:33 PM
  2. Memtest's hammer test
    By Maryyy in forum Wibble
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 20th March 2016, 03:44 PM
  3. Fedora 20 x86_64 and reboot during memtest [8GB]
    By scottjg in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th January 2014, 01:23 PM
  4. What does memtest do? How trustworthy is it?
    By joe.pelayo in forum Hardware & Laptops
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12th August 2007, 12:40 AM
  5. memtest from hard drive?
    By ghell in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th January 2007, 09:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •